We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Come and escape to your own private island where the water is incredible and the service is just as fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fowl Cay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fowl Cay Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Come and escape to your own private island where the water is incredible and the service is just as fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

Too often we have time to stop and "smell the roses" and spend quality time with our loved ones. My family has done the theme park thing a dozen times, been to the Big Apple, San Fran, LAX, and skiing in Colorado. This time, we wanted to go away where we could spend time the way we would at home - relaxing and enjoying things at our own pace, yet with the luxuries and comforts of a private villa that's fully stocked and service that can't compare. At Fowl Cay, you have the most incredible adventures every day - snorkeling, swimming with pigs, taking your own private boat on journeys to secluded beaches for picnics with your family, feeding sharks.. it goes on and on. This private island is an incredible place for families with kids of all ages - you can do it all or nothing at all. Here, there are no stresses... just the most brilliant scenery like crystal clear blue water for miles around, colorful sunsets, beautiful tropical flowers and lush greenery. It is truly a tropical paradise like no other with staff that is simply wonderful.. even Ruby the mascot dog.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizard4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
35
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Outstanding service and simply breathtaking...that's the best way to describe our trip to Fowl Cay Resort. We found this hidden gem after months and months of Honeymoon destination searching. And thank God we did!!!!

Where do I begin? This trip was the most amazing thing we have ever did in our lifetime! Beginning with the 9 seater flight into Staniel Cay, we were practically co-pilots in the cockpit! The views of Exuma from above were simply amazing! Once we landed Yves (Fowl Cay's manager) was on the runway awaiting to greet us and take us to the resort.

We will never forget the boat ride coming up to our resort....we just looked at each other and smiled. We were greeted at the resort's dock with champagne and cool towels by Yves' wife Marta, our butler Lisa Ann, and assistant managers Grant and Nicole. All of whom were wonderful, caring and extremely nice. They all really get to know you and want your stay to be as amazing as possible.

One can be hesitant seeing the different photographs on their website and wondering if they are actually for real....THE PHOTOGRAPHS ARE EXACTLY HOW IT IS AT FOWL CAY AND IN EXUMA. The different shades of blues and greens in the water was remarkable.

We stayed at the Lindon House and it was simply incredible. Extremely clean and spacious for the two of us. Breathtaking views from our back patio and fully stocked with food and drink of our choosing.

The butler service provided by Lisa Ann was out of this world. She was incredible! She attended to us whenever we needed anything. Packed us picnic lunches most days and brought us fresh fruit and pastries in the morning. Her turndown service was very cute and creative too! She even washed our entire clothes as soon as we arrived because medicine we packed exploded all over them!

Lunches and dinners prepared by Chef George were amazing! We never ate such tremendous food in our lives! Very talented chef.

Our favorite part of our stay at Fowl Cay Resort, besides being treated like royalty by the staff, was being able to take our very own motorized boat out and exploring the hundreds of cays in Exuma. We have many memories of our time there that will never be forgotten.

We were so sad to leave Fowl Cay, it was a paradise that we were lucky to have honeymooned at and one that we will be sure to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heelz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

We just returned from our amazing honeymoon to Fowl Cay Resort...literally! Our stay was Jan 15-22 of 2011 and everything was perfect! From the moment the Grant met us at our plane, I knew this was going to be a great week. All of the staff was friendly, caring and genuinely kind hearted and amazing. Their recommendations for each days adventures in the boats were always spot-on and any need you may have was instantly met with a smile.

Chef George topped off each day with delicious local cuisine that brought an amazing finish to each day. Our house butler, Wayland was as professional as he was kind, his smile and laughter greeted us each morning and in the evenings we would see him again at cocktail hour, always smiling and with plenty of great local stories to tell.

I could go on and on about all the magical things about this resort...but you will have to experience it for yourself to believe it. My husband and I have travelled many places in the world, and this was the only place I teared up as we left.....we will absolutely be going back...soon!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rawiesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

The place is beautiful and it looks exactly like the pictures on the website. It is a very natural environment without all the fake waterfalls and swimming pools most resorts have. This resort has a natural swimming pool created by the ocean right at your footstep in every one of the villas. It is very quiet and the service is excellent. The employees live there and are genuinely very happy. It shows in the way they treat their guests. Lisa-Ann was very attentive to every need we had. We were a family of five and all of our needs were fulfilled from clean towels every time we needed them to food and drinks stocked constantly. The best part of the experience is that each villa has its own boat and you are free to go wherever you want in the calm, warm waters of this Atlantic paradise. My only advice would be to book at least five days to see everything there is. You will see giant starfish, gentle nurse sharks, colorful fish, corals, everything you can imagine is in those waters right outside of your villa. The resort staff know the area very well and will show you everything you need to know to fully enjoy this unique part of the world. Although the resort is seldom full you will feel welcomed and very comfortable, almost as if you lived there too. This place is good for families, kids, adults, friends, weddings, and just any person that appreciates nature yet wants to be comfortable in total luxury and good company.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IvanAlexander28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Royal Plantation at Fowl Cay is the ultimate relaxing vacation. The private beaches that we found each day where truly amazing. For the first four days of our stay there were no other guests on the Island. My wife and I traveled with another couple and stayed in the Birdcage Villa. The Staff at this resort goes above and beyond to make sure the stay is excellent. They will stay away and let you be if wanted, but if you ask for anything, they will get it for you. We took the boat out everyday, fished, found secluded beaches. Lisa Ann, Jim and Paula, Marta and Eve, and Papi and the chef were all wonderful. One night we wanted cigars and Papi (The bar tender) just took us over to Staniel Cay and got us what we wanted. The staff works very hard to make sure you can do what ever you want. Every day are baot was cleaned and stocked for our next adventure. The chef was great and we had some amazing meals on the Island. Fowl Cay is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. I have been to many Islands and Beaches and this place is number one by far. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank builder88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

My wife and I visited Fowl Cay on our Honeymoon in January 2010. After searching all over the Caribbean for a destination, I honestly cannot remember how we came across an article about Fowl Cay. We were so glad we did though, because it was the perfect way to spend a quiet week on a remote, beautiful, private island.

The island was truly like nothing I had ever been to. It is a 40 acre property with 6 guest villas ranging from 1-3 bedrooms. We stayed in the one bedroom Lindon House, which was on the north side of the island. It was a huge villa with a fantastic back porch and steps leading down to the ocean. The villas are completely stocked with food/drinks and are replensihed at your request.

The staff is really what makes this destination special. Starting with Lisa-Ann our butler, who was so great at helping us plan each day, making sure we had everything we wanted, and even leaving good night notes and animals made out of towels in our room at night. Philip & Collette who manage the island were gracious hosts. David, Papi, Giovanni, and of course our amazing Chef made sure all of our evenings were equally as special with cocktails, a five course meal, and pool and darts each evening. While we ate most meals in the Great House, we were treated to 2 evenings where they cooked and set up our meals right in our own villa. The food was some of the best we have had and each night we were treated to a great menu prepared just for us.

The thing that really made the trip special was that we were the only guests who happended to stay on the island this week. We had the beach to ourselves and could really enjoy everything the area had to offer. While we enjoyed the quiet it was great to be able to relax and enjoy spending time with all of the people who help keep the island as great as it is. Even with every villa occupied, you could definitely find your own quiet beach or area to relax on your own.

This is a special place and if you are looking for secluded luxury, while being close to some of the carribean's most beautiful water, this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rzimardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2009

We have just returned from the most amazing holiday! Royal Plantation at Fowl Cay is just the place to be! The island is idyllic, our villa The Birdcage was a joy to live in for 10 days, there were so many places to sit and read and relax. The Staff were amazing and really did make our holiday so special. Anthony our Chef was so accomodating and fantastic, Lisa-Ann our butler was charm personified seeing to every little detail so thoroughly! Papi was a great cocktail barman and got me a little merry most nights! David was a real good fun fishing friend and Collette and Phillip were great hosts. We enjoyed bonefishing with Bonefish Cliff, Kayaking and feeding the fish was my daily pleasure! We will definitely be going back, I wish I was there now! Thank you all so much for a lovely experience and we will be spreading the word to our friends!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TinpotSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
52.2 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
52.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
63.2 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
51.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
63.3 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 1 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
61.9 mi away
Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma
Hoopers Bay Villas Exuma
#10 of 15 in Great Exuma
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowl Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowl Cay Resort

Property: Fowl Cay Resort
Address: Fowl Cay, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Great Exuma
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fowl Cay Hotel Great Exuma
Fowl Cay Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing