We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cat Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shannas Cove Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Absolutely fantastic place. My husband and I just came back from a week's stay at Shanna's. It was our first time to the Bahamas and certainly won't be our last. Frank and Gabi and all the employees are all hospitable. The bungalow was very clean and spacious. The bed could be better, but I found it easy to sleep with the relaxing sounds of the crashing waves. Relaxing on the beach can be tiring business! Speaking of the beaches, I have never seen cleaner sand and water. You can see the ocean floor far out into the water. The most people we saw on the mile+ beach was 8, but most days we were the only ones. We canoed one day. Hiked to the Atlantic side one day (where you really won't see another soul). Snorkeled (now that was tiring work!) We left the beach one day and rented a car to see the rest of the island. The only attraction is the Hermitage, which is much smaller in real life but worth the drive. You can see the Caribbean and Atlantic at the same time from up there. If stopping for a meal somewhere, be sure to call ahead as many places are closed or just not cooking that day. You won't want to skip too many meals at Shannas though. The breakfast is fantastic (get them to make you pancakes, so light and fluffy). Everything at lunch is great, but the pizzas, oh the pizzas, especially the white shrimp pizza. Be advised that one is more than enough for two people. The dinner is five star all the way. We did have fish 3 nights of our stay. My husband doesn't like fish. He took a cautious first bite and proceeded to inhale it. He's going to be spoiled now. Such a fresh clean taste. Other nights included veal tenderloin, duck breast, and even a pig roast. They will make substitutions for picky eaters though.The drinks are great, but they make them strong. Very strong.

Room Tip: We were in seahorse. Probably the least private bungalow, but when there are max 10 guests, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GrizzFan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
227
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porter Corners, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned from 8 days at Shannas Cove and I am still speechless. It is a truly magical place. From the minute Frank and Gabi pick you up you feel like family. Every minute felt like a dream because the beaches are so beautiful and you are completely alone most of the time. Each morning we were greeted by Tara who was amazing and she made us gourmet breakfasts. Frank and Gabi were always there to make your trip special from amazing food to great drinks and lots of laughs. I am only home two days and can't wait to visit again. It was truely a privilege to meet Gabi and Frank and spend 8 days with them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week long vacation at Shannas Cove. We had been to the island once before and had good service. But Shannas is the top of the line!! You really can't ask for better views or a nicer beach. Plus they have nature trails that start on their property so you can explore a few other beaches, very remote and private. Frank and Gabi are absolutely wonderful hosts, they treat you like family and have a great sense of humor and are very willing to do everything they can to make your stay there as enjoyable as possible. Their restaurant is 5 star - it will make you think you're in a fancy place in NYC. Three course breakfasts and something new every day.

We've already reserved a spot for next year!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have private balconies over looking the beach. But "Turtle" a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beebeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

There is little to be said about this resort based on the previous reviews! My wife and I stayed at Shannas Cove 3/28-4/5 and enjoyed every minute of it. The beach, food, and island are all amazing. The greatest compliment about the resort are the owners, Frank and Gabbi! They are very detail oriented and provide a great experience. The only complaint I would have are the mattresses. I'm a big guy and they were a little uncomfortable at times but its all good. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB4633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful weather, water, and private beaches. So tranquil and relaxing. The food was to die for! Gabby, Frank, and Tara are so much fun. Snorkeling and kayaking are free and they have the equipment for you. Frank can take you diving or fishing too. We loved our week there. Beat the heck out of Fiji too.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows have one king bed, a couch, fridge, large shower, tv, desk, and deck with views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JandLH_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I read through many of the reviews on Trip Advisor and I have to say that they were all very accurate. Gabi and Frank are just such amazingly nice people and they run a wonderful resort. The rooms are cozy and roomy. The food is amazing. The grounds are just pure paradise, with views that just do not quit. The staff are all so friendly and accommodating.
We celebrated our 10 year anniversary with a renewal ceremony and Gabi and Frank made it very special for us.
If you are looking for a secluded romantic vacation with views that just do not quit, this is definitely the place for you. Did i mention the food was amazing? The white shrimp and pineapple pizza was definitely my favorite lunch time meal. The dinners are all exquisite and the desserts are equally delicious.
One night, we went to da Smoke Pot...food was also delicious and a great local experiece.
As far as activities: We went kayacking, scuba diving, snorkeling, and the Man O War trail was a great experience.
The bluest water I have ever seen!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Parrot room and it was nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MSBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

....Yes it can! We enjoyed the Resort and our Hosts so much in January 2012, that we booked almost immediately for January 2013. This time we stayed longer to enjoy the beautiful Beaches and explore some of the Island that we missed on our first visit, such as The Hermitage and Man O'War Trail and Beach, all worthwhile for peaceful solitude. I suggest renting a car for at least one day to see the rest of the Island, it's small and with only one main road, very easy to navigate. You might want to try Lunch at one of the other resorts on the Island. The Chef at Shannas didn't disappoint...meals are delicious! We were glad to see the same Staff there, and felt like we were coming home to old friends. As for the person who was unable to book, please keep trying...you'll be happy you did. Thank you Frank and Gabi...we'll see you in JANUARY 2014!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CMF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
29.6 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
296 reviews
13.0 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
161 reviews
37.7 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
45 reviews
27.8 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannas Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannas Cove Resort

Property: Shannas Cove Resort
Address: Shanna Bay, Orange Creek, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shannas Cove Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannas Cove Resort is a paradise for people looking for a relaxing beach vacation in the sun, and is the perfect location for diving and fishing. Enjoy the island‘s secluded white sandy beaches and sub-tropical flora and fauna. During tours of the island you will get to know the islanders and will be impressed by their friendliness and hospitality. Our restaurant will pamper you with a diversity of dishes including exotic island specialities.Free high speed WiFi in the restaurant. Kayaks, stand up boards, snorkel gear is free of charge for our guests. We have a fully equipped dive center and offer also fishing trips, bone fishing in the nearby creek, Turtle watch tours in the creek and snorkel trips ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shannas Cove Hotel Cat Island
Shannas Cove Resort Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing