We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outshines the competition, and the competition is good, too!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Front Porch

Front Porch
Ranked #4 of 75 Restaurants in Eleuthera
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Kansas City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outshines the competition, and the competition is good, too!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Honestly, all the restaurants we tried in Eleuthera were good. We went to Tippy's, the Beach House, Rainbow, cocodimama, and twin brothers. All were fantastic, particularly Rainbow. But the front porch was so good we are returning tonight for another round! We went a few nights ago and simply asked for a seafood platter. OMG was it fantastic, with lobster tails, shirmp, grouper blackened, crab claws, the absolute best from the sea and cooked to perfection. The ambiance is private and intimate without attempting to be romantic :-) Loved it, thank you Francis and Gina

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaeDae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    27
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Finest food & finest people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

My friend and I had dinner at The Front Porch two of the four nights. Absolutely unbelievable! Storybook location and view. Very laid back and relaxing. Francis & Gina are first class chefs and hosts. We arrived early for dinner the first time but they made us feel right at home and opened the kitchen. Best Conch I have ever had….the most tender preparation and phenomenal taste. Do not miss this Island Gem!

Hatchet Bay Limited Settlement, Governor'S Harbour, Bahamas.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gastonia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Grouper Fingers I've Ever Had!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

All I can say is wow and my mouth is watering just typing this. We stopped by the Front Porch in Hatchet Bay for lunch on our way to Ben Bay. We didn't get a menu, the chef (Naomi I think) just ran through what she had. I ordered with grouper fingers with side salad and hubby got the cracked crawfish. I tell you, the grouper was as fresh as it gets and the breading was gourmet. It's different from the normal Bahamian breading, it was lighter and had some spice. They were thick peices of fish too. Hubby said his crawfish was the best he'd ever had. We actually sat on the BACK porch and had an amazing view of the harbor. The oweners are super cool. Don't miss it. Be prepared, it was the most expensive lunch we've ever had but worth every penny.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jungledriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing! We ate there two nights in a row!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

We stumbled upon this amazing restaurant and it was the highlight of our trip. It is a true dining experience. Francis and Gina make everything to order, just the way you want it. No preset menu. Just fresh fish, caught that day and prepared the way you want it. They will prepare chicken or steak for non fish eaters. We took their recommendations and had the lobster, fried conch and stone crab claws. Each dish was better than the next. Francis cooked up amazing french fries that the kids loved. We enjoyed ourselves so much when leaving we told them we would come the next night. Their response was, "what would you like to eat". They then proceeded to catch the fish we asked for the next morning and prepared us a second amazing meal of spider crab, grilled shrimp and yellow tail red fish along with plantains and beans and rice. Again everything was amazing and incredibly well priced. This was truly a memorable experience and will be our first stop this spring. Best to call ahead and give them a heads up that you are coming. You won't be disappointed!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lunchbox22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't ignore this delightful surprise - The NEW restaurant on Eleuthera!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

It can be easy to miss this place, since it can come upon you quickly as it did me and my family as we were driving from Governors Harbour north. Mostly I noticed the cheap beer prices (always a great enticement) after being out in the hot sun and wanting to tastes something cold and crisp. They have a sandwich board near the road - handwritten with the beer prices - and at first I didn't think anything about it. Finally stopped and SO GLAD WE DID! This clean, attractive gift shop/restaurant is the perfect antidote to plain jane ho hum food, yet has a simple creative vibe to it to help you relax and enjoy the view - the outside covered porch in back overlooks the bay - and the menu is inventive, local, and competitively priced. They have music too some evenings, but we never made it there. Do check them out early on your trip - cuz you'll be coming back again - Front Porch = "your own private hideaway." near Hatchet Bay - on the bay side!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank theraiderchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Front Porch also viewed

 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Front Porch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing