We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$223
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Club Peace & Plenty(George Town)(Great Value!)
$184
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Augusta Bay Bahamas(George Town)(Great Value!)
$183
$150
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Bay Bahamas(Great Exuma)(Great Value!)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$326
$152
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Island Time Villas(George Town)(Great Value!)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Yacht Club(George Town)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Regatta Point(Great Exuma)(Great Value!)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Grand Isle Resort & Spa(Great Exuma)(Great Value!)
$409
$397
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveler rating
104
7
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
7
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshill housechef charlesbird cagenurse sharksprivate islandpicnic lunchvilla hosteach eveningthunderball grottobluetooth speakerstar lightisland dogdepth findergolf cartfishboat ridesurrounding islands
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 113 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile

My wife and had the pleasure of staying at Fowl Cay in 2015. We both commented that the kids would love this place. This time around included the whole crew. They range from twin 17 young men, a 10 year old daughter and a 7 year old spitfire son. They generally go with us on vacations and have been fortunate to go on some fabulous places. All 4 unanimously agreed that Fowl Cay is at the top of the list!!

We stayed at the bird cage. This is an absolute gem with the best views imaginable. Plenty of room for everyone. The kids enjoyed the well stocked refrigerator and pantry.

We were somewhat familiar with the area but we called on local guide Kieron for another tour. $250 is money well spent. He was raised in the area, knows everyone and is an encyclopedia of knowledge. On top of that he is an awesome human being with a great head on his shoulders. He mentored my older boys and gave them solid, wise advise. Thank you my friend!!!

Very thankful the staff remained intact for the most part. It was like a family reunion. Grant and Nicole are awesome people. They sincerely care about you. Wayland and his wife Melony are the best people you will ever hope to know. It was a pleasure to sit and catch up Wayland. Very bright future for you!!

The boats are in the process of having the motors upgraded. We had an 18 ft with a 115 horse outboard. The last time we had a 70 horse so we zipped around well even with 6 people on board. Bring a Bluetooth speaker for some toons on your private island hopping excursions. Another item to consider bringing is a yeti or similar mug to keep your drinks icy all day.

Chef Charles continues to make his mark. Food was fabulous. He went out of his way to prepare the little kids a variety of things they enjoyed. His shore lunches were a hit with everyone

We visited Compass Cay twice. Kids enjoyed swimming with the sharks and Crescent beach is absolutely stunning. A great addition this year was a drone my son brought. The footage he took and time spent editing with music, captured the unrivaled beauty and moments we will share for a lifetime.

Memories are what it's all about and many were had on this trip. The bar is set pretty high. I think this is the new favorite and request are pouring in to go back.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
7  Thank richandcammi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

We recently visited fowl key. What can I say ...it was terrible. We spent almost $20,000 for four of us to visit the island. Upon our arrival we checked in to our house called "The Birdcage" It's a beautiful house with lots of outdoor space and incredible views. However, our room in the house had a horrible mold smell. We told them about it and they said they are aware of the problem; but nothing was done..We found a dehumidifier in the back of the closet on the fourth night of our trip which we turned on, and it did nothing. They do have wifi, but the T.V.'s didn't work for most of the time we were there. The staff, Nicole, Sophie, Aaron, monique, and Melanie, provided excellent service but (Grant) the manager of the resort was extremely rude. We returned from a boating trip and he abruptly pulled my husband aside and ripped in to him because we brought our sister and her husband over to see the house. We didn't realize we couldn't have visitors. We follow rules and understand they have policies! However, the nasty way he spoke to my husband was unacceptable. He said he would do us a favor and only charge us $200 for their visit!! Ha!! It was his hostile rude attitude that ruined our trip in combination with the stench in our room. At this time I CANNOT recommend this place.

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
21  Thank CaliforniaBusykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasmine J, Online Review Coordinator at Fowl Cay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2017

Hello and thank you for your review of Fowl Cay. We deeply regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and if you left with a sense of dissatisfaction. Although we have many visitors that have boasted of our luxurious inclusions and excellent service, we are respectful of the opinions you have expressed and recognize that one person’s specific experience can only be judged by that individual. We note that our resort management team was made aware of your concerns as it relates to your room and quickly assessed the situation and took the necessary steps to ensure you were comfortable. Regarding your comments about your guests who were not registered to be on the resort, we sincerely apologize if you felt the handling of this matter by the General Manager was harsh as this certainly not his intent and we trust that you can appreciate the policies are in place as guest safety is our top priority. We value all of our guests and strive to provide each with an incredible vacation experience and I sincerely apologize if you felt that this was not more evident during your recent visit with us. Our executive management team has received your feedback and will evaluate all records and take action as necessary. We wholly intend to continue making any adjustments necessary to enhance our guests' experiences and we appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. We hope that your perception of our brand will change in the future and that we will be able to welcome you back so that we can properly showcase the true beauty and hospitality of our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

I was there the same week as fidelis55119 and everything he said is spot -on. It was the vacation of a lifetime. My only additions: bring binoculars and windbreakers. The boating can get chilly especially if you are wet. As far as clothing, it's very casual but you do need a light sweater or wrap in the evening (we went in March). You need very little while you are here so pack light. Also bring a waterproof case for whatever device you are going to use for navigation on the boat and a dashboard clip would be really helpful. Hard to drive a boat on the ocean and hold a phone at the same time.

Make sure you bring a lot of sunscreen and rash guards too.

Room Tip: Seabreeze and Starlight would not be good for small children
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank TNLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2017

I must echo that Fowl Cay, water color, the surrounding islands/beaches, wildlife and the people are a dream. Rather then repeat the highlights, here is some info I thought would be helpful for you:

Scheduling line: Fowl Cay is owned by Sandals but run separately as a luxury resort. Unfortunately, they currently use Sandals scheduling service. It's not up to par, the agents have little information and there is a disconnect between the schedulers in Jamaica and the staff in Fowl Cay. All in all, it's just a nuisance you have to get thru but it won't affect your stay.

Pickup: There are docks right by Staniel Cay airstrip. Fowl Cay will have someone there to greet you and bring you back by boat. It is very convenient. The boat ride is just over a mile, 10-15 minutes.

Boating: You are able to use your boat from 9am to 4:30pm. Being that Day 1 check-in is 3pm and after, there is no boating the evening of your arrival. (use that time to learn the island) You will go thru boat orientation the next morning. The boats aren't brand new as mentioned in some advertising but they wash them down every day and make any necessary repairs. Anglers are solid boats and common in the area. The one down side is they aren't as passenger friendly (they lack seating) as freshwater boats you may be used too. There are a limited number of flotation cushions. Get them to use for a seat cushion!

Guides: If your not comfortable boating in the beginning you can hire a guide at $250 per day. Three families hired and all of them had glowing reviews!

Island activities: Bocce ball and tennis are available but the courts are very worn out and in need of repair. My kids didn't mind and played both every day after returning from boating at 4:30pm. The racquets are adequate but you have to hunt for old tennis balls lying around the bushes (bring tennis balls!). My kids found four but were never furnished new tennis balls. Paddle boards, kayaks, Hobie sailboats are all available on the beach to use at your leisure and cruise the local bay.

Bugs and spiders: Simply put, there aren't any. Not on the island, not in our villas, none! I've read reviews stating one of the villas people were getting bites. We became close to all the families and there were no reports of bites during our stay.

Navigation: There are no GPS or depth finders on the boats. :( Fowl Cay should seriously consider installing them. (they aren't that expensive). All the way points for the attractions could be pre-installed for the guests. Also, with a depth finder they would probably save time and $$$ spent on repairing props. Each day before you go out they will walk you thru a map and help explain navigation to your daily destinations. *** Although the system works, all of the families during our stay downloaded the Navionics App onto our Iphones and used that. It's a must!!! Seriously, don't boat without it! Iphones have a GPS chip in them so you don't need a cell signal or wifi to operate. Navionix costs $10. The app will allow you to set coordinates and create custom trails Navionix will create a useable route but not always the most direct and wind conditions can affect the path you want to take. Tweaking and customizing the paths on your own is the way to go.

Villas: The villas are sufficiently spaced apart and very private. We stayed in Sweetwater. Loved it! What? Loved it! The view is ama-za-zing and we would stay there again next time. We became close knit with the families in Bluemoon, Starlight, Seabreeze and Birdcage. Everyone loved their accommodations. Bluemoon and Linden have some beach but only at low tide. It's like moon sand! Given how much you are on the water and beaches you really don't need a beach in front of your villa. Starlight and Seabreeze are a bungalow(pod) style you may or may not like and higher elevated then other villas. Those families loved the 360 degree view. All the Fowl Cay villas are very nice but if you want to be critical, they could use a little updating here and there.

Housekeeping: The staff keep everything wicked clean! The only caveat, the tile floors in Sweetwater and Bluemoon always felt slippery. We figure it was just the humidity on the tile and not a cleanliness thing. Also, some of the furniture covers are worn (Sweetwater) which can give a dirty appearance but truly everything is kept very clean. They did all our dishes each day and never did I pull out a glass, bowl or silverware that wasn't perfectly clean.

Food: Happy hour is at 6:30pm and dinner is at 7:30pm. I'm sure everyone can relate, even when you travel and stay in luxury accommodations the food rarely ever holds true. Not so here! Chef Charles (aka "Cookie") is the man! No matter what the menu may say, if you need special accommodations made to your meal --- Done! We donated the 5 mahi mahi we caught to Fowl Cay. On our final night, Cookie made four appetizers with some of the fish, including sushi, it was ama-za-zing!

Happy Hour: Make sure you are at happy hour and start meeting the other families!!! It's the people that make the difference! After two nights during our stay we pushed tables together and all the parents ate together with the kids all together at another table. On the final day we all decided to boat together. If you want privacy and mingling isn't your thing, that's definitely abundant as well.

Fishing: If your interested in fishing it's not necessary to prearrange. Talk to your villa concierge on day one and she will set it up. Bonefish Cliff can take you bottom fishing, bone fishing, or deep sea. Three families used his service and everyone had a wonderful time. Our family went deep sea fishing and boated 5 mahi mahi and 1 barracuda. If you catch a barracuda, give it to the Fowl Cay staff. They will love you for it! Cliff has an interesting personality, you may or may not like it. Nice guy but he isn't going to introduce himself and ask for your names, give advice, or say "Nice Catch". He just does his thing - finds fish. For our deep sea fishing it was wavy so I think he needed to concentrate and he never spoke no matter how many times I tried to start converstation. Another family went bonefishing and said he was chatty. As long as you catch fish, which everyone did, I think all is well! Make sure he understands you want all your fish fillets. It's my understanding if you don't mention it you may not always get them back. You can pay Cliff cash or bill your credit card thru Fowl Cay (5% charge).

Golf Carts and bikes: You need to be 18 to drive the golf carts. Unless you have a medical issue, you really don't need them. We used the bikes all the time. The kids loved cruising the island on them.

Puddle jumper flights: We opted to fly out of Fort Lauderdale and avoid Nassau customs. While it's a longer flight, we are really glad we did. It's a 10 minute customs stop in Andros! Those who flew Flamingo out of Nassau weren't overly happy with the delays and quality of the planes. The planes from Watermakers out of Fort Lauderdale were very nice and very clean. The Watermakers service is adequate but nothing special. Watermakers recommends using Richie for your transportation between the two airports. We would never use him again. Even though I booked with him and gave him our flight information he won't schedule a dedicated time for you or track your flights. Richie tells you to call him when you land. We waited 30 minutes for his driver on our return. If you don't want to schedule a dedicated driver I would use Uber before Richie. Next time we would book a driver service that is dedicated to being there for us. It's more expensive but feel it's worth the money. Richie is NOT a dedicated driving service, he is a less responsive Uber in my opinion.

Attractions: All the attractions you have read about are wonderful. One worry I had going in was the crowds. It was spring break and there was going to be tons of people at each hot spot, right? Not so! Pigs - one other boat. Iguanas - no boats. Sharks - no boats (bring cash here, $10 per person, $10 for shark food). Thunderball grotto was the only place we went and six tour boats showed up to ruin the experience. Other Fowl Cay families were there the day before and said there were no crowds. Just depends on the day I guess. Finally, there was one attraction we hadn't previously head about: Feeding sea turtles at Little Farmers Cay. It's an 18 mile boat ride but it was worth it. Great time! Also, use Navionics and find the "Random Coral Reef" which is about two miles closer to home. You will be the only one there and lots of fish - including a lion fish on the coral closest to shore. I recommend you leave by 9:30am and you should have it to yourself. The tour boats begin arriving between 10:30am and 11am.

Beaches: More deserted beached then you can shake a stick at. Boat around, find your beach and it's yours, all yours! The number one beach: Osprey Island about 10 miles north. At low tide there is a sand bar that extends out for hundreds of yards. Absolutely ama-za-zing!!! There is a table and some chairs there. See my photos! Also, try the Blue Hole. Staff will show you where it is. There is a single rock which holds a lion fish and an eel.

Laundry service: We didn't use it, but there is a laundry service if needed: $25 per load.

Tips: Tipping is included in your original bill. We felt it was necessary to give something extra and included it when returning the survey on the final day. You can't tip individual people, the tips are divided among the staff.

So much more I could say, but hope that helps. Fowl Cay is everything people are saying and more. It must be on your bucket list!

A big shout out to: Monique, Lamont, Chef Charles, Anthony, Sophie, Aaron and Wayland!

Thank you Fowl Cay!!!

Room Tip: Sweetwater/BlueMoon/Linden overlook beautiful private bay. Starlight/Seabreeze elevated and overlook yachts in pig bay. Birdcage - both.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
33  Thank StFidelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

This place is just out-dang-standing. Everyone that works there becomes your friend. So friendly, so beautiful, and the water is the most amazing colors. If you don't like this place, something must be wrong. We were there for 8 nights early March. The weather was horrible ( but hey, they can't do anything about that). We stayed in the 2 bedroom Star Light with another couple. What a great layout. 3 pods, the middle one is the living/kitchen area (fully stocked) and on each side the middle pod is a bedroom and bathroom. Nice split when you are traveling with others. The Chef is the BEST. If you don't like what is on the menu, let him come up with something else. There is never....I can't do that....it is always...what can I do for you. Also nice, is it is very laid back. No dressing up for dinner, unless you just want to. The only thing that was bad was the No-see-ums....HORRIBLE. Our friends got hundreds of bites, We only got about 50-60. I think their pod was infested. So be prepared with bug spray. If you can get by the no-see-ums, don't miss this beautiful Island. A big THANK YOU to all made our vacation the best possible with the bad weather.

Room Tip: Starlight if you are traveling with another couple. Gives you some good privacy
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews