We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay on Fernandez Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fernandez Bay Village
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We've been to Cat several times as it has some of the best beaches in the world (no exaggeration) and we've stayed at various locations.
FBV is just minutes away from New Bight airport and FBV will pick you up so it's very convenient.
There's a reason why generations of families keep coming back to FBV.
If you want to stay on Fernandez Bay this is the place to do so. Don't be fooled by other hotels on the same beach. FBV is CLEAN -- clean sheets, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, clean Tiki bar -- everything is very well maintained and beautiful. If you book here, you will not be disappointed! Rest assured that you get exactly what you see on the photos - no bad surprises - it's wonderful!! Love the outdoor showers!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Fairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Fernandez Bay Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 300 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

FBV is one of the most friendly, relaxing and beautiful places we have experience (and we travel a lot!)

We have already booked for next year and we are so looking forward to be back and maybe organize a special event in the future!

Thank you again for making our vacation special!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Quintessential Bahamas! We have visited several locations in the out islands in the Bahamas, this is the best! Will definitely go back! The setting is just spectacular, secluded bay, gorgeous water, great beach! If you are looking for luxury accommodations, all inclusive resort, fine dining restaurants, this may not be the place for you. But if you are looking for a completely authentic relaxing experience this is the place for you! We stayed in the Sandollar Villa, perfect for a family. Nice living area, separate master bedroom, and sleeping loft upstairs for kids. Open air showers/bathroom, so charming! Comfortable beds! Awesome outdoor patio right on the ocean! Food was great, breakfast is served buffet style, lunch is a la carte, and dinner is also served buffet style, but we were very happy with all of our meals, the lobster was superb!. The bar is outdoors and is an honor bar where you serve yourself, we loved it! The staff are all excellent, very attentive, and treat everyone like family. The resort is family owned and operated for many years and it shows! You must go on a fishing or snorkeling excursion, and try the paddleboarding! I would recommend bringing your own snorkel gear. Just can't say enough great things about this resort, our kids ask us weekly when we are going back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

FBV is with out a doubt the best, most relaxing venue in the Bahamas. Family owned and operated for years, FBV just keeps on getting better and better. Oh yes, the food, the service in support of the restsurant and cottages is supreme. Lobster night is beyond description! You must meet Donna.....

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
5  Thank Shitzky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

The suites are picturesque and the setting is perfect. The staff could not be nicer or more attentive. Everyone in our party loved the self service bar. This was our second year in a row at FBV, we will be back!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank StratoJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The location is wonderful. The people are nice. The rooms are overpriced. The food is overpriced. The snorkeling equipment,; I would bring my own. They need a bartender for the bar. They need some good vegetarian options. As far as I am concerned it was not a good value for the money.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank PJG56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tameron13, Owner at Fernandez Bay Village, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed the beach and staff at FBV. Our time honored self-help tiki-bar is a favorite among new and returning guest. While it's not a common request we do our best to accommodate all dietary restrictions - food shopping in the out islands can have it's challenges. It is best to bring your own snorkeling gear. Thank you for visiting we do appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our second trip to FBV. Decided to stay a bit further down the beach for more privacy. The cottage is small, but we were never in it, so it really wasn't relevant.

The best thing about FBV is the privacy. They were fully booked, but we rarely ran into anyone except at the clubhouse around meals. It's busiest at dinner which begins at a set time and everyone is clearly ravenous, but breakfast and certainly lunch, are a bit more casual. I never felt overcrowded....even when it was "crowded".

Beaches are great. The main beach in front of FBV is shared by the Island HopINN, but again, you never really run into anyone. If seeing 1-2 people in a mile stretch is too much for you, kayaking over to the beaches by the creek will pretty much guarantee you 100% privacy or you can cycle (or drive) to the Altantic side beaches. Which are well worth it to be honest. I've not seen blue that color in my lifetime.

A bit of a side note, cycling to the town of Knowles (~3 miles north of FBV) is nice as there is a stretch of rocky beach on the Exuma Sound side that is just lovely. There are picnic tables in Knowles across from the market. Well worth a stop.

The hosts are lovely--Jason is a welcome addition to their team. Heavenly place. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: cottages/villas away from the clubhouse are more private (coral, conch cottages and the villas)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KeltyLilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cat Island
16.8 mi away
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
Pigeon Cay Beach Club
#5 of 10 in Cat Island
164 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
Rollezz Villas Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Cat Island
72 reviews
27.6 mi away
Orange Creek Inn
Orange Creek Inn
#7 of 10 in Cat Island
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
The Ocean Dream Beach Resort
#8 of 10 in Cat Island
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
13.4 mi away
Greenwood Beach Resort
Greenwood Beach Resort
#4 of 10 in Cat Island
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernandez Bay Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernandez Bay Village

Address: Fernandez Bay | New Bight, Cat Island
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Cat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cat Island
Price Range: $888 - $1,541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernandez Bay Village 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fernandez Bay Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernandez Bay Village Hotel Cat Island
Fernandez Bay Village Cat Island, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing