We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eh” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Beach House Restaurant and Tapas Bar - CLOSED

More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Eh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

No one came to our table for a while. We had to flag down a waitress who was very apologetic!

The food was ok at best. Red snapper was over cooked. It was $28. The coconut shrimp salad was just coconut shrimp (which were tasty) on top of romaine--nothing else.

Eh.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sound_and_visionary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    76
    30
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, stuck up owner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went three times for lunch while staying nearby. The regular staff, Ali, in particular, are very friendly, the burgers are fabulous and it's such a lovely place to sit on the edge of one of the best beaches in the world! Only opens a couple of nights a week, usually packed with expat locals who crowd the bar listening to the live music. Difficult to get a table at night. The vibe is definitely more relaxed and pleasant when the owner is not present. It's a pity, as the place is lovely, very beachy and island rustic, food is simple but good, the owner just needs to crack a smile and be a gracious hostess, it would make a huge difference!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerihattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - pathetic service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Recently we were looking forward to enjoying an evening at The Beach House due to the hype it's received. Unfortunately, the staff and ownership have let it get to their heads, probably because on the one evening of the week that every table was spoken for, we were treated like we didn't belong there.

There isn't a restaurant or bar on the island that doesn't let you eat at the bar, except for this one. Unbelievable that they would turn away business like that, even though there were plenty of seats at the bar. The word "stuffy" doesn't begin to describe the place.

Other restaurants in the area go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable, encouraging you to enjoy yourself. Not this one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PartagasSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach side restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Visited beach house yesterday with my family. Had a wonderful lunch. Service was very friendly and prompt.
If you are looking for a laid back beach side restaurant, would definitely recommend the beach house.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank JJG37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT food and music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went twice during our week on the island. The burgers are amazing. Seriously tasty. The live band on Thursdays was outstanding. They played a good mix of music and was a lot of fun to dance to. The drinks are pricy but the entertainment makes it worth it!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pcbbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House Restaurant and Tapas Bar also viewed

 
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing