We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best place on Eleuthera”
Review of Rainbow Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Eleuthera B&B and Inns
Bahamas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best place on Eleuthera”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Rainbow Inn has become my second home. We love to spend a weekend there, or even stop in for lunch & drinks on a Saturday excursion.We have stayed there for Ride for Hope, birthday weekends, or just a weekend getaway from the small rock to the bigger rock.Starting in 2008 i decided to celebrate my birthday at a different location each year. In 2010 we had the birthday at Rainbow Inn for the first time, & every year since then it has been at Rainbow Inn. I have already booked it for this year again. The owners & staff are like extended family. The food is delicious, the entertainment is great . All i have to do is mention a weekend trip, & my friends are ready to go. We will be there for the Reggae festival next weekend. Keep up the good work Zev ,Mish & staff.
David. R.Pinder- Spanish Wells

Room Tip: Cottage 7 is my room, but they rent it out when i am not there .Smile
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda W, Owner at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
David, you are such a treasure, we are ever grateful for your support of our family run business, we love having the Spanish Wells crew stay with us and enjoy our parties, we are so happy to be hosting your birthday again this year and have come up with a some great plans for you. Looking forward to celebrating with you next weeks Reggae Fest. With all our love Mish, Zev and the rest of the Rainbow Gang xox
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    29
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
33
79
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at the Rainbow Inn for 4 nights with a friend this past week and it was a great place. It was perfect for the island experience I was looking for. It had all the modern amenities I needed to feel comfortable but still felt like a hidden gem. The bungalow was very cute with plenty of space, a great shower, comfortable bed, mini kitchen with an endless supply of coffee (perfect for me) and outdoor patio. Ronda, Mish and Zev were really great. They were very helpful with all tips for the islands best spots and hung out as if we were old friends. Ronda especially went out of her way to really make us feel at home and provide everything we needed. The grounds that the Inn sits on are beautiful and right on the water for the most spectacular sunsets. To top it off they also have for complimentary use, a salt water pool, kayaks, tennis court and snorkeling equipment. Their restaurant and bar are also a great place to eat and drink overlooking the water with bands playing a few nights a week. Overall, I LOVED this place and the people I met there. Not only will I stay there again when I come back (hopefully soon) but will recommend it to all my friends and family. Thanks for a great stay Ronda, Mish and Zev!! xTatyana

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tatyanachip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda W, Owner at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
It was such a pleasure meeting you girls, we enjoyed having you stay with us and the time we spent with you in the restaurant. Looking forward to your next visit to our sunny island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed on Eleuthera Christmas week 2012 in a house very close to the Rainbow Inn. As we had been told that Zev would help us arrange a bone fishing trip, we went to the Rainbow Inn to ask his advice. Not only did he set us up with a great guide, he also let our family use their snorkel gear and went out of his way to be helpful. We booked Christmas Eve dinner and found the food to be excellent. They had live music, carols and were giving tons of presents to the local children. Zev and Mish are a lovely, young, low key couple who obviously love what they do and are eager to share their love for the island with their guests and visitors. My son (19) is planning on going with friends and staying at the Rainbow Inn as he was so impressed with Zev's knowledge and helpfulness as well as the island itself.
If you enjoy exploring, you'll love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berei710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda W, Owner at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us, you are correct we do love our island and love to help everyone get the most out of their Eleuthera Experience as possible. Zev is such an avid eco tourism advocate and its so nice that your son would like to follow in those footsteps, we would love to have them stay with us this season. Thanks again for taking the time to review your time with us and we look forward to your next visit to Eleuthera. Mish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My fiancé and I stopped here for dinner during our brief visit to Eleuthera. The restaurant came highly recommended to us through friends and we decided it was definitely worth a visit.
And we weren't disappointed. We order the surf and turf which consisted of a lobster tail, jumbo shrimp, a grouper fillet and a filet steak....oh and a lovely bold bottle of red.
The steak was as tender as anything I've tasted in the UK, USA or Europe. Tender as hell with a lovely flavour. The surf side was just as nice with a few nice accompaniments to go with them. The bottle of red set everything off just right.
Just to highlight that the service was good. A special thank you Chris who looked after us on the evening.
The bill came to roughly $120. But I guess that is what you would pay for a steak dinner in a London too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda W, Owner at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We are so grateful that you spent an evening with us at The Rainbow Inn Seafood & Steakhouse. We love our place and are so thankful for our wonderful customers, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next Eleuthera vacation or to perhaps host your stay in one of our delightful bungalows by the sea. Thank you again for taking the time to write this review. Love Rainbow
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for one week in Rainbow Inn and had a great stay. Eleuthera is just a beautiful island with breath-taking beaches. It is a very calm island-perfect to relax. Ronda and her family are very kind hosts. They help us to organise our daily trips and stayed over the whole week in conact with us. Breakfast and dinner - very tasty!! As well as the drinks from the bar - delicious!! The have a well-tended garden and a pleasant pool area. I would recommend this little beautiful hotel to everybody.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackySwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped here for lunch after spending a few glorious hours swimming and suntanning at Rainbow beach. The food was delicious! I would suggest the homemade pasta, calamari and salad. It was he best meal we had on the island. It was so good that we got 10 mins down the road and realized that we forgot our leftovers and turned around to go back and get them! The hostess was lovely and if we are lucky enough to go back to Eleuthera, we will definitely go to the Rainbow Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmacken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda W, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our place, it means a lot to us to hear your experiences with us. I remember your lovely family well and was pleased you came right back for your forgotten meal. We look forward to spending time with you again on your next visit to Eleuthera and perhaps next time we will be lucky to host you on property in our accommodations. Mish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This review is for the smart economic traveler, who will spend a buck for a good quality food but will feel indignant over overpaying for less than average tasting food.
So this was our first time in Eleuthera over Christmas break. We stayed in the Rainbow Bay area vicinity and went to the Rainbow Inn for dinner on our first night. To charge $28 for a less than average grilled grouper and mixed veggies (one piece of Zucchini and some mushrooms) and a packaged mashed potato (which we could have made better with a Betty Crocker pack at home) was so not worth it!! Pasta dishes are $30 and up --- if you go to a local grocery store and pick up a pack of pasta and pasta sauce for under $10 you can feed a family of four with it -- it was simply a ridiculously priced menu,almost criminal...given that local food stores had the same exact ingredients which you can make at your own home for a quarter of the price! I can't believe people think its worth going to this place. Sure, people go there for entertainment and some form of nightlife on the island -- which is very minimal -- but honestly...you can spend that money on a nice excursion and just by staying home and cooking while buying local ingredients from the food stores. I was very disappointed in this restaurant and feel indignant about the prices they charge for food. The waiters are very nice though......

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJ7387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhonda W, Manager at Rainbow Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are so sorry you were so dissatisfied with your experience with us, we take pride in our service and food quality and would have gladly made things right for you if you had of expressed your dissatisfaction the night you dined with us. I assure you that our kitchen does not produce any packaged food as we are extremely eco friendly having our own organic farm on property that provides our restaurant with all our fresh vegetables and our fresh pasta that we handcut daily cannot be purchased at any of the local grocery stores, We do hope we have the possibility to serve you again so that we can perhaps change your mind about us, our product and all the fun we offer locals and tourists alike here on the sunny island of Eleuthera.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eleuthera
14.8 mi away
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
#2 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
102 reviews
13.6 mi away
Sky Beach Club
Sky Beach Club
#4 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
321 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hut Pointe Inn
Hut Pointe Inn
#5 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Rock House
Rock House
#1 of 9 in Harbour Island
290 reviews
16.0 mi away
Coral Sands Hotel
Coral Sands Hotel
#3 of 9 in Harbour Island
413 reviews
18.3 mi away
Pineapple Fields Resort
Pineapple Fields Resort
#1 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Property: Rainbow Inn
Address: Governor's Harbour, EL25053, Eleuthera
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Eleuthera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal INN by the sea and specialize in personal service. The INN's location on the island makes it an ideal base from which to explore the rest of Eleuthera. Within minutes of the INN are some of the island's top tourist attractions: Surfer's Beach, the Famous Caves of Hatchet Bay, Glass Window Bridge, the Pineapple Fields of Gregory Town, plus our own Secret Beach. We even have Bonefish Graham's "Rainbow Guide" to bonefishing on Eleuthera. Our waterfront area with its seaside tennis court and some of the best snorkeling on the island (one of the sites on the Jean-Michel Cousteau Bahama Out island Snorkeling Adventures) will provide hours of enjoyment for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Rainbow Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Eleuthera
Rainbow Inn Eleuthera, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing