We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawk's Nest Resort and Marina
Nearby Hotels
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cape Santa Maria Beach Resort & Villas(Long Island)
$255
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Orange Creek Inn(Cat Island)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
21
11
3
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
11
3
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate airstripcatch of the dayhonor barfishother guestsjrrunwaysharksboatdestinationbikesjerryclubhousebeacheshostsislandshells
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 37 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Love this place, been going there for years but it definately needs some new life. Menu has not changed in years, staff is not particularly welcoming (even to repeat guests).
Fairly expensive for what you get, a pretty basic room, with little in the way of amenities.
Price is way more than $100- 150.
Cape Santa Maria on Long Island is way better property.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Piperkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Had friends trying to make reservations for a fishing trip. Since we were on Cat Island we decided to drive to Hawk's Nest to see if perhaps we could make arrangements in person. No one called us back after several phone calls
The lady at the reservation desk was rude and the exact opposite of helpful. She stated that she couldn't guarantee anything unless they stayed at the resort. No one told our friends that over the phone.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ljsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

We have vacationed at Hawks Nest seven times now and each time gets better than the time before. It trully has to be the most peaceful island that I have ever been to.If you want to get away from it all this is the place to come to.My children look forward to Cat Island every year. We have been many places but the island is captivating.We eat every meal together,unlike at home because of everyones busy schedules.We snorkel,explore,swim and bike,some dive with Randy,my daughter and I get a massage from Sheila under the hut overlooking the beautiful water.Their is lots to do if you want to ,or you dont have to do anything but enjoy the sun and beach.Randy, JR,and baby Jes-sea are wonderful host,and the staff become like family.We love Anton, Beverly,Karen,Alberta,Alverna ,KiKi,Werner and his wife and everyone who makes our stay wonderful.It is one week out of 52 that we see each other everyday and enjoy seeing each other and doing things together as a family.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hope W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

The location is very remote and beautiful. The fishing was great and the chef was kind enough to cook the Mahi-Mahi we caught that day. The rooms are pretty clean but there was a big ant problem in the bathroom. Our only real complaint was the service of the hotel staff. I worked in the hotel industry for quite some time and know that it is the warm hospitality that keep customers coming back. We enjoyed out trip but will never return because of the staff / service. We felt as though we were a bother to the servers. There was not a freindly "hello" when you walked in the common areas. I ordered the same breakfast three days in a row and the order was wrong each time. We enjoy small remote hotels such as this but will never return because of the poor service. I suggest you look into a hotel called Kamalame Cay. It is a private island off of Andros. Same idea (15 rooms, a great house where your meal are served- extrremely private and remote) but MUCH better service, better rooms & food.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Janer321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2008

We went to Hawks Nest for the week of Christmas 2007 with our two small kids and extended family. We had a fabulous time. The resort is perfect for all sorts. Couples, families, and kids. The hosts JR and Randy, are so helpful and nice. The resort is in an awesome location. You get the best of both worlds with a beach, marina, creek and if you fly your own plane an airstrip. They have bikes, kayaks and snorkling equipment you can use at your will to go explore the surrounding island on land or sea. We had been one time before in 2004 and it keeps getting better. We had folks that ranged from 5 years old to 60 years old and everyone was very content and entertained. We can't wait to back. The staff treats you like family and the other guests are usually very friendly. I highly recommend it if you like to hang out and relax or play outside in the sun!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bahamachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews