We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Paradise with my husband” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fernandez Bay Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fernandez Bay Village
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Paradise with my husband”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have been going to FBV for many years and absolutely love it. I almost don't want to mention this special jewel to anyone because if it becomes to discovered, we will have to find another place! The resort is "rustic elegant." The rooms are super clean and very comfortable. The staff is "family," truly. They open their arms and make you feel welcome. The food is plentiful, varied and well presented. We never leave the property except to see our favorite local landsites. No need to go out for meals anywhere else. The tiki bar is so much fun and we really love FBV for the like-minded, well-traveled people we meet. I really love it here. When you land at the airport, it is a 2 minute ride to the resort. LOVE IT!

Room Tip: Royal Palm is our favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyb261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    33
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
67
128
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

This is, by far, the best of the Bahamas-- not luxury resorts stealing the show, but an enhancement of the natural beauty and rhythm and friendliness that is unique to the Bahamas. There were other guests at the Bay, but Jason, Tameron, Tony, and Pam made us feel like we were the only people on the island. Honor system at the bar, all-you-can-eat buffets, and endless snorkeling, kayaking, paddleboarding, and sunbathing. If we get a chance to go back to the Bahamas, we will go back to Fernandez Bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was our second trip to Cat Island and Fernandez Bay Village. I just booked for our third visit. I can't imagine vacationing anywhere else now that we've found this place. FBV and the people of Cat Island treat us like family. The resort is beautiful, the people that work there are amazing, and it's easier to get to than you might think. All you need to do is relax and let them take care of you!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCMTNGRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west creek,nj
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We came here for our honeymoon, most perfect place. I am at a loss for words for how great this place is. Beautiful beach, the best food you'll ever eat! and the friendliest of people. I can't wait to go back!
If you have a free day rent a car and go explore the island,its a lot of fun just to drive around and see everything. Make sure you get over to the hermitage it is a really beautiful site. After that we went to shannas cove for pizza at the north end, and the we just drove around. The locals are nice, make sure you wave to everybody.
FBV was the best thing going, you could just sit back relax, go snorkeling, climb to the jumping rocks,kayak, they really have a lot to offer. If your looking for something to do go ask the front desk they have plenty of ideas to peak your interest.
Thank you FBV you guys were the best and so welcoming! We didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Shane's Shack <3 wake up and the first thing you see is the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We've been to Cat several times as it has some of the best beaches in the world (no exaggeration) and we've stayed at various locations.
FBV is just minutes away from New Bight airport and FBV will pick you up so it's very convenient.
There's a reason why generations of families keep coming back to FBV.
If you want to stay on Fernandez Bay this is the place to do so. Don't be fooled by other hotels on the same beach. FBV is CLEAN -- clean sheets, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, clean Tiki bar -- everything is very well maintained and beautiful. If you book here, you will not be disappointed! Rest assured that you get exactly what you see on the photos - no bad surprises - it's wonderful!! Love the outdoor showers!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

FBV is one of the most friendly, relaxing and beautiful places we have experience (and we travel a lot!)

We have already booked for next year and we are so looking forward to be back and maybe organize a special event in the future!

Thank you again for making our vacation special!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Quintessential Bahamas! We have visited several locations in the out islands in the Bahamas, this is the best! Will definitely go back! The setting is just spectacular, secluded bay, gorgeous water, great beach! If you are looking for luxury accommodations, all inclusive resort, fine dining restaurants, this may not be the place for you. But if you are looking for a completely authentic relaxing experience this is the place for you! We stayed in the Sandollar Villa, perfect for a family. Nice living area, separate master bedroom, and sleeping loft upstairs for kids. Open air showers/bathroom, so charming! Comfortable beds! Awesome outdoor patio right on the ocean! Food was great, breakfast is served buffet style, lunch is a la carte, and dinner is also served buffet style, but we were very happy with all of our meals, the lobster was superb!. The bar is outdoors and is an honor bar where you serve yourself, we loved it! The staff are all excellent, very attentive, and treat everyone like family. The resort is family owned and operated for many years and it shows! You must go on a fishing or snorkeling excursion, and try the paddleboarding! I would recommend bringing your own snorkel gear. Just can't say enough great things about this resort, our kids ask us weekly when we are going back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cat Island hotels
8.0 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 11 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
17.2 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#4 of 11 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
8.1 mi away
Tail Winds Resort
Tail Winds Resort
#5 of 11 in Cat Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#9 of 11 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
27.6 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 11 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
15.2 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#6 of 11 in Cat Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernandez Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandez Bay Village

Property: Fernandez Bay Village
Address: Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Cat Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandez Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Fernandez Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandez Bay Village Hotel Cat Island
Fernandez Bay Village Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing