We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in the Bahamas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The most amazing beach experience for a first timer in the Caribbean. Cat Island is isolated but safe and peaceful. The Pigeon Cay Beach Club is privately located with self contained cottages, meters away from the most refreshing clean blue sea!!! A very quaint beach club owned and run by an American couple who are fabulous hosts. They respect the guests' privacy but they also offer very homely service. It was a wonderful seaside vacation for me and a couple of my friends and their daughter from London. We would loved to return to the Pigeon Cay Beach Club and I would even do so on my own for a good rest and relaxation to rejuvenate my mind and soul...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jong_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 169 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2013

oh my gosh, where to start...lol...well, we did pick the best place to stay on Cat Island!!! It was the best 10 days we have ever had!! Ned and Leslie were just awesome host, and yes, Ned is a very good Chef....our stay was blissful,quiet when we wanted it to be,and the view was just breathtaking!! It is just what we needed this vacation to be....had lunch at Shannas Cove,the best crab cake salad ,and the view from there was great!! Da Smoke Pot on saturday night,ha...it was so much fun,Julian you rock!!! Had take out from Yardies for dinner,good stuff....drove to Greenwood for lunch on the Atlantic side,beautiful view!! The bugs were not too bad, just an hour every evening,we took mosquito coils with us,and bug spray,it really helped!! They had more at the stores then I thought they would,we still took spices with us,glad we did,they only sell the giant ones ,lol....The cottages were just perfect at Pigeon Cay,had all we needed in the kitchen,and didnt have too much trouble with ants,we took lots of zip lock bags for that reason....it was just a very nice and relaxing trip,one that we will remember fondly,the breeze and the sound of the surf was like a lullaby to us....thank you Cat Island and Pigeon Cay Beach Club for making our trip so special!! We will be back~~~.count on it~~~~

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janeymae014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We enjoyed our time here. Very relaxing, off the beaten path. Ned is a very good cook, enjoyed the dinners on the beach. Good clean accommodations with most of the amenities you might expect. The best thing about the place is its location right on the beach, great white sand. We really enjoyed sleeping with the windows and doors open, with the sounds of the surf.

Room Tip: This is a small property and all the rooms are good (except the studio which is not beachfront)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Piperkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Pigeon Cay is a beautiful relaxing getaway from modern craziness and hectic life, and a perfect place to enjoy the colors and nature of the Bahamas in their unspoiled ways. Pigeon Cay cottages are private but comfortably near one another, and very clean. The silence of the place is amazing and interrupted only by the sound of the waves! The owners are great and will do their best to accomodate your needs and requests. They will cook on demand and are fine cooks, too! We went as a family getaway and we all enjoyed it, even my 3 yr old little girl who couldn't get enough of the sand and calm water at the beach. Kayaks are available and bikes, you can rent the owner's car to get around if you want to see the island and it's many beautiful beaches. Alligator creek is nearby, you can even walk there to explore. We went by boat (hiring a local fisherman that Leslie arranged for us) and you can see many many sea turtles, we even saw a barracuda and a few baby sharks off the coast to the great happiness of my 9 & 10 year old boys! If you want a "getaway" in the true sense, this is a must!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Pigeon Cay Beach club on Cat Island, Bahamas in April of 2012 and had a wonderful time. The beach is beautiful with miles stretching out to walk-you won't see another soul. The weather was great, about 80 (same as the water temp!) and clear turquoise water. Excellent snorkeling available-Ned and Leslie will show you the best spots. For getting away from it all, this is the best vacation we could think of-romantic, quiet and comfortable. All rooms are separate casitas from 1-3 bedrooms with kitchens and baths. Not fancy-just comfortable and very clean. You can be by yourself or join in for a family style meal cooked by the inn-keepers. They take full advantage of the fresh fish from the area. Fun bar where guests from interesting places far away meet in the evening before dinner. There are several restaurants nearby as well as small grocery stores if you want to be on your own. If you want a vacation away from it all, this is the place to go-

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I spent Christmas for the first time in the Bahamas at Pigeon Cay Beach Club. This was my second stay at Pigeon Cay on Cat Island. The first time was in 2002 and the beach at Pigeon Cay is still one of the most beautiful, remote white sandy beaches in the Bahamas. We bicycled to the North side of Cat Island, which is more rugged and remote. The trail leading to the North side is approx. 1.5 miles from Pigeon Cay and you will come across some old Plantation wells. Pigeon Cay is the place to stay in Cat Island. Pigeon Cay looked very festive for Christmas. Ned and Leslie make you feel welcome and are awesome hosts and cooks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AirlinkWaterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you're like we were, it was impossible to tell which hotel to book on Cat. They all looked similar, and seemed like all of them had pretty good reviews. Well, here is our review of most of the hotels on Cat (we stopped into each and had either lunch, hung on the beach or drank from all the honor bars of each). Below is our ranking from the best to the worst. When I say worst though...by no means are they bad, all the hotels were nice, but none were fancy by any stretch of the imagination. You come to Cat, because you want to get away from the huge hotels of Nassau, the over priced hotels of Harbor Island and the mass tourists of Eleuthera or the Abaco's. Cat is a "find your own adventure" island. Literally, you need to figure out how/when you're going to eat every meal. You have to call ahead to make sure the restaurants have food! All part of the charm in our opinion. Cat is what the Bahamas used to be....very easy going, mellow....its the Bahamas I saw in my parents photo's back in the late 70's and mid 80's. Its what most of us yearn for, but are scared to take the plunge into a hotel that doesn't have room service or TV's. Give Cat a shot....it will surprise you.

Ok, here is our breakdown. Mind you, not one hotel on the Island has more than 10-12 rooms. That should tell you something!

1.) Pigeon Cay Beach Club - The best in our opinion, which is why we're putting this on their TA page. You get a beach cottage, 10 feet from one of the best beaches on the Island. Each cottage is well outfitted and the interiors are nice. This place makes you feel like its your own little house on the beach. Honor Bar and restaurant where dinner is served 2-3 times a week. The owners, Ned and Leslie and their cute 10 year old twin boys run/own the hotel. They were ski bums from Telluride, where Ned and Leslie ran a number of ski shops. Ned is an eccentric character, but you gotta love him. Make sure to ask for a music CD or two...his taste is impeccable. A few other things to note, they have two cars that you can borrow anytime, for $10 hour....you just to schedule with Ned or Leslie. This is awesome btw....and you just settle up at the end. This place is big on trust when it comes to the bill. A few pieces of advice: bring bug spray....they aren't bad except October timeframe, but they are there. Also, go to the store the first day and stock up on food. Like we mentioned before, eating is a challenge that needs to be scheduled or planned ahead on this Island. For the most part, you're cooking your own BK and lunch.....and most times dinner. But definitely, hit up a few of the Restaurants...The Smoke Pot was our favorite. In conclusion, this place is loaded with character and gives you what you want. Cottage ON the beach, waking up to the sound of the waves and a great host.

2.) Ferndandez Bay - Good resort....much nicer lobby than Pigeon...well it actually has a lobby! Indoor/outdoor restaurant, which Pigeon does not have. Beach is pretty much on par with Pigeon. This is nice place, but the rooms are not great. Small little stacked rooms further away from the beach...but the 2nd closest to the beach from the hotels we visited. The bar is also an honor bar and the restaurant can be counted on for consistent meals (unlike Pigeon). This is good 2nd option on Cat.....and the only reason its second and not first, is the rooms are small and are not as well decorated as Pigeon. Other than that, its a solid choice for Cat.

3.) Shannas Cove: Ok...this place is a long ways from anything. Drive 30 minutes on a dirt road to the top of the Island, where there is very little outside of the Hotel. Once you're there, you definitely feel the isolation. This is the newest hotel on the Island. Rooms are single room boxes set up on the side of a mountain overlooking the beach. The rooms are very nice....but do not come with a kitchen, meaning you have to eat the hotel restaurant for everything. Gets old after a while. Also, you're a good 100 yards from the beach and another 100 yards to the water. That said, the beach is the best for snorkeling off the beach and they have an excellent diving operation. The owners are very nice and run a tight ship. We put this third mostly because of the location, and rooms w/o kitchen and being so far from the beach. Fernandez and Pigeon are both 10-20 feet from the beach....Shannas is 100 yards. Meaning you can't hear the ocean from your room.

4.) Greenwood - Great if you're really into diving and that is why you're there. Other than, bad beach, isolated. Bad beach because its the only hotel on the Atlantic side....beach was filled with debris and trash coming off the Atlantic. But the diving operation is first rate and there are a number of deep water dives that are close by. Unless you're a diver, not recommended.

5.) Sammy T's - Ok...we just stopped in on this place. It does have some cool charm and the beach is really nice. Rooms are small, but nice. Big problem in our opinion is the rooms are a good 100 yards from the beach and behind a bluff....meaning no ocean breezes keeping the bugs at bay and no views of the ocean from your room. Restaurant is like most others....never know if its serving or not. Great pool table though.

6.) Hawks Nest: Wow...middle of nowhere, has a pool, which just seems weird on this Island and beach is just OK. It does have a big screen TV in the lobby, which again just feels weird for this Island. The rooms have zero character and are nowhere near the beach. The Restaurant was OK...but the whole place is trying to be something its not. Only reason to stay here is you have the only big Marina on the Island down the street. Lots of fishing tournaments here. I think this is why this hotel even exists.

Room Tip: The place has 3 one bedroom cottages, one 2 bedroom and one 3 bedroom. All are great...honestly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank klodge76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
24.9 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
74 reviews
16.8 mi away
Fernandez Bay Village
Fernandez Bay Village
#1 of 10 in Cat Island
305 reviews
11 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0 mi away
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
Oceanfrontier Hideaway
#2 of 5 in Great Guana Cay
14 reviews
29.9 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Cay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Cay Beach Club

Address: Pigeon Cay | General Delivery to Arthurs Town, Cat Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range: $183 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pigeon Cay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pigeon Cay Beach Club consists of 8 cottages on a 3 mile white sand beach. We are located in the Northern part of Cat Island, 7 miles South from Arthur's Town Airport (ATC) 20 miles North of New Bight Airport TBI). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Pigeon Cay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Hotel Cat Island
Pigeon Cay Beach Club Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing