We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Relaxation at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Dream Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Cat Island
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxation at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I love beach vacations. I have been known to say that I have never visited a beach as beautiful as Destin in Florida. I now have to retract those words. Cat Island has not only the most beautiful beaches I have seen in a long time, it also lacks the crowds, noise, over extravagance of inclusive resorts and commercial beach developments.
I was fortunate enough to happen upon "The Ocean Dream Beach Resort" as I surfed the net trying to find the perfect get-away where I would not have to deal with crowds, rude people, tip- hungry staff, and crime.
The Ocean Dream is the only establishment on the Atlantic side of Cat Island. You literally have to take a dirt road to get to the beach cottages. There is no Wi-Fi, no pool, no concierge. Instead there is Desiree and Nick--the most hospitable, friendly, and helpful hosts I have ever dealt with (including myself). In addition they do all the cooking, and it is wonderful; especially considering Nick's Greek influence on the cuisine.
Our two bedroom (kitchen, living room, bathroom) cottage overlooked the beautiful surf of the Atlantic Ocean. Sand more powdery and white than Destin, and surf a deeper turquoise and clearer than Destin. For 3 days we enjoyed the 5 miles of deserted beach down from our back patio, without seeing another person--only Minute, the famous guard dog. However, that is another concept unfamiliar to most--no guard dog is needed. Crime on the island does not exist--we never locked our doors. The windows were always open and the fans slowly ushering in the wonderful ocean breezes.
Which brings me to the people of Cat Island. They are friendly, unpretentious , helpful, and loving. The only rude person I encountered was at the car rental agency (I think Gilberts is the store it functions out of). She wanted to argue with everything I said. She was the only person that had that 20+ entitlement attitude so prevalent here in the States.
I did spend a day on the Caribbean side of the island taking an eco and snorkeling tour with Mark. We went from viewing hundreds of turtles, mating sharks, rays, and tropical fish in the secluded Mangrove regions to snorkeling on two coral reefs. It was a wonderful day. One can appreciate how careful the island people are about protecting their wildlife. Mark operates out of
Fernandaz Bay Resort, which his wife manages. This resort is nice--but still a resort, you encounter tourist everyday and the restaurant food is expensive (and quite frankly not as good). But for those that need other people and like quiet waters (no surf), this may be your choice.
Give me the deserted beaches, the wonderful Atlantic surf, and the hospitality of Desiree and NIck---I will take that anytime. If I want people or day trips I will visit the accommodations on the Caribbean side--but I will stay on the Atlantic side. i can't believe I have found a wonderful hide-away as close as the Bahamas. I am almost apprehensive to post this review because it will mean that all of you guys out there may flock to "my deserted island" and Desiree's and Nick's "OCEAN DREAM RESORT"!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
serviceac, Manager at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort is the best kept secret this side of the Bahamas and we are so glad that you have discovered us. Yes, more persons will find us too, but that will not take away from the serene, magnificent, breathtaking experience that is available for all to enjoy.

We welcome you back in the not too distance future for another dose of The Ocean Dream!



Marketing Manager
The Ocean Dream Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I cannot say enough about The Ocean Dream Beach Resort. We lived in Shell Shack cottage. The cottage was very clean and spaced far apart from the other cottages to offer lots of privacy. My partner and I brought our surf boards and had a blast surfing on the Atlantic ocean.
At lunch we would grab a bite at their restaurant. Just thinking about the fresh conch salad , grouper fingers and fried sweet plantains makes me hungry. Overall we had an incredible stay. We can't wait to go back and we have only been home for two days! Great resort, food and beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICHALIS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desiree c, Manager at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thrilled to know that your best vacation ever!!!! was at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Come on down to The Ocean Dream Beach Resort is truly a relaxing and enjoyable place. A home away from home, it's like everything you would want a dream vacation to be. What a wonderful feeling, feels like you're in paradise. If you are looking for a place to just relax, eat tasty food, enjoy the fresh breeze, feel the nice cool sand between your toes and watching the ocean view. This is the place to be for a nice relaxing vacation!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geletha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desiree c, Manager at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thank you for your kind endorsement. You, like scores of other world travelers think the property is pretty amazing to! Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were lucky to find out about The Ocean Dream Beach Resort from a recommendation a local gave us while staying on Cat Island. We have been to the island before but this place is brand new (It has only been opened for a month I believe) and we were eager to give it a try. We went there for lunch one afternoon (without calling ahead) and they were easily able to accommodate us. The whole menu was available to order (without calling ahead the menus are usually limited – not here!) The food was absolutely delicious! Mainly the only food type you will find on Cat Island is traditional Bahamian cuisine, which is great! But here there is a different feel and a few different options (Greek). They give you a complimentary appetizer to start, it is freshly made pita bread with tzatziki to dip – it was phenomenal. I have never had better (which says a lot!) We practically inhaled it, which is why I failed to get a picture. The rest of our meals were great too, local cracked conch, with peas and rice, plantains and potato salad, their signature salad, and wings! (The wings were great) The views here are amazing, and I’ve not found a better lookout on the island (another reason why we were lucky to find it) We were also able to meet the owner who is a very friendly Greek man, he was very hospitable and even showed us inside some of the sea cottages you can rent. They are all brand new, and very spacious (love the smell of new houses). They all have panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and a lovely cross breeze that cools them down. We would definitely stay here now that we know it exists! Great location, great accommodations, great food and an awesome host/staff! I have a feeling this will soon be one of Cat Islands Gems.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianCritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desiree c, Manager at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thank you for coming. Happy that you had an awesome time at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

At the ocean dream resort it is exceptional y beautiful In so much that my friend said "they have hit the mark" the welcome drink quenched are thrust after a long journey - it was so refreshing.
As we walked to rooms we were festinated with the view, so much that it took us a while to settle in. We just stood and looked and looked. The Atlantic Ocean was just breadth taking. the many shades of blue and the milky white waves, added to the tranquility of the resort. Did I see a stretch of pick sand? yes it was miles and miles long. In my excitement _I said: this place is just magical". The food was excellent. The staff were very attentive and our - accommodation got value for our monies. You have to go to know.

Room Tip: Rooms are beautifully decorated.. The food is just of chain
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desiree c, Manager at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Phenomenal! Thank you so much for your kind words. Our goal is to continue to work to make The Ocean Dream Beach Resort even better every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had the great opportunity to be one of the first at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, and let me say it is SPECTACULAR! As you drive up it just transforms your mind because you are in PARADISE! The cottages are new and spectacular, each cottage is like a house they are huge and spacious, you really get good value for your money. The view is unlike any other, this is where everyone going to Cat Island needs to stay! The beach is AMAZING! You could sit there for hours and the fresh breeze calms your mind, the sand is like powder, it is just unexplainable this place is a MUST SEE! I have had the opportunity to stay at other hotels on Cat Island but the edge that The Ocean Dream Beach Resort has on them is: You get a bigger cottage, the food at the restaurant is good at a great price, and it’s quieter. The staff was friendly and very helpful, I also went into the little gift shop at the resort to get some souvenirs and they have some great stuff. Everything you need is at this resort. I was on business but to be honest this was a mini vacation. This will be our annual vacation spot going forward, Ocean Dream Resort KEEP MY ROOM READY!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyRamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desiree c, Manager at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
We aim to make your vacation dreams come true. We are so pleased that you loved the property. Thank you for your kind endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

A great vacation place to rejuvenate. Great food, lovely sight, and a very lovely beach.The gift shop is superb, and has a variety of things, I was able to find something for each of my family members,

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desiree c, Manager at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2015
Thrilled to have provided the perfect island escape from your busy schedule. Thank you for coming. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
10.0 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
15.3 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#3 of 12 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tail Winds Resort
Tail Winds Resort
#5 of 12 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 12 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 stars 43 reviews
257.0 mi away
Hilton At Resorts World Bimini
60.8 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Dream Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Dream Beach Resort

Property: The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
Address: Northern Shores, Smith's Bay | Bahamas, Cat Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cat Island
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ocean Dream Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort offers quality accommodations at great prices. This eco conscious resort offers 100% solar powered beach cottages that sit on a hill with outstanding views of The Atlantic Ocean. The cottages are generously spaced apart to maintain a private island feel. Mermaid's Restaurant at The Ocean Dream Beach Resort serves amazing Greek and Bahamian cuisine. The resort is just 300 miles off the coast of Florida and 130 miles from Nassau. The Ocean Dream Beach Resort is in the center of Cat Island and is within comfortable driving distance to New Bight airport, grocery stores, beaches and major attractions. The property is extremely private and away from the crowds. The resort is a fantastic romantic getaway.Each cottage includes: outstanding ocean view, sliding glass doors that lead out onto a private outdoor patio, Ceiling fans,air conditioned bedrooms, separate room with Kitchenette, Dining Table and Sofa sitting area,portable stove, mini refrigerator, pots, cooking utensils and cutlery, king sized beds, and plasma TV in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Ocean Dream Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing