We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great Fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bimini Sands Resort and Marina
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bimini
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Bimini Sands is very well maintained and a quiet place with a great marina and great service. The staff is very helpful and there is a lot to do within a very short distance by golf cart. The Beach Club restaurant is an excellent choice for a wide variety of local specialities. We have made the trip to Bimini at least a dozen times and stayed at several different places but we keep coming back to the best option for us which is the condos at Bimini Sands. The rate is about the equivalent of two hotel rooms on North Bimini but the quality and room size along with the sense of peace and security make this an excellent choice. We caught over 30 snappers deep dropping and we will eat well remembering our Bahamas vacation for the next few weeks.

Room Tip: Rooms on the North side are closer to the office and the restauarant. Ask about different bedding op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 221 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

What an awesome place fishing off the charts small island friendly people like going back a 100 years there is nothing but fun and good times the conch is awesome . Fishing / snorkeling / diving / is a great time to be had

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We spent a week at Bimini Sands - went there for diving with Neal Watson. Bimini Sands are a series of condos surrounding a beautiful deep water marina. The diving with Neal was outrageous - never saw so many Sharks, Turtles, Morays and Tropicals on EVERY dive. Neal is great - low key, knowledgeable and runs a terrific dive operation, in my opinion.

Bimini Sands is beautiful - still under construction. The Infinity pool is now open and is big and beautiful. Problems with Bimini Sands and the south island are there is nowhere to buy groceries unless to you go to Cat Cay. The restauarant on the grounds is good and reasonably priced, but closes at 3pm weekdays. Also, you need a golf cart to get around, so plan on spending an additional $80/day to rent the cart (they don't tell you that in the literature).

Room/condo was nice, reasonably well equipped, and we slept 5 comfortably. All in all a great dive trip.

Room Tip: You might want to consider getting a condo near to the office - closer to the restaurant and easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaartyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I wanted a quick, easy dive getaway for my daughter, her boyfriend, and myself. We span all levels of experience with my 1000+, my daughter's solid 50+, and her BF's desire to "check it out" with a resort course. Beth Watson of Neal Watson's Undersea Adventure recommended a quick hop from Miami over to Bimini Sands and it turned out to be perfect for us. Originally we checked into flying over but ended up making the crossing with the Bimini SuperFast cruise ship our of Port of Miami. Not only was it a blast but it was almost half the price had we flown. The ship was very clean, the service incredibly attentive, and the ongoing buffet included. At the time of our trip, they had onboard immigration & customs which allowed us to get dropped off from the tender (no deep water wharf yet) at Government Dock. A quick pick-up by the water taxi over to South Bimini, a couple of minutes in the van, and we were at Bimini Sands. Our unit was a nicely furnished 2 bedroom with a loft on the marina (unit 7H) just a short walk to the Petite Conch Restaurant and the on property store. Even closer was the new infinity pool blending into the ocean where the kids spent lots of their time. A few minutes away by golf cart or courtesy bus is the Beach Club which offers fine dining at Bimini Twist (I was told the best on the island) and Mackey's Sand Bar for a cold Kalik and great bar fare. In my years of dive travel my daughter and I have used Neal Watson's Undersea Adventure before and this trip was a pleasure. From the very thorough resort course given to the BF to the 40 foot dive boat picking us up right behind our unit the personal service was what we have come to expect from them. Although the best diving around Bimini is known to be towards the south, Neal Jr. was more than happy to make the cruise to the north end when the kids wanted to snorkel with the dolphins. Other highlights included snorkeling with the stingrays, Lionfish tacos, and enjoying the peace of South Bimini. When we went to the hustle/bustle of Bimini Bay on the north end to catch the tender for our cruise back home we knew that we had made the right choice with Bimini Sands. We will be back.

Room Tip: Photo gallery helped us choose a unit that suited us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karl E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Been going to Bimini for a number of years - large number - this is the first time I stayed on South Bimini, the place is great. The units are roomy and well equipped - the staff is helpful and the food is excellent, I actually had really good Sushi in the Bahamas. Equipped kitchens are pretty handy but breakfast is available on-site and open in time for you to eat before you head out to the ocean for the day's activities - box lunches are complete and worth taking along. The "ocean view" units are very nice and it really isn't hard to look at the marina on the other side - it is kept clean and the boats are fun to watch. The pools are well kept and easily accessable. Security is NOT an issue - there are attended gates and a guard at night. Sandy beaches are kept clean and easy to get to via the little paths. All - in - all, well worth the trip.

Room Tip: 21A awesome, facing East the balcony is in the evening shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppa_dive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Rented 2 units (each had one bedroom with a loft sleeping area) with adjoining door, overlooking the marina. Very nice accommodations. Very clean and comfortable. Comfortable for 12 people (6 adults and 6 children). Great for children. Very nice amenities - marina docks, pools, beaches, easy local places to snorkel (swam with the stingrays), and shuttle bus and ferry to North Bimini for easy access to the North Bimini Bakery (excellent baked goods!!!) and more restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We just returned from Bimini Sands Resort and Marina. We stayed in 21-c which was a beachfront one bedroom condo. Everything was nice, except the tv was not working. Each unit is individually owned and this owner took some portion of the cable equipment so we could not watch tv. For the price of the room, that was a disappointment.That said, it was a nice room.
The president and ceo was very helpful in getting a golf cart. I would recommend getting one to cat around the island on. It is not a must though, as the resort has a bus that will take you most anywhere.
At this time, there are only two restaurants on the island and both are part of the resort. The food was very good albeit expensive.
There is not much to do on South Bimini, most people go to fish. The beaches are pretty and the resort has two pools on site. Then there is a sister property a mile or so away that also has a pool.
We were scheduled for a sunset cruise but because of the wind, it was cancelled. The wind was really blowing the whole time we were there.

All and all, we enjoyed ourselves and would recommend it. That said, if you are going to Bimini for the casino that just opened, stay on the North island.

Room Tip: The website shows the inside of each unit. Just be sure to ask for a working tv if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bimini
3.2 mi away
Hilton At Resorts World Bimini
102.1 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
1.2 mi away
Bimini Big Game Club Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Resorts World Bimini
Resorts World Bimini
#4 of 6 in Bimini
477 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Bimini Sands Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bimini Sands Resort and Marina

Address: Alice Town, 33418, Bimini
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Bimini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Bimini
Price Range: $246 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bimini Sands Resort and Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the other side of Bimini! Bimini Sands Just 50 miles from Florida, Bimini Sands is a boater's paradise! Our deep water marina and beach front condos are perfect for a tropical getaway! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bimini Sands Resort And Marina Hotel Bimini
Bimini Sands Resort And Marina Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing