We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect trip”

Bahamas Ocean Safaris
Ranked #15 of 44 things to do in Eleuthera
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Known for its crawfish, this small, picturesque island is a popular day trip destination. Let Bahamas Ocean Safaris be the first to welcome you to Spanish Wells, Eleuthera, Bahamas and introduce itself. James Dunnam, owner and Safari guide, was born in and spent his entire life in Spanish Wells, The Bahamas. He is a Licensed Captain with 30 years experience in Lobster diving and 20 years in deep sea fishing. His life experiences, knowledge of the sea, and unique perspectives are now applied to help others have the vacation of a lifetime.
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect trip”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful day trip with James and his family. We wanted to snorkel and fish for a day (note: beaches in Spanish Wells are for relaxing and wading, not for snorkeling) and was seeking a knowledgeable guide. Upon our first interaction with James, we knew right away that he would be the perfect guide. He knew the ocean and its creatures really well, and we were particularly touched by his passion for the ocean. I am a tourist so it's expected that I am amazed by even the tiniest encounters, but James is a local that has grown up with the waters yet he expressed genuine excitement along with us throughout the day.

He took us on his lovely boat to snorkel a bit far off the island where we saw a wide array of fish and corals. We encountered a stingray within minutes of getting into the water. James also caught a fish with a spear! So very impressive. We then started fishing for yellowtails. James knew exactly how to catch them and where to find them. Within seconds of casting the bait into the water, we would catch fish. We even witnessed a handful of barracudas going after our caught prize! He helpfully gutted out the fish we caught so that we could take it home to eat. We had a wonderful picnic by the beach with his family and went on a final trip to the kelp forest where we went on a hut to find flamingo shells.

James is a kind, fun, and knowledgeable guide who will surely help make your trip to Spanish Wells memorable. You won't be disappointed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizAnge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Family Ocean Safari”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

While vacationing in Eleuthera we hired James as our ocean safari captain for a day of fishing and snorkeling. He was an excellent guide. He offered many different options for how to spend the day (scuba diving, snorkeling, fishing, and sight-seeing). James was exceptionally patient with our three boys (11, 5, 5) and never tired of re-baiting their lines as they tried out the fishing. He took us to an uninhabited island where we had a great time snorkeling. He was very personable and we enjoyed hearing about the history of Spanish Wells and the main island.

At the end of the day, James brought us to a beautiful cove where he cleaned all of the fish we caught (this was an education for the kids!). It was our best day of vacation and we would definitely connect with James again when we return to Eleuthera.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An Amazing with Bahamas Ocean Safaris”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had the most amazing time on our family ocean safari, with Bahamas Ocean Safaries. We had 11 family members in our party. James is an outstanding boat captain and guide! He is extremely knowledgeable about the ocean and took us on an experience we will never forget. We had an amazing day of fishing, snorkeling, shell finding, and just spending time together. The waters are crystal clear and the sea life abundant. We loved everything about Spanish Wells and can't wait to go back!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rambofamily67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible boat and and the best captain so far”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had a great experience with James, very patient and considerate, extremely knowledgeable and passionate about the sea, the boat and Spanish Wells, the best experience one can wish for, we fished and swam and really had the best time ever, thank you , James

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank taisha1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Interesting place (for the social antropoligist in you)!!!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spanish Wells is a very quite and peaceful place far away from the madding crowd. Both my partner and I both have very pressurized jobs in London - so SW place was the perfect away from it all vacation. On the way to SW from Nassau some locals warned us that the folks who live on the island are racist (both my partner and I are black and are obviously very sensitive to such matters). We did not experience any racism on SW, however, we did observe that the folks that live there are very insular and they may perceive that they are not living in a predominately black country. I was shown much kindness by the locals and was made to feel very comfortable. The folks that live in SW are not racist (this far to strong a term). They are just protective and perhaps a tad insecure about their place in the world. Would recommend SW as must visit place in the Bahamas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahamas Ocean Safaris also viewed

 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Bahamas Ocean Safaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing