We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three Peat!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

So my wife and I just return from our third consecutive year of visiting Shanna's Cove Resort on Cat Island. This stay was two weeks in length, which has been the norm for us, though most visitors are there for a week or so. This is also the third review I have posted on TA, since I feel so compelled to share my thoughts on this wonderful place.

I will not repeat the previous thoughts from my two previous posts, but just want to assure all TA users, this place is as nice as it sounds on TA. Frank and Gabi Wolff have really found a niche of providing wonderful, friendly service with gourmet meals located on an island that has some of the most pristine, secluded beaches in the Bahamas.

During this trip we had a chance to take six dives with Frank and Captain Rod in the beautiful waters around Cat Island. The gin clear water, beautiful corals and sandy bottoms, access to wall dives and wrecks made the experience just perfect. I addition, I spent a day trolling for gamefish with Captain Rod, along the wall that drops from 90 to 3,000 ft in a matter of a few yards. Another fun experience.

So if you are looking to get away to relax and recharge your batteries, there is no better place to visit. Thanks Frank and Gabi for a another wonderful stay...a Three Peat!!!

Room Tip: there are only five bungalows, each suited for a couple. All bungalows face the water and have beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chathamjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 303 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

This will be short, because we can't add much to all the other 5 star reviews, which we fully agree with! We wanted to watch the Olympic gold medal hockey game and Frank and Gabi delivered, even sending someone to our room to wake us up for the 7:30 am start. The level of service and attention to detail is superb. The beaches truly are spectacular and almost deserted, it's easy to go for a beach walk and find total privacy. We've already booked our return trip for next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ejbmgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

What can I say that hasn't already been said here about Shannas Cove. Beautiful surroundings, incredible food, friendly staff, clean and comfortable cottage, and owners who go above and beyond for their guests. From our first hours on the island spent at the Cat Island Humane Society benefit (so much fun!), to our last hours of beach time at Man-o-War (had this huge, gorgeous beach to ourselves all day!) we had the most relaxing and enjoyable twelve days.

If you're undecided about where to spend your vacation in the Bahamas, quit looking and book Shannas Cove right now.

Thank you Frank and Gabi. You two are doing something pretty wonderful in your little slice of paradise there. We will certainly be back again one day...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meejoebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We just returned from our second visit with Gabi, Frank and the Shannas family - we truly feel like it is our second home. All of the accolades stated here are true - it IS a hidden slice of paradise; one you want to keep a private secret, but that would be unfair to all involved. A couple we met last year, whom we've stayed in touch with but couldn't make it this year, and one we met this past week, are coming back with us next year - lasting friendships are quickly fostered in such a relaxed and carefree atmosphere, with only ten adults in residence at a time, in a fairly isolated spot. Actually, during this year's visit, we were able to catch up with a couple we met last year who just happened to return at the same time we were there. What a terrific surprise it was, when they walked in at cocktail hour one evening! This is just another illustration of how special Shannas Cove is. However, if you want to have quiet, more private visit, there is plenty of room in the restaurant to stay off to yourself. In conclusion, if you're looking for a place to relax, unplug, unwind and escape from the real world with some very special people in a tropical paradise, Shannas Cove is for you!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank rtbabb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Visited Shannas Cove with my wife to celebrate Valentine's day. Been to beaches around the world, and this has to be one of the most beautiful one. Powder white sand to go with clear turquoise water. Most of the times we were the only ones on the beach. Breakfast starts with a beautiful plate of cut fruits, followed by a plate of slices of different cheeses, ham, turkey, and sausage. Together with a basket of baked goods, bagels, toast, and English muffins. A caraf of juice, your choice of course, then they take your order. Fried eggs, bacon, pan cakes. Coffee or tea. All this for about $35, wow. After a day of swimming and relaxing on the beach, we would go up for dinner around 7pm. First we had drinks and did a little socializing with the other guest, and of course with Frank and Gaby. Dinner is gourmet dining every night. One night dinner started with a large pan fried scallop on a bed of asparagus, followed by a lobster tail with melted butter. Desert was a large slice of tiramisu. All this for about $80.00 for 2. One night dinner was a fresh piece of Grouper, which was Delicious, however my wife does not like fish, so Gaby made her a beef tenderloin. They also have lunch, however we just had breakfast and dinner. Frank and Gaby go out of their way to make you happy. The room was clean and roomy, the one we stayed in was the Dolphin and this cottage has two double sliding doors that overlook the beautiful landscape and the ocean. The room has a fully stocked mini bar, with reasonably priced water, beer, drinks, and snacks. One last thing that I found amazing, the plane from Miami to Nassau, was delayed for two hours so we missed our plane from Nassau to Cat Island, and there was not another flight till the next day, so we had to spend the night and Nassau. We could not check in to Shannas Cove till the next day. I expected to be charged for that day since we had reserved. Upon checking out I noticed that we were not charged for that day. I ask Frank and he told us it wasn't our fault that we could not make that day, so he would not charge us for that day! By the way all the staff was great. We had a truly great time. Thank you Frank and Gaby.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bigdave2359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

WOW, how do I begin. We returned to this wonderful place after two years and it just seems to get better and better. The rooms are still small but totaly roomy and very comfortable with a beautiful terrace overlooking the ocean. There are only five cabins but they are completely sold out through August. The food is exceptional and the beach is wide, white and deserted. Once again I have to state that as good as everything is, the primary cause for its success are Gabi and Frank Wolf the owners who are totally involved in every aspect of Shanna's Cove. We look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank tundergarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I could easily echo all of the accolades of the 150+ reviews on this site. As I read the other reviews, I am hard-pressed to provide new adjectives or additional tributes not previously addressed by others at length. In our case, my wife and I were looking for a quiet place to retreat from the cold climate and hectic pace of our jobs and traffic in Washington, DC. My wife picked Shanna’s Cove from the recommendations on Trip Advisor and we had never been to Cat Island. Shanna’s Cove suited our needs perfectly.
We were picked up at the airport by Gabi who, on the short five mile trip to Shanna’s Cove, provided us a lot of information about the island and the resort. When we arrived at Shanna’s Cove we were struck by the well-maintained grounds, the cleanliness of the restaurant/bar and our room, and the magnificent views of the ocean. Almost instantly we found ourselves mentally and physically slowing to the pace of the waves breaking on the beach.
Over the next five days we took long walks along two miles of white sand beach and calm clear/turquoise water. We swam in the shallow waters that even in early February were warm and inviting; for those with tender feet, a sandy bottom extends well off shore. We had the entire beach to ourselves and made use of the kayaks provided by the resort to explore the shoreline. On another day we took an easy 30-minute walk to a spectacular beach called Man-O-War that has miles of white/rose sand and remarkably blue water. In addition to our beach walks, my wife and I spent hours relaxing in the warm sunshine, talking, reading and napping, all in complete privacy.
In the evenings we walked up to the restaurant/bar where we spent wonderful evenings socializing with the other eight guests and the owners Frank and Gabi. Each evening begins with cocktails and then dinner at 7:30. The atmosphere is warm and friendly with people you will come to call friends by the end your stay. After dinner you have the options of revisiting the bar or retreating to the privacy of your room. With our particular group, everyone opted to stay and share in the camaraderie. Frank is the perfect neighborhood bartender. He manages the conversation and music to suit the guests. His good nature, sense of humor and sincere desire to see his guests have an enjoyable stay make him the mainstay of the evening.
As many reviewers have previously mentioned, the food is quite remarkable. The three-course evening meals are exquisite. Everything prepared fresh daily from recipes Gabi has refined over time to be truly incredible. We are not strangers to fine dining, and we can attest that Gabi’s attention to food quality, meticulous preparation and artful plating holds its own with some of the finest restaurants around the world. Breakfast and lunch are prized as well. The standard fare for breakfast includes fresh vegetables, fruit, meats and cheeses, orange juice, coffee (classic French served in a press), breads, and then eggs/omelets prepared any way you wish or pancakes and bacon. The only downside to this marvelous fare is that you are too satiated to enjoy their wonderful lunch menu, although I can highly recommend the white shrimp and pineapple pizza. Moreover, the breakfast and lunch meals are served on your schedule, whenever that might be, and not at specific times.
Frank and Gabi are truly amazing people. They are selfless people whose entire focus are on the comfort and needs of their guests; a philosophy shared by their long-time staff, Tara, Mally, Rado, Andrea and others, who are all remarkably friendly and accommodating. Frank and Gabi have traveled extensively in their lives and over the years have developed an acute sense of what travelers seek. This insight is displayed in all aspects of the personal service, outstanding food, comfort of the rooms, and attention to detail they provide to each guest. Their business model is elegantly simple; provide outstanding service, great food, clean comfortable accommodations and charge reasonable prices, and customers will return repeatedly and provide glowing recommendations to others.
Shanna’s Cove is a magnificent escape that you will want to return to repeatedly. At the end of our short stay we hugged Frank and Gabi as old friends, and booked our return reservation before we left. We highly recommend Shanna’s Cove for a memorable romantic vacation.

Room Tip: There are only five private bungalows, and all have a private deck with a magnificent ocean view. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wayfarer33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
37.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
78 reviews
13 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
172 reviews
29.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
47 reviews
27.8 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
22 reviews
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range: $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities.Free high speed WiFi in the restaurant. Kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel gear is free of charge for our guests. We have a fully equipped dive center and offer also fishing trips, bone fishing in the nearby creek, Turtle watch tours in the creek and snorkel trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing