We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sapona wreck in Bimini” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sapona

Sapona
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Bimini
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Concrete ship originally built by Henry Ford during WWI, now an upright wreck in 14 feet of water.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Sapona wreck in Bimini”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great place for snorkelling and a very easy but fun dive.
I was there diving with a friend and we loved it. The boat is stuck on the sand and almost half of it outside the water but it is very nice to be able to enter inside.
Plenty of fish to see too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank amelopmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    11
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Unique experience, lots of fish, fun and thrilling but not dangerous. Great actvity for a variety of activity levels and ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeira Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Took a tour around the ship. Our guide was very knowledgeable and We found in very interesting. We did not snorkel as the waves were very rough. The divers loved it. To bad that it is now covered in graffito.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carol33708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“An interesting place to snorkel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Katie and Grant at Bimini Sands took us on a snorkeling trip, which included the wreck of the Sapona -- a rum runner's 'floating warehouse' during Prohibition. You can swim through it and around it -- very interesting and easy to get to.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

What a great snoreling trip!! We booked a trip throught the resort and had a great time with snorkeling and SCUBA.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapona also viewed

 
Bimini, Out Islands
Bimini, Out Islands
 

Been to Sapona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing