We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to spend an hour”

Leon Levy Native Plant Preserve
Ranked #1 of 44 things to do in Eleuthera
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Designed as a showcase for native plants and their importance to the people of The Bahamas, the Preserve features gardens and wetlands designed by world-renowned landscape architect, Raymond Jungles, as well as trails through over 20 acres of natural areas. Walk with nature in this sanctuary for over 300 species of native plants, 65 species of birds, and 100 species of medicinal plants. The Preserve is operated by the Bahamas National Trust and funded by the Leon Levy Foundation. It was developed by Shelby White, trustee of the Foundation, in honour of her late husband, Leon Levy. The Preserve is the first national park on the island of Eleuthera.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend an hour”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I happened to pop into the preserve while our kids were horseback riding at OceanView farms. The preserve is very thought out and very interesting. The facility is beautiful. It provides information and examples of indigenous plants and the history of the origin of those in Eleuthera. Great for those interested in learning something about the island and its environment. Might be a little dry for kids unless they get in as part of a tour. On the day we visited they had a school group of 9 YO's and were hosting an activity which I am sure was fun. But on your own I think kids would be board. Fee was $5.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    49
    3
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Expected more information”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I quickly learned that matching the number of the plant we were looking at to the name of the plant on the sheet they gave us was a waste of time as I would never remember them. I also expected to know the specific type of ailment that was to be treated by each plant rather than the broad category such as "infant care". It was hot, it was buggy, and we raced along the poorly marked trails to get to the tower to feel the breeze. I expected more information about each type of plant and their use or the animals they house or what part of them makes them poisonous but really all they gave us was the names.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falon C, Manager at Leon Levy Native Plant Preserve, responded to this review, October 30, 2014
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the interpretation at The Preserve. The numbering system was chosen to avoid excessive signage and allow guests to consume as much or as little information as they like while on the trails. For those that want more in depth information, we offer guided tours that provide the more detailed content related to specific plants and features. That said, it is helpful to know how different people experience The Preserve and so we appreciate your honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This is a beautiful and educational place to enjoy and find out more about the native plants of the Bahamas. Even if plants aren't really your thing, you will enjoy the beautiful hiking trails, water features, and the view from "Ethan's Tower' where you can get up above the trees and see 360 degrees around the island. You can just roam around and enjoy the scenery, take a self-guided tour, or get a tour from one of the friendly and knowledgeable staff members. One word of advice... bring your bug spray!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tobinlf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must see on Eleuthera”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

As a nice diversion from the beach, Leon Levy Nature Preserve is a must. The work and care that has been put into the design is obvious and it is enjoyable and educational for all ages. Staff is super friendly and will provide guided tours at no extra cost. Make sure to make it to Ethan's Tower.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott1134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

It's an interesting look at the plants you see all over the tropics, what they are and what people have used them for. The staff here is very friendly and proud of this place rightfully so. They have put a lot of work into it. Go in the morning though, take insect repellent and water!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KT1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon Levy Native Plant Preserve also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
 
Eleuthera, Out Islands
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Leon Levy Native Plant Preserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing