We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the fresh baked bread!”

Eleuthera Island Farm
Ranked #14 of 44 things to do in Eleuthera
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“go for the fresh baked bread!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our new fave place on Eleuthera, they bake fresh bread on Tuesday and Friday, but you have to get there early as it sells out quick. Probably the best loaf of sourdough we've ever had. They also have great veggies and big baskets of salad greens. You can pick and mix your own wonderful salad and then buy some home made dressing to top it with. She also has fresh herbs and a great assortment of local made sauces, marinades, dressings etc.
This is also a plant nursery, it's a nice setting to just walk around, looking at all the local plants and learning a bit about what grows on the island.
The lady who works there is so lovely, it's been great visiting with her. Right now she has some young kittens running around that she is trying to find homes for. We are big pet lovers, so this just adds to the charm of the place for us.
It's a short drive from Governor's Harbor and we've been dropping in regularly to fill our fridge with fresh essentials. Can't recommend it enough.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelergirl7249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best place for veggies and baked goods”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We plan our meals around going to Island Farm, it is such a great place. Arugula to die for. Fresh bread and cinnamon rolls are fabulous. Pesto and hummus were also good, as are dressing, marinades and sauces. Friendly people and convenient location. Highly recommend! Make sure to show up a few minutes before 9am if you want some of the baked goods, they can go quickly!

For those loking for baked goods on days Island Farm does not sell them (e.g., non Tues/Fri) hit the Governor's Harbor bakery in town. Its tucked between Burrow's grocery and the water in the small residential area. Fresh donuts daily. We hapened upon this place and returned literally every day for the remainder of our trip.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome fresh from the oven bread.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

This was a 'must' while on Eleuthera. Need to be in line when it opens to make sure of being able to buy the warm bread, the cinnamon rolls are the best ever! Anne, who is the baker is fabulous, charming, helpful and nothing is too much trouble for her. This is also a place where you'll bump into people you know from the island, one of the delightful things to do while spending I e on Eleuthera.BTW, the veggies are great too!

Helpful?
Thank Gerihattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Locally grown vegi's”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This little gem is a must visit while on Eleuthera.
They have the most wonderful breads and cinnamon rolls on Tues. and Thurs. We arrived at 8:30 to beat the crowd. We were first in a long line to get the rolls.
They grown their own vegi's. Make their own sauces and jellies that are wonderful.
This month they had sweet watermelon, tomatoes, greens, gr. beans, etc...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamS123PamS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“December update”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Tuesday and Fridays, Island Farms also sells a wonderful array of baked goods in addition to their produce. Be sure to check the board as well when you're there, as often there are more things for sale than what you see on display.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank laxmigoddess12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eleuthera Island Farm also viewed

 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Eleuthera Island Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing