We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$272
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$225
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orange Creek Inn(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
$115
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greenwood Beach Resort(Cat Island)(Great Value!)
$154
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas(Long Island)
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cookie House(Cat Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Boogie Pond Lodge(Orange Creek)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
159
18
1
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
159
18
1
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottageshonor barda smoke potsound of the wavesother guestsgreat hostsget awayenjoy the beautydusk and dawnsnorkel spotnew arrivalsanswer questionspaddle boardsisland experiencerecommend dapeace and quietbaby oil
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 182 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

My wife and I spent Christmas for the first time in the Bahamas at Pigeon Cay Beach Club. This was my second stay at Pigeon Cay on Cat Island. The first time was in 2002 and the beach at Pigeon Cay is still one of the most beautiful, remote white sandy beaches in the Bahamas. We bicycled to the North side of Cat Island, which is more rugged and remote. The trail leading to the North side is approx. 1.5 miles from Pigeon Cay and you will come across some old Plantation wells. Pigeon Cay is the place to stay in Cat Island. Pigeon Cay looked very festive for Christmas. Ned and Leslie make you feel welcome and are awesome hosts and cooks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AirlinkWaterville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

If you're like we were, it was impossible to tell which hotel to book on Cat. They all looked similar, and seemed like all of them had pretty good reviews. Well, here is our review of most of the hotels on Cat (we stopped into each and had either lunch, hung on the beach or drank from all the honor bars of each). Below is our ranking from the best to the worst. When I say worst though...by no means are they bad, all the hotels were nice, but none were fancy by any stretch of the imagination. You come to Cat, because you want to get away from the huge hotels of Nassau, the over priced hotels of Harbor Island and the mass tourists of Eleuthera or the Abaco's. Cat is a "find your own adventure" island. Literally, you need to figure out how/when you're going to eat every meal. You have to call ahead to make sure the restaurants have food! All part of the charm in our opinion. Cat is what the Bahamas used to be....very easy going, mellow....its the Bahamas I saw in my parents photo's back in the late 70's and mid 80's. Its what most of us yearn for, but are scared to take the plunge into a hotel that doesn't have room service or TV's. Give Cat a shot....it will surprise you.

Ok, here is our breakdown. Mind you, not one hotel on the Island has more than 10-12 rooms. That should tell you something!

1.) Pigeon Cay Beach Club - The best in our opinion, which is why we're putting this on their TA page. You get a beach cottage, 10 feet from one of the best beaches on the Island. Each cottage is well outfitted and the interiors are nice. This place makes you feel like its your own little house on the beach. Honor Bar and restaurant where dinner is served 2-3 times a week. The owners, Ned and Leslie and their cute 10 year old twin boys run/own the hotel. They were ski bums from Telluride, where Ned and Leslie ran a number of ski shops. Ned is an eccentric character, but you gotta love him. Make sure to ask for a music CD or two...his taste is impeccable. A few other things to note, they have two cars that you can borrow anytime, for $10 hour....you just to schedule with Ned or Leslie. This is awesome btw....and you just settle up at the end. This place is big on trust when it comes to the bill. A few pieces of advice: bring bug spray....they aren't bad except October timeframe, but they are there. Also, go to the store the first day and stock up on food. Like we mentioned before, eating is a challenge that needs to be scheduled or planned ahead on this Island. For the most part, you're cooking your own BK and lunch.....and most times dinner. But definitely, hit up a few of the Restaurants...The Smoke Pot was our favorite. In conclusion, this place is loaded with character and gives you what you want. Cottage ON the beach, waking up to the sound of the waves and a great host.

2.) Ferndandez Bay - Good resort....much nicer lobby than Pigeon...well it actually has a lobby! Indoor/outdoor restaurant, which Pigeon does not have. Beach is pretty much on par with Pigeon. This is nice place, but the rooms are not great. Small little stacked rooms further away from the beach...but the 2nd closest to the beach from the hotels we visited. The bar is also an honor bar and the restaurant can be counted on for consistent meals (unlike Pigeon). This is good 2nd option on Cat.....and the only reason its second and not first, is the rooms are small and are not as well decorated as Pigeon. Other than that, its a solid choice for Cat.

3.) Shannas Cove: Ok...this place is a long ways from anything. Drive 30 minutes on a dirt road to the top of the Island, where there is very little outside of the Hotel. Once you're there, you definitely feel the isolation. This is the newest hotel on the Island. Rooms are single room boxes set up on the side of a mountain overlooking the beach. The rooms are very nice....but do not come with a kitchen, meaning you have to eat the hotel restaurant for everything. Gets old after a while. Also, you're a good 100 yards from the beach and another 100 yards to the water. That said, the beach is the best for snorkeling off the beach and they have an excellent diving operation. The owners are very nice and run a tight ship. We put this third mostly because of the location, and rooms w/o kitchen and being so far from the beach. Fernandez and Pigeon are both 10-20 feet from the beach....Shannas is 100 yards. Meaning you can't hear the ocean from your room.

4.) Greenwood - Great if you're really into diving and that is why you're there. Other than, bad beach, isolated. Bad beach because its the only hotel on the Atlantic side....beach was filled with debris and trash coming off the Atlantic. But the diving operation is first rate and there are a number of deep water dives that are close by. Unless you're a diver, not recommended.

5.) Sammy T's - Ok...we just stopped in on this place. It does have some cool charm and the beach is really nice. Rooms are small, but nice. Big problem in our opinion is the rooms are a good 100 yards from the beach and behind a bluff....meaning no ocean breezes keeping the bugs at bay and no views of the ocean from your room. Restaurant is like most others....never know if its serving or not. Great pool table though.

6.) Hawks Nest: Wow...middle of nowhere, has a pool, which just seems weird on this Island and beach is just OK. It does have a big screen TV in the lobby, which again just feels weird for this Island. The rooms have zero character and are nowhere near the beach. The Restaurant was OK...but the whole place is trying to be something its not. Only reason to stay here is you have the only big Marina on the Island down the street. Lots of fishing tournaments here. I think this is why this hotel even exists.

Room Tip: The place has 3 one bedroom cottages, one 2 bedroom and one 3 bedroom. All are great...honestly.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank klodge76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We just got back from Pigeon Cay beach club on Cat Island ,this was by far the best vacation I have been on .Can not say enough about the place and Leslie and Ned ,wonderful people, could not have done more to help and make our stay the best. I have never bothered to write a review before but wanted to let everyone know that if you want a great relaxing vacation you have to book. Beach terrific clean , blue water ,white sand GO! GO! Just book it.

Room Tip: Any they are all terrific
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We recently traveled to Cat Island for the first time ever. After staying at Atlantis for a few days of craziness and fun we definitely needed a change of plae. Pigeon Cay Beach Club hit the mark right on. I loved that we had our own bungalow. It's not a typical hotel with rooms right next to each other, you actually have your own private house with a kitchen, bedroom, living room, bathroom and front porch literally overlooking the crystal clear turquoise waters.

The beauty of the island was really at our front doorstep. They have this awesome long white sand beach that is in front of the property. We walked for about an hour in one direction and didn't see another person. The hotel also has kayaks that you can take out and other beach items for you to use. We recreated the Corona commercial scene. Ya, that's the one, with just the beach chairs, the Coronas and the blue waters.

The staff was great there. Anything we needed they were there for us. The thing I liked the most is after a day at the beach they have this thatched roof bar where all of the hotel guests meet up for drinks and food. We met people from around the world and had an amazing time all night. We did hit a rain storm one night and somehow even that was fun. Everyone was at the bar with the rain pouring down on the patio as we sipped cocktails. It's the Bahamas so the temperature is great day and night.

We tried our hand at golf in front of the property. It was either the wind or the drinks but sticking to snorkeling was more my thing. The hotel is not far from the grocery store and even a local restaurant serving conch. (Better than you'd think).

We really only have positive things to say about our experience and we would defintely do it all over again. I can't wait until we get to come back again.

Room Tip: Each "room" is it's own bungalow. If you're closest to the entrance, you're closer to the bar, food, parking and beach equipment.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sdkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I have been to Pigeon Cay a few times. We haven't written a review because when you find a place as beautiful as this, preservation comes  to mind. You know the song.....kiss it goodbye. Well, it isn't fair to the gracious hosts of the Pigeon Cay, Ned and Leslie, who have built a lovely club in a lovely spot.

The accommodations here are cottages perched on a promenade above the beach, lined with casurina trees that love to whisper in the gentle breezes. The beach is a stone's throw away from your bed, with a weak arm, and what a pink beach it is. It’s miles long and you most likely will be the only one there, and maybe who ever you came with. The sparkling Caribbean is a welcoming sight and it is great stretch for swimming, as you can wade out to wherever your comfort level is and off you go.
Each cottage is quite private and unique. They are a mix of art and architecture with island touches throughout. All have decks with views, divine for coffee, cocktails, or viewing stars.

You can order meals in your room or eat out at the beach bar. The cuisine depends on the mood of the chef, and luckily it's always excellent, with interesting Island secrets included. Seafood choices depend on who is catching what, this includes, but is not limited to, land crab, sea crab, various types of snapper: hog, mutton, red, and the tasty grouper. Conch and lobster are available too. On occasion there will be an extravaganza meal off the wing of the beach bar, known as “the barn”, where whichever guests have the option to join or not. The food is served piping hot, the conversation lively, and often ends with a beach fire.

Snorkeling from Pigeon Cay is a walk down the beach or a bike ride away. Good reefs off the graveyard, alligator point and we spotted some sea turtles and parrot fish off the Pigeon Head just down the beach from the club.

Scuba diving is available at a resort north of Orange Creek, Frank is your host. There is beach diving or you can take a 3 mile boat ride out for a wall dive starting at 90'. They have all the gear you need. The highlight was a 5' barracuda, and of course it's always a thrill to work the edge of the wall.

The entertainment at Pigeon Cay is that of the natural sort, it's quiet and peaceful, the setting is that of a private island. It’s a great place for exploring on your own. It’s better than any nature film. You're the star.

Enjoy your castaway experience!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gundar F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews