We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational dishes!!”
Review of Front Porch

Front Porch
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Eleuthera
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sensational dishes!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stopped in for a late lunch based on a friends' recommendation on great food and good vibe. Well we were not disappointed - it is a quaint little restaurant ideally located in Hatchet Bay. We had drinks then got down to some great cuisine - I had the crab claws which were just divine with a side of salad and fries that are unsurpassed. My fiancée had the catch of the day - BLACKENED MUTTON SNAPPER - I had a piece and almost stole all!! The presentation on pineapple was original and really nice! Even my hard to please son said the fish fingers were the best he had ever eaten. Definitely a place to include in your plans when you're next in Eleuthera. France's and Gina were the ideal hosts.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    30
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The best Shrimps we ever had!”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had dinner at the Front Porch on our last day on Eleuthera. The owner was more than friendly and although we had only limited cash with us he created a seafood plate that was awesome. Especially the Shrimps were the best we ever had! Everything is fresh and cooked with love. Thank you Frances for the best dinner we had on Eleuthera!
Lisa & Jens

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Front P, Manager at Front Porch, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you all for your kind words and support. It is our pleasure to serve you here at the front porch and would like to express our appreciation to all of you that have made the front porch a unique experience. Peace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia Ontario Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Sensational Sunset Drinks”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We tried to go here for supper, but each time we discovered it closed. We did have drinks one evening after eating at Twin Brothers in Hatchett Bay, which I would NOT recommend by the way, and we vowed to come to eat at the Front Porch. It just didn't work out for us so we will another time on another trip. We had drinks overlooking Hatchet Bay. The decor and the drinks were stunning! The owner gave my husband some home made hot sauce and this alone made my family sad that we never had the opportunity to eat here.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MmeMinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
353 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Passion for Food”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We enjoyed chatting with the owner and chef, Frances who was clearly passionate about food adding his own twist to the menu offered hoping to please and satisfy his customers. We enjoyed our food very much in a very relaxed atmosphere overlooking the Hatchet bay.
We called a couple of times when the restaurant was closed so may be worth booking ahead to avoid disappointment or to mention any specific food requests.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Allgoodthyngs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great family owned restaurant”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

What a find when we pulled off the road for lunch to try this little restaurant run by a husband & wife team. He explains that they cook what he catches and she and her mother grow much of the vegetables. Excellently prepared, beautifully present in a relaxed setting by the bay.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Porch also viewed

 
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Front Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing