We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Fowl Cay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Exuma
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fowl Cay Resort
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Royal Plantation at Fowl Cay is the ultimate relaxing vacation. The private beaches that we found each day where truly amazing. For the first four days of our stay there were no other guests on the Island. My wife and I traveled with another couple and stayed in the Birdcage Villa. The Staff at this resort goes above and beyond to make sure the stay is excellent. They will stay away and let you be if wanted, but if you ask for anything, they will get it for you. We took the boat out everyday, fished, found secluded beaches. Lisa Ann, Jim and Paula, Marta and Eve, and Papi and the chef were all wonderful. One night we wanted cigars and Papi (The bar tender) just took us over to Staniel Cay and got us what we wanted. The staff works very hard to make sure you can do what ever you want. Every day are baot was cleaned and stocked for our next adventure. The chef was great and we had some amazing meals on the Island. Fowl Cay is not cheap, but you get what you pay for. I have been to many Islands and Beaches and this place is number one by far. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank builder88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for Fowl Cay Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 100 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2010

My wife and I visited Fowl Cay on our Honeymoon in January 2010. After searching all over the Caribbean for a destination, I honestly cannot remember how we came across an article about Fowl Cay. We were so glad we did though, because it was the perfect way to spend a quiet week on a remote, beautiful, private island.

The island was truly like nothing I had ever been to. It is a 40 acre property with 6 guest villas ranging from 1-3 bedrooms. We stayed in the one bedroom Lindon House, which was on the north side of the island. It was a huge villa with a fantastic back porch and steps leading down to the ocean. The villas are completely stocked with food/drinks and are replensihed at your request.

The staff is really what makes this destination special. Starting with Lisa-Ann our butler, who was so great at helping us plan each day, making sure we had everything we wanted, and even leaving good night notes and animals made out of towels in our room at night. Philip & Collette who manage the island were gracious hosts. David, Papi, Giovanni, and of course our amazing Chef made sure all of our evenings were equally as special with cocktails, a five course meal, and pool and darts each evening. While we ate most meals in the Great House, we were treated to 2 evenings where they cooked and set up our meals right in our own villa. The food was some of the best we have had and each night we were treated to a great menu prepared just for us.

The thing that really made the trip special was that we were the only guests who happended to stay on the island this week. We had the beach to ourselves and could really enjoy everything the area had to offer. While we enjoyed the quiet it was great to be able to relax and enjoy spending time with all of the people who help keep the island as great as it is. Even with every villa occupied, you could definitely find your own quiet beach or area to relax on your own.

This is a special place and if you are looking for secluded luxury, while being close to some of the carribean's most beautiful water, this is the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rzimardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

We have just returned from the most amazing holiday! Royal Plantation at Fowl Cay is just the place to be! The island is idyllic, our villa The Birdcage was a joy to live in for 10 days, there were so many places to sit and read and relax. The Staff were amazing and really did make our holiday so special. Anthony our Chef was so accomodating and fantastic, Lisa-Ann our butler was charm personified seeing to every little detail so thoroughly! Papi was a great cocktail barman and got me a little merry most nights! David was a real good fun fishing friend and Collette and Phillip were great hosts. We enjoyed bonefishing with Bonefish Cliff, Kayaking and feeding the fish was my daily pleasure! We will definitely be going back, I wish I was there now! Thank you all so much for a lovely experience and we will be spreading the word to our friends!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinpotSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2009

My husband and I spent 7 nights at Fowl Cay for our honeymoon. The service was beyond exceptional! Lisa-ann was incredible. She was polite and met our every wish, anticipated our needs before we even realized we might need something, and she was incredibly informative. She decorated our bed each night in such a beautiful manner that we didn't want to mess it up! David was beyond hospitable. He really helped make Fowl Cay feel like our home for the week, as did the entire staff. We felt like royalty all week!
We rented one of the smallest homes on the island, and it was nicer than any hotel or resort we'd ever been to. The homes are all decorated in a classy yet comfortable design. The food was the BEST food we have ever eaten! Everyone should make sure they get a traditional Bahamian dinner at least one night of the visit!
We spent each day on our own boat we had access to. Lisa-ann and George (AMAZING chef) packed us picnic lunches each day we planned to be on the boat, so we were able to stop snorkeling and eat on any remote beach around! The snorkeling and beaches and ocean life are second to none.
We have read some negative reviews about the dogs on the island. Max and Ruby (two dogs) were very well behaved and actually made us feel more at home than anything else! All of the island staff asked us multiple times each day if the dogs were any bother to us, and continuously offered to put them in their air-conditioned kennels if they were an inconvenience. I would advise any vacationers who don't enjoy the dogs to kindly ask the staff if they could keep them in their kennels. We are pretty sure that anyone who meets Max and Ruby will fall in love with them just as we did :)
We really have nothing negative to report about our experience at Fowl Cay. We will save our money each year to be able to spend a week with the wonderful people who made our honeymoon better than a fairytale!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickandshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2009

My husband and I have just returned from 4 days at Royal Plantation Island, Fowl Cay, where we celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary. The website does it justice – it is as spectacular as the pictures!

We flew from Nassau to Staniel Cay via Flamingo Air. The Co-Manager Philip, and Engineer, David met us on the tarmac. We were whisked away by boat to Royal Plantation Island and met on their dock by Philip’s wife Colette and our Butler, Lisa-Ann, holding 2 glasses of Champagne. There is no check-in. We were expected, we arrived.

We hopped on our private golf cart and proceeded to our fully stocked villa: The Lindon House. Our villa was very roomy for the 2 of us. It overlooked the ocean, and a dozen steps down led us to a beach so soft, the sand felt like talcum powder.

Each morning our Butler arrived at our villa with warm, freshly baked muffins, and the newspaper. We went over our plans for the day, especially lunch: picnic or restaurant. Lisa-Ann was obviously professionally trained. She was punctual, discreet, always available, but not intrusive. She had an understated, gentle manner. She served us dinner each evening and turned down our bed at night with rose petals and homemade greeting cards. She pampered us and made us feel at home.

Chef Anthony prepared our lunches and scrumptious 5-course dinners. Besides the warm, freshly baked bread and from-scratch soups, he made us veal chop, blackened cod, chicken pasta, lobster tails with steak, rack of lamb, and tuna. At each dinner he would speak to us about our experience. Our favourite meal was when he came into our villa and prepared our dinner on-site. Lisa-Ann then served us at our candle-lit dining room table. It was incredibly intimate and romantic.

David is an affable, gregarious Jamaican. The friendliest guy you’ll ever meet. His knowledge of the islands and ocean is unparalleled. He took us snorkeling at Thunderball Grotto and a short tour of Staniel Cay. The grotto is teaming with numerous species of fish feeding on the coral; and Nurse sharks abound in the Staniel Cay marina. On our last day we kayaked over to a secluded beach, while David transported and laid out for us a picnic lunch, complete with chairs, blanket, towels, picnic basket, and cooler. At the end of the day he retrieved our gear. He was always keeping an eye out for our safety.

Philip and Colette are obviously doing everything right. They and their staff are a happy, cohesive team working together to please their guests with unparalleled service. Their management style allows each staff member to do his or her job, and do it well. It was a pleasure to get to know them.

I should mention the issue of the dogs. There is no longer an issue. Colette has tamed and trained the dogs. Although she walks them 3 hours a day, we never saw, nor heard them.

One thing I didn’t mention was the weather. We were caught by the outer reaches of Hurricane Ida. Despite (or because of) the wind and rolling dark clouds, we spent all our time together and relaxing, which was our purpose for going. On the day of our secluded beach picnic, the sun finally shone and we had a perfect day.

And finally, we were the only 2 guests at Royal Plantation Island – who could ask for more?

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuppyShwupy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2009

The Island was just like paradise itself. The staff were lovely and friendly and would get you anything you wanted.The villas are very well stocked and luxurious. The speedboat which you could have when ever you wanted was great,visiting all the other islands and remote beaches.Snorkelling was fantastic and the sea was as blue as blue could be and lovely and warm. There were swimming pigs on one of the Islands that came to the boat to be fed and nurse sharks you could swim with!Overall a fantastic experience and holiday!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2009

To our family, "resort" usually has the negative connotation of a built-up, commercial destination, however, the Royal Plantation resort on Fowl Cay is anything but! We typically seek out more remote, quiet locales where we can be self-sufficient and left alone. Fowl Cay is a wonderful blend of quiet, remoteness, beauty and low-key elegance coupled with a remarkable level of service, amenities and access. With only six "villas" on this 50 acre island, the experience was as close to having your own private island as possible.

Philip and Colette Pepperill, the new management of the island were absolutely wonderful and down-to-earth. The two have significant and lengthy experience managing properties such as this and it shows - however, all the staff on the Cay were incredibly friendly. The English-trained butler, Shinequa, who was assigned to our family for the trip was super - the idea of even having a butler took a little getting used to for us, but she was friendly, engaging, not overly "proper" and was simply there to make sure that we had what we needed at all times, whether it be provisions for the house, a picnic basket with a lunch/cooler full of beverage for excursions, dry towels, clean laundry, etc. Chef Anthony prepared some memorable dinners which we took up at the Hill House, a cozy dining room and bar perched on the highest point on the island. He was also very accommodating in preparing special meals for our youngest daughter who is a vegetarian. All the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.

We rented The Birdcage, a three bedroom, two-level home practically surrounded by water and with remarkable views all around. The decor was "understated elegance" and great furnishings, but not so "precious" that you were afraid to touch anything or really relax. A real home and very, very comfortable. The master bedroom was upstairs with the main living area, and the additional bedrooms were downstairs, which gave our two daughters, 12 and 15, a nice sense of privacy.

A big plus on this trip was having access to a 19-foot center console 115hp whaler (included) that allowed us to zip off to any of the 200 some-odd islands which make up the Exumas, including Compass Cay (swimming with and feeding the nurse sharks), Staniel Cay (a funky yacht/club restaurant and bar with an interesting history) as well as world class snorkeling destinations. Given that we don't go for the big hotel amenities like huge pools, water parks, casinos, etc., the clarity of the water and diversity of the sea life for snorkeling is very important to us. What we experienced exceeded our expectations. The Thunderball Grotto, a cave where the 1964 Bond movie was filmed was remarkable. The fish were so docile that they swarmed you when you offered food of any kind. And the variety of species in one spot was really quite surprising and part of the trip that we will always remember. We also visited Guana Cay - a small island inhabited only by 80 or so endangered species of iguana, who are nowhere to be seen when you first climb onto the beach from the boat, but quickly emerge from the scrub when they sense that a feeding is near. They are so tame that my wife panicked when these rather prehistoric looking creatures of up to 3/4 feet in length ran towards our kids with their mouths open eager for treats. In all, the access to the boat provided a sense of independence and flexibility that we have not previously enjoyed in this type of setting. However, if your are not comfortable piloting your own motorboat and reading charts, the staff will make arrangements for you to taken anywhere you'd like on their big Grady White.

The surroundings were beautiful and as interesting and picturesque as anything we've seen in the British or US Virgin Islands or Caymans. Plus, compared to traveling to Virgin Gorda for instance, Fowl Cay was fairly easy to get to: we left JFK on a 7:15am flight to Nassau, and after a quick charter flight and boat ride, we were diving into the turquoise waters by lunchtime.

Overall this was a memorable trip for us, and when you consider the cost of some of the upscale all-inclusive resorts, or the unbundled costs involved in renting and provisioning a house, renting a boat, buying liquor and meals out, a trip like this while extravagant by virtue of the level of service is actually a great value.

My girls and I had a ritual of walking out onto the dock behind the Birdcage to feed the nurse shark, stingrays and 4-foot grouper who showed up every morning between 7 and 8am waiting for scraps from the kitchen. Moments like these will not easily be forgotten. This is a trip we will be making again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank traintravel20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Exuma hotels
64.5 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
52.2 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
948 reviews
52.3 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.3 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
302 reviews
51.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
199 reviews
63.2 mi away
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Hideaways at Palm Bay
#1 of 2 in George Town
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fowl Cay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fowl Cay Resort

Address: Fowl Cay, Great Exuma
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Great Exuma
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Fowl Cay Hotel Great Exuma
Fowl Cay Resort Great Exuma, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing