We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tail Winds Resort
Nearby Hotels
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$272
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Pigeon Cay Beach Club(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Orange Creek Inn(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
$115
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greenwood Beach Resort(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
$154
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas(Long Island)
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
101
10
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
10
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerpaninida smoke potelectric fireplacebeautiful beachbug sprayhonor systemsmall poolking size bedwalk inshonor barflat screenfree kayakslocation is amazingwireless internet is availableatlantic sideour night stay
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 115 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Tailwinds is an an oceanfront resort is on a pristine, secluded, private beach where you will likely be the only one present most of the time, and would likely be double the price if you were at a more established hotel chain. The water is crystal clear and warm. The resort is small, and affordable considering the modern accommodations, high level of excellent service, oceanfront location, and tasty low priced meals. There is a serve yourself tiki bar 10 feet from the beach. The bungalows have a/c, outdoor showers, and are modern and comfortable with cable tv and internet. When you land on a dirt runway on this mostly uninhabited island, those things may not seem possible, but they are all there at Tailwinds. We sought a low key location without large families or crowds, and this was perfect. The owner, Rich, and his assistant, Dave, tailor to your needs, and are personable and welcoming. The meals are fresh, home-cooked, and prepared to your specifications whenever you want them. Bring plenty of sunscreen, and prepare to forget the rat race. Also, we are a gay couple, and felt right at home. I highly recommend Tailwinds.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are equally good, although the front 2 are slightly closer to the ocean. Bring bug spray since this is a tropical location.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jlafata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Tail Winds Resort is the top choice destination on Cat Island, Bahamas. Everything from Rich (the owner) and Dave (the manager) to the rooms, beaches, and amenities, Tail Winds is top notch.

Rich is a very passionate man that has created the best beach front (and I mean on the beach!) resort on all of Cat Island. The resort is incredibly well designed and built to incredibly high standards. If you are looking for a real “get-away” destination with soft white sand beaches with crystal clear water lapping up on shore, then this is your place. Tail Winds is a very exclusive location where you won’t expect to see many other visitors as is so common in other locations (like Nassau). Tail Winds really allows you to be as independent as you would like, giving you ample room to absorb the solitude of the island.

Of course, Rich and Dave are always on site and available to you as you wish. You will find Dave’s cooking to be incredibly delicious and rather on the healthy side, which we really appreciated. One of the best features of Tail Winds (which is not common at other small resorts) is the ability to order anything off the menu come breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Though, you will want to tell Rich or Dave your menu choice a few hours in advance of lunch or dinner time. And you have to have the Chocolate Panini; it’s a perfect dessert or afternoon snack…and once you have one, you will want another.

We stayed in Hanna’s Hanger, which is very spacious with vaulted ceilings, a comfortable bed, nice couch, and seating areas (note: the four individual bungalows are identical). The kitchen area has a sink and small refrigerator (stocked with bottled water), the closet is spacious and invites you to move in for the week, while the bathroom is also spacious, the greatest feature is having your own private outdoor shower. There is also daily maid service and the ladies are exceptionally nice.

Rich has sea kayaks available to use as you wish. We went kayaking one day and spent most of the time floating over reefs and looking at fish and sea life. Rich also has a very nice pontoon boat available for snorkeling and sight-seeing trips (Dave was a great skipper and host during our voyage).

A couple of tips, bring DEET with you (just in case!). If it rains, the “no seeum” (sand flies) can get a little buggy. Rich or Dave will pick you up at Arthurs Town airport; on the way to the resort, you might want to stop at the local grocery store at Orange Creek to pick up any snack food items and bug spray just in case you forgot yours at home. You can also use any of the four bicycles to take a ride into Orange Creek/market; it’s an easy 3 mile ride.

And last but not least, on one of your nights, you will want to plan a trip to “Da Smoke Pot” for dinner. Along the way, you will also want to stop and see Colonius for beer and peanuts and stop at Grammy’s for another beer. And on your way back to Tail Winds, stop again to see Colonius.

And final tip, if your travels have you staying overnight on Nassau, the hotel “A Stones Throw” is a close 10 minute cab ride from the airport.

Room Tip: Each of the four bungalows are exactly the same. There are two front row bungalows that put you 15 steps closer to the sand, but they all have a view of the water and are equally close to either the indoor bar and the tiki bar.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We highly recommend this hotel. If you are looking for a place to stay on Cat Island this is it. Our trip began with the friendly and gracious owner Rich picking us up at the airport. Once at the resort we were pleased to find a quiet, beautiful little piece of paradise. The guest rooms are lovely, clean, and spacious. The rooms have a gas fireplace, large flat screen satellite TV, king-size bed, safe, hair dryer, small bar fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee pot and kitchen sink. Each room comes with 2 beach chairs and a beach umbrella. The outdoor shower is very private and the water is lovely and hot. The resort has 2 bars, an on-site restaurant (with great food reasonably priced) a swim spa, and sea kayaks for your use. The beach is lovely and very quiet. If you see five people in one day, you have had a busy day. Rich the owner and Dave his manager were really helpful. Rich took us over to the Atlantic side of the island in his old army jeep, it was a fun trip and some great sight seeing. Dave played tour guide for a day and took us down to the south end of the island to find a piece of property that our family owned. I think Dave knows everybody on the island so it was helpful in finding our property. The resort also has wireless. We have been home for two months now and we are planning our next trip back already!

Room Tip: The Flap House and Hanna's Hangar are ocean front rooms
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OneVacationTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Richard and David - thanks for an awesome stay, and a number of phenomenal meals. We were on the island for business, but this resort was a solid oasis of high quality room construction, great attention to detail with linens, luxury touches, very functional beach location, great night time ocean waves saying "go to sleep", and very accomodating hosts. I made them do an impromptu dinner party for 10+ guests, and they rose to the occasion and delivered a top notch series of courses, with big smiles, and with well timed delivery and execution. Kudos, big thanks, and we hope to see you again soon! :) Best, Peter and Bari.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RexKite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I arrived for our 4 day vacation on Cat Island. We stumbled upon this hotel by accident. I am so glad we did. It was the most beautiful place either of us have ever been. We have been to many Islands in the past and none came close. Rich was the man. He was so great to deal with and great to hang out with. He loves his hotel and Cat Island so much and has put his heart and soul into it. The food was awesome cooked to order. The villa's were amazing. They were great 5 feet from the beach and the views were breathtaking. We are in the airport now and when we get home we are booking a week next year. Best Vacation We ever had hands down. Thanks to Rich and Dave.

Room Tip: "Our Secret"
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Icemand102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews