We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing snorkeling experience!”

Ocean Fox Cotton Bay
Ranked #5 of 19 Tours in Eleuthera
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean Fox Cotton Bay is a small, professional scuba diving, snorkeling, and deep sea fishing centre based at Davis Harbour Marina at the south end of beautiful Eleuthera, in the Bahamas. Our small size allows us to offer our clients a highly personalized level of service, so you can expect us to adapt to your needs as best we can, ensuring that our divers, snorkelers, fishermen or beach combers receive unhurried attention from our staff.
DeSoto, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing snorkeling experience!”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Al and Janice Curry were so nice! They took us out on the "Rum Boat" to a beautiful diving spot, perfect for snorkeling, 3' - 10' depth teeming with brilliantly colored fish and coral. They made sure that we knew how to use the snorkel gear and I was glad to see their emphasis on safety. I look forward to my next trip to Eleuthera and another snorkeling expedition with Ocean Fox Cotton Bay!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Wade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    4
    0
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Great Experience for a Novice Diver”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Yesterday we had booked Daryl for a 2-bottle dive. Since neither my boys (18 y + 21 y) or I have diving experience (Open Water Certficate), it was important to feel that safety was taken well care of. Daryl chose two nice reef-spots between 20 and 45 ft for our dives. Before entering the water he explained the procedures carefully. His experence and trained eyes made the dive extremely exciting since he found and pointed out a hugh variety of fish and bottom creatures. We had our ABC's but rented the rest. The equipment we got were new and of very good quality. My wife came along for snorkelling and she enjoyed the trip almost just as much.
Highly recommended!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank JensTheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“These Guys Know Their Stuff”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Ocean Fox is a very professional organization. They are friendly people and will do what it takes to make your trip a great experience. Daryl knows his boats and his reefs. The boats are well maintained. This is the go-to operator on Eleuthera. I think the reefs are nicer than on the north side out of Harbor Island. They also will not overload the boat with too many people like other operators. Highly recommend.

Visited February 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Grandpapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great diving experience”
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We booked some last minute dives with Ocean Fox and I'm so glad we did. Jeff, the owner, was very helpful and accommodating when we spoke with him on the phone.
Daryl, the Divemaster for Ocean Fox and his boat crew are friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and professional. They provided us with two days of great diving. Daryl runs the dives in a very relaxed manner. We stayed down as long as we could and had plenty of time to relax and unwind on our surface intervals. We loved all the dive sites, but were most pleased and thrilled with the wall dive at the Christmas Tree dive site. There were plenty of reef sharks to keep us entertained and the rest of the fish were all big and healthy as well... the groupers were huge!
We dove with an outfit on Harbor Island the first two days of our trip and I regret it; I wish we'd been with Ocean Fox the whole time. Not only do they run a better outfit, but we all preferred the sites on the south end of the island to those on the north end.
You'll pay a little more with Ocean Fox, but it is well worth it!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank skhsk6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly and Personalized Service!”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We enjoyed a day of diving with Al and Daryl during our four-day stay on Eleuthera. Al was very prompt answering any and all questions I had via email leading up to the trip and offered some great options for dive sites before we arrived. He was very laid back and accommodating. After arriving in Eleuthera, he and his lovely wife Janice met us at our hotel the day before the dive, and we enjoyed a beer together as we discussed the next's day's trip.

We met him at Cotton Bay, and he took us out on his gorgeous boat. Daryl got us set up with tanks and instructions/dive plans, and the four of us took the plunge. The dives were stunning - we saw some incredible marine life, and Al was kind enough to take photos of it and us, and later emailed the pictures to us. When the two dives were done, we made a brief stopover on a gorgeous beach and just enjoyed the scenery and chatting.

We stayed at Sky Beach Club, and the drive to the marina was around an hour or so. Al offered to carpool, but since we rented our own car and weren't sure what our plans were before and after the dive, we just met him there.

Overall, the service was incredibly personalized, and the whole experience was a total treat. We typically dive once a year in Cozumel, and this trip far surpassed it in terms of service, the laid-back vibe, and the great marine life! Thanks for all of your hospitality!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank RockyMtnGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Fox Cotton Bay also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Ocean Fox Cotton Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing