We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, Quiet, Quality stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sammy T's Beach Resort
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The resort has wireless internet if you want, 6 channels delivered by antenna, the best beach ever, kayaks and floats for free. The meals at the restaurant on property are iffy because some of the ingredients may not be available. but if you ask for something in time, they can go into town to get it. each meal took between 30-40 minutes between ordering and eating you can also ask in advance and it can be brought to you. they will also bring your food anywhere on property so take advantage of the chairs by the beach or the gazebo overlooking the ocean.

Kenny's husband even popped in to town to pick up some bug spray for me.
The nearby beach had amazingly calm and cool water and we spent quite awhile on the water in the free kayaks.
Kenny Fox runs the resort and lives there with her family. The entire staff was really pleasant and aimed to please in everything.
Kenny even fixed our antenna reception (though it took an hour she got it done).

Room Tip: number 2 gets great breeze and you cannot hear the cars that pass in the night. you are also right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenoDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 66 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

My girlfriend and I visited Sammy T's from Christmas Day to January 8th 2012 and found a gem in the solitude of Cat Island. Upon arriving, we were met with such friendly staff, Kennirica (Manager), her husband Charles and their adorable son Rico. Coming from one of the busiest cities in the world, this Island is a reminder of what basic and essential living is about and where everyone knows and cares about each other.

Being an adventurous couple, we explored the Island on bikes, car and walking and got to know a lot of the locals. Every time we passed someone on the road (there's only one that runs from end to end on the Island, with no stop lights), there was always a honk, a wave and many smiles. My girlfriend and I made it a game to count the number of times we got a honk, wave or smile. It was endearing.

The tempo here is very relaxed so if you are looking to unwind, this is the perfect place for you. Sammy T’s has one of the most pristine and beautiful beaches we saw on the Island. Most times, we were the only ones on our own private beach. The resort has two very loving and protective dogs, Baileys and Kaluah. If you want to walk the beach late at night or in the early morning hours, they know to accompany you and stay with you until you are ready to return to your bungalow.

We visited and experienced many places just by exploring or asking our host and the locals. Kennirica and Charles were always gracious and took us out to remote areas on the Island where we were able to observe Eagle rays, sting rays and endangered turtles (we took lots of photos and videos). They took us with them to experience the Island life of catching fish and conch and delivering them to local businesses and restaurants. On my girlfriend’s birthday, we visited a wonderful restaurant called “Da Smoke Pot” and had a fresh meal of grouper (literally caught in the morning) and danced the night away with local folk music called “Rake and Scrape” with the entire staff at Sammy T’s. Charles also went out of his way to catch a beautiful conch so my girlfriend can have a piece of the Island to bring back home.

Perhaps, one of the most enchanting times was on New Year’s Eve and we went out to welcome in the New Year and saw flashing lights everywhere. At first, we thought the lights were from cyclists or fireworks, but after a few moments, we realized there were thousands of “fire flies” or what the locals call as “lamp lighters” surrounding us from everywhere, how befitting. My girlfriend remarked, “Wow, Nature’s own Christmas lights”.

Cat Island is a wonderful place, something we will always remember for its pristine and beautiful natural habitat. The most important element is by far the people we had the fortune to get to know at Sammy T’s and the locals.

GinoMarcello and Hue

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ginomarcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We recently visited Sammy Ts for lunches during our stay on Cat Island. We had fresh fish with salads for lunch which was absolutely delicious. Kenny, the manager, is a gem. She was a great hostess and so accommodating, even when we wanted drinks "to go" after our lunch. We will definitely eat at Sammy Ts next time we visit Cat Island, maybe even dinner next time.

Tim & Dolly Parizo

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DollyPVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We just returned from Cat Island and stayed at Sammy T for five days. This small resort was managed by Sammy, its creator, for a number of years and everyone knows that he passed away suddenly a few months ago. His manager is doing a great job caring for the property and the guest are treated like family. A number of small cottages surround the main building, which act as a dining/bar area. There is a surprising complete menu however it is best to make arrangement during the day for your upcoming meals. The cook can then prepare it without rush. I recommend you stick to local choices like fish , grouper is the best, lobster and shrimps. There is chicken and other selections. She can prepare a great salad and the club sandwich is very good. Presentation is great. What is most important is to ask and they will inform you if they can do it. They have access to a fisherman who will go out to sea and get fresh fish and lobster. Prices are very reasonable. The cottages are basic and clean. You may wish for housekeeping or take care of making your own bed just let the manager know your preference. The resort has two great dogs who will give you a small bark as you arrive then they will be your best friend for your stay. Bring dog biscuits and you will have the best of all pets, well disciplined as I can attest. The beach is absolutely amazing, long curving white sand with a small reefs at each end. It is absolutely private, great for sunning, beachcombing, walking, jogging, going for a swim, snorkelling or do absolutely nothing. You can order drinks and they will bring them over or simply pick them up before heading to the beach. The beach will offer a perfect sunset.

Room Tip: Beach Cabins 1 or 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PierreSeguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

If you want to get away from it all this is the place. The bungalows are private, clean and well cared for. Kenny and her crew treat you like family and the meals are wonderful. The beach is beautiful and there is plenty of snorkeling close by. It is like having a private beach because most of the time you are the only ones in sight. We will be abck.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

This is a re-review, as my husband and I stayed at Sammy's in November 2009. Overall, our experience was similar, but slightly different.

The main difference was that Sammy Thurston, the owner and namesake of the resort, passed away in February 2011. The community misses him greatly, and the resort is just not the same without him.

Is it clean? Yes. Is there staff there? Yes. Is it still a beautiful location? Yes! What's missing is the charm that Sammy added. The current manager, Kenny, is a sweet and lovely woman who simply does not have the outgoing host qualities that Sammy had. The resort is currently owned by an attorney relative of Sammy's in Nassau, who is not really in charge, except to collect money.

We were there for 6 nights. The weather was lovely as always. We were the only guests and had the beach to ourselves. Here are the differences from our last stay:

The food and dining experience: The food is not great and gets a little boring. We were offered an entree each night (steak, chicken, shrimp, fish) cooked "however we want it," which made no real difference. Most everything was overcooked. It was usually accompanied by some dry and tasteless peas and rice. The best thing was the coleslaw. When Sammy was there, we were offered appetizers or salad, an entree, and there usually was some dessert. The food wasn't spectacular, but it was fresh and good. This time, we weren't offered appetizers, and we got some frozen cheesecake when we inquired about dessert. We soon learned to eat at other resorts and also down the road at Yardies Conch Shack which was excellent. Oh--and the coffee is AWFUL: it's instant, and they charge you per cup, no refills. We had caffeine headaches the first two days.

The accommodations: yes, clean and charming as ever. Apparently, Hurricane Irene passed right over the resort, and it was spared the destruction that occurred at other resorts on the island. However, everything is in dire need of an update. The sheets are threadbare, the beach towels are frayed and have holes. The beach lounge chairs have cracked seats. Lightbulbs are burned out. Internet is spotty at best. The satellite TV we were told existed never materialized.

Hospitality: polite, but not outgoing. If we had never been there before, we would never have known about options open to us. We asked to rent a car and were accommodated, but the first time we were there, Sammy asked what we'd like to do: visit the hermitage? A restaurant in Arthurs Town? Fishing, scuba, snorkeling? He'd check in every day to make sure everything was exactly as we wished.

Problems: we were told by the travel agency we'd be asked for a credit card to charge our meals etc on. This never happened when we checked in, and so I figured we'd take care of it on checkout. Fifteen minutes before we had to leave for the plane, we were told they only take cash--which of course we had not enough of. We solved the problem, but we should have been told on check-in about the cash-only situation so we could be prepared!

Bottom line: lovely resort, but the hospitality and attention to detail is lacking, and for the price, there are better resorts on the island. We miss you Sammy!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbrtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The rooms are like bungalows very well kept and charming. The hotel has a beautiful beach and it is just great to walk from the bungalow. The food is nicely prepared by the hotel team and it is tasty.
The hotel team is simply friendly and helpful.
It is a nice place to stay

Room Tip: We had a bungalow facing the sea. It was just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anne_marie_zarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Island hotels
3.5 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
169 reviews
28.4 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
75 reviews
7.8 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
305 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
22 reviews
33.3 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy T's Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy T's Beach Resort

Address: Bennett's Harbour, Cat Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Cat Island
Price Range: $242 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sammy T's Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sammy T's Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sammy t`s Beach Hotel Cat Island
Sammy T's Beach Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing