We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
New Hampshire
1 review
“Paradise found”
Reviewed March 5, 2009

This way my second year of visiting Pigeon Cay. It was even more beautiful than I remembered: those powdery empty beaches, clear water and georgous sunsets!
Even better this time, was the food. Leslie uses the freshest sea food and other ingredients to create delicious elegant dinner. Eating great food with interesting friendly people, under the stars, a light breeze blowing and the ocean glistening from a newly risen moon, comes very close to Paradise.

Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MonaRupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    16
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
99
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2008

If you realy want to escape the hustle & bustle of everday life, this is the place to visit.When you get to Cat Island Leslie arranges your transpartation to Pigeon Cay then just leave the reast to her and her staff
Ned & Leslie and their staff made my 30th anniversary the best we've ever had. We dined everynight on our porch on local cuisine perpared by the resorts own chef .
If you you want to rent a car or know about local restaurants & places to visit just talk to Leslie.

Thank's again H and Greta

Helpful?
1 Thank Gatsby2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2008

I shared a house with a few friends for a week in April.

The location is remote, gorgeous, and quiet. In the morning, it was just a few step to the miles-long beach, with no people or footprints in sight most of the time. The house was clean, and well-equipped for making oneself at home. I spent most of my afternoons either laying in the sand or reading in the house. The screen doors kept the flies out, but not the calming sounds of the small waves coming to shore. Curly-tailed lizards abound, and even like to lick the salt of your skin if you hold still for them.

The family that runs the place is very friendly, and they have sweet kids that generally stay out of sight, or at least out of your way. Their dogs were a little out of control one evening, even nipping out our heels as we walked down the beach (probably the only real complaint I can muster about this place).

If you're just there to relax, it's worth signing up for dinner on the premises. Meal quality varied from "plain old home cookin'" to gourmet french fish, but everything was tasty, and you can't beat a dinner on the beach at dusk.

The hermitage is worth the drive, about a half hour south (you can rent the house car or rent a car when you arrive at the airport). The other resorts that I saw on the island were nice-ish, but none that I saw had as good a vibe as Pigeon Cay.

  • Liked — tranquility
  • Disliked — the dogs
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slopedome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed for 9 days in early June and simply loved the experience. The house was spotless and beautifully maintained by the staff. Leslie stocked the kitchen from a list we provided and the staff actually brought in fresh baked goods for us. The beach is unbelievably beautiful. we have been all over the Bahamas and the Carribean, and this was the best experience we have had. i love to bird watch and the wildlife was incredibly. Leslie lent me a great bird book. You can actually hike for miles down the beach to the inlet of a gorgeous tidal creek. we waded one of the largest bonefish flats we have yet seen. Kayaks, bikes and beach toys all provided free. this is really the best possible destination for nature lovers looking for a quiet, restful vacation in the tropics like they used to be.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

We had never been to this location before and did not know what to expect. It was everything and more!!! Our "Boathouse" accomodations were great, very private, very comfortable and we hope to go again next year. Leslie and Ned the owners of the resort were great, real people who went the extra mile to be helpful. There was nothing they would not help us do and they were a wealth of information about the Island and its people. The residents of Cat Island are lovely people, very helpful and friendly. You always feel that you are among friends. Pigeon Cay was affordable, clean, quiet, really all that we were looking for. We could canoe, hike, bike and even spend a day riding around in the car if we wanted. We enjoyed getting to know the owners and their children. The beaches were the best we've ever seen. The swimming was great, the snorkeling was great, the beaches are never crowded, in fact, we were usually all by ourselves. If you go to Pigeon Cay make sure to let Leslie help you with a shopping list for food that you want in your frig when you arrive and we would suggest that you let her and her staff at least prepare your first evening meal. It will be the best meal that you eat on the Island. It is helpful to take some food with you to get you by until you get to the grocery store. We took simle things like boxed rice, soups, pasta, cereal, and snacks. The house had all the things you needed in the kitchen. The resort had an honor bar which was very covenient as well as very beautiful.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank wildmainegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2008

Pigeon Cay was everything we expected and more. All cottages have an ocean view, and are literally steps from the
beach.

We stayed in 'Little House':
Very clean, open, breezy, comfy, homey, and beautifully decorated. Fully stocked kitchen with coffee maker, dishes, silverware, tupperware, ice trays, cutting board, even a jar of coffee waiting for us!

Bathroom:
The shower was so breezy, almost felt like I was showering outside! Plenty of linens, and very clean. Bedroom had extra pillows/blankets, and a huge closet...one thing: the bedroom door didn't really shut (mainly for looks?) but we didn't mind, it was just the 2 of us. Living/dining room was comfy, with a clear view of the beach, and a cd player! Breakfast was brought to us every morning... I think we ate healthier here than at home! Fresh fruit, juice, and some kind of pastry every day.

Beach:
There are snorkels, kayaks, and bikes, all available for no extra
charge. There is also a small motor raft, which we didn't use...I think there is a fee for that. All of the beaches on the island are beautiful, clear, with white powder sand, but some do have trash here and there.

Pigeon Cay was clean as a whistle. Shallow, crystal clear water. There are shower stations at a couple different spots, near the stairs to the cottages. Also, they provide you with big beach towels.

Honor Bar:
You keep a tab of your own drinks, and settle at the end of your stay. We got a couple of drinks every day for 7 days, and it was only $30!
There is even a blender, and drink book! They have pretty much one of everything, liquor-wise, as well as beer, and soda. There aren't a lot of mixers though... so if you like fruity, girly, blendy drinks, you might want to bring a bottle with you.

Staff:
Leslie and her staff are awesome! They are all very laid back, and mellow, and definitely let you do your thing. No one bothers you, except to bring you breakfast. However, they are there when you need them.

Leslie helped us out with everything from our rental car, to extra food for dinner... when we didn't bring enough. She brought us a BBQ and charcoal one night, and let us know about the local Rake n' Scrape festival during our stay. Also, they offer board games, puzzles, and books, if you just want to kick back.

We definitely plan to come back at some point. I would recommend this to anyone that is looking for peace and quiet, nature, and alot of freetime. Also, the island is best for those that are active, healthy, adventurous, and don't mind sun 24-7.

THANK YOU PIGEON CAY!!

Non-hotel side note:
Food prices are higher here, since everything must be shipped. Don'to find everything you would in a normal supermarket. If there is something you have to have, just pack it!

  • Liked — Beach/location
  • Disliked — Food difficulties
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank asieffert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Well, I just returned from Pigeon Cay on Cat Island and wanted to write about it while things were clear in my mind.

Pigeon Cay is beautiful…everything pictured on the website - beautiful beach, cute bungalows nice landscaping, honor bar, reasonable rates for lodging, etc.
But there are some things you should know before you go.
1) Food – We were under the impression that at the resort food wouldn’t be tricky…we were wrong. We had planned to bring lunch things in a cooler and shop for fruits & veggies. We let Leslie know we would need dinner on Sunday night at the resort – no problem. But when we mentioned the rest of the evening meals she sounded doubtful and said “Well, we might do something on Tuesday & Thursday.” So we rented the resort’s explorer for a half day ($45.00, $80.00 for a full day) and planned our menus for the remaining nights. We found okay food at Orange Creek and the New Bight market but not a lot of fresh produce. As it turned out we were very glad we had done this…the Sunday meal tab for two adults was $84.00 (for BBQ chicken legs, lobster salad, beans & rice and Guava Duff) The continental breakfast was 2 small pieces of assorted fruit and some delicious pastries each morning. It was okay but the men were still hungry and we were glad we had bought extra food. We did eat at the Bluebird one night for about $20.00 a plate and it was very good. But you need to know what to plan on. About the BBG pit – when we asked about using it we were given a very small Weber BBQ & some charcoal - when we couldn’t find the lighter fluid we were advised to gather up the dry pine needles to use instead!
2) Dogs! Leslie owns two large dogs…can you say dog poo on the beach? They are somewhat aggressive…the first night at dinner my sister went to pet one and it bit at and growled at her…no one thought to warn us ahead of time. The younger dog is very territorial. When the tire on one of the bikes exploded loudly, Leslie came out with one dog who was so agitated he bit at my brother-in-law! Later, I saw this same dog stand at the head of the beach stairs barking and growling fiercely at a small guest who turned and ran down to find his parents…these are family pets! They are not friendly to strangers so be prepared.
3) Snorkeling…not so much, we found no decent snorkeling within walking distance (or Kayaking distance) of the resort.
4) Bugs - all four of us are covered with bites – despite lavish applications of bug spray and carefully closed doors. We have itched until we are almost bleeding…our flight home was a misery to all of us. I don’t know what bit us – I have never had this experience in the Bahamas before but it is pretty miserable.

So…would I recommend Pigeon Cay? We talked to a couple of guests who have returned year after year and just loved it. It is beautiful & quiet but I never felt really welcome. I could not develop a fondness for either the resort of the people there. I couldn’t get comfortable either physically or emotionally. No I don’t think I’ll go back. There are lots of other options to explore in the Out Islands and I look forward to trying them.

  • Liked — The beach and locatin were beautiful, secluded & quiet!
  • Disliked — No comfortable furniture, beds, or food.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank jillwantstoseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leslie k, Owner at Pigeon Cay Beach Club, responded to this review, August 5, 2016
this was a better review than a worse review as the traveller had alot of nice things to say. 2008 was a while ago, things have changed , not much. we have always prepared a four course meals for all dinners still the same 35$pp, gratuity 15%-now we serve full morning plates at 18$pp...yes, the local spots are a bit less money as can be expected. we have several bbq grills for guests use and promote fire starter the natural way using pine needles instead of lighter fluid which leaves a taste in the food. love our animals, they just need some time to warm up to visitors. one has to be an animal lover to realize it takes a certain presence on handling any animal you dont know. we cannot have dogs that bite, and we do not. our animals make pigeon cay special. travellers must be outgoing enough to ask about how to deal with insects, where to snorkel, what to do and so on. printed material in all cottages explaining this. bugs are the same throughout the bahamas. everyone is different--come here to relax, and enjoy the beauty.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
16.8 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
300 reviews
24.9 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
69 reviews
10.8 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 10 in Cat Island
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
29.9 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Cay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Cay Beach Club

Property: Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Address: Pigeon Cay | General Delivery to Arthurs Town, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Cay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Cay Beach Club consists of 8 cottages on a 3 mile white sand beach. We are located in the Northern part of Cat Island, 7 miles South from Arthur's Town Airport (ATC) 20 miles North of New Bight Airport TBI). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Pigeon Cay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Hotel Cat Island
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing