We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect honeymoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tiamo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tiamo Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect honeymoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

When we were planning our honeymoon, we had a fairly strong sense of what we were looking for -- since, after all, this was a once-in-a-lifetime occasion. Our list included a pristine beach, luxurious amenities, sophisticated food, and complete privacy: no kids, no gimmicky restaurants, no touristy bars. Tiamo, a hidden gem in the rather unlikely venue of the Bahamas, turned out to be the answer.

It was slightly complicated to get there (though probably no more so than getting to any other Caribbean island that's worth seeing). Flying to Nassau, which is a straight shot from New York, was easy enough -- but the resort itself is accessible only by taking a 15 minute puddle-jumper, which departs once a day. An easier, though more expensive option, is flying into Fort Lauderdale, and then booking an hour-long flight on a private airline; this way, you won't end up losing a day to travel.

And when you do arrive, it's all worth it. The natural beauty is breathtaking -- white sand, clear green water, a tangle of nature trails, and no commercial buildup anywhere (the resort is accessible only by boat). Many of our photos resembled screensavers, and the beach reminded us of some we've seen in Thailand (which, in our opinion, are some of the most beautiful in the world). The setting is perfectly complemented by the relaxed but ultra-sophisticated decor of the hotel: sky-blue cushions on elegant wooden beach beds, flowing white drapes, matte tiles, ceiling fans, and a shimmering, mother-of-pearl hanging sculpture above the communal bar. We also loved the food (included in the price of admission), which far surpassed any we've had in the Caribbean: an important feature at a resort where there are no other options for dining out. The chef prepared a series of inventive dishes that were varied, reflective of the local culture, and served in such reasonable portions that no matter how much we ate, we never felt stuffed. The meals, served beachside, were one of the highlights of our trip.

We also enjoyed the pace of daily life at Tiamo. While I lounged by the infinity pool or had a dreamy massage at the small, jewel-like spa, my husband enjoyed the sailing, fishing and snorkeling activities, often led by the hotel's genial owner (who is an accomplished deep sea fisherman in his own right). There's also a state-of-the-art fitness center with a view of the water (though I, sadly, did not partake). But what appealed to us most of all about this hotel was the scale: intimate, elegant, and a far cry from the monolithic corporate feel of many luxury beach resorts. Our cottage -- one of only ten, which comprised the total room count -- featured white wooden beams, a private beach, a screened-in porch, and an indoor/outdoor shower (though, unfortunately, no internet access). The whole effect was rather like being on our own private island, which is about as good as it gets on a honeymoon. So if you're looking to splurge on the perfect romantic beach holiday -- or simply want to retreat and recharge -- Tiamo is the place to go!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hb212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    26
    2
    7
    4
See reviews for
33
177
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Tiamo is a hidden gem within the Caribbean. My boyfriend and I cannot recommend this secluded resort highly enough.

Whether you are heading there for some of the finest bone fishing in the world or simply to relax and indulge, in what can only be described as a world class setting, Tiamo will not disappoint.

We were both looked after incredibly well by the most hospitable of staff, who helped to create a relaxed and friendly environment.

The delicious food, together with beautiful interior décor throughout, was all of the highest quality. Not to mention the exceptional view overlooking the most turquoise and calm of Caribbean seas when eating our breakfast each morning.

After a mere couple of days, I really started to unwind and feel completely away from the rest of the world - not a car, road or town in sight!

Tiamo, with everything it has to offer, really is the Caribbean at its best.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KatoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a week in the middle of February at Tiamo and had a truly amazing time! The resort is beautiful and so serene! I was even lucky enough to swim with a dolphin just a few feet from the dock! The fishing was wonderful and the chef made a delicious meal from the days catch for us. When we first arrived, the weather was not what it usually is in the Bahamas that time of year, but it turned out to be a blessing in disguise - we were able to spend a bit of time just peering out over the pool to the ocean (drink in hand) and chat with Bill (owner) or some of the workers - all of whom were extremely friendly. If you are looking for a place that is comfortable and relaxing, I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RickAndCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful romantic experience spending Valentine's day at Tiamo.
The rooms are beautiful and the beds were incredible!
Here is something I didn't know....The fishing is excellent in Andros. We had a great time, caught several tuna and a 50 pound WAHOO. What a fight!
Dove two blue holes right in front of Tiamo. Highly recommend it...

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BCSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

If you dream up a tropical paradise there are a few important criteria -- white sandy beach, palm trees, cottages on the shoreline, remote location. Tiamo had all these plus a really good chef who produced my sort of food (lots of fresh seafood)! My husband was happy bone fishing and I was happy lazing on the beach so it really worked for us as a couple. The staff were friendly and laid back and the bedrooms which were cottages laid out along the beach had the world's most comfortable beds. If you want the high life, nightclubs and shopping this is not the place to go. We loved it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherinewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

My husband and I recently visited Tiamo in early March and had the most wonderful stay. The island is simply beautiful and just as you would imagine a desert island to be with swaying tropical palms and white sand. I kicked my shoes off as the sea plane landed and didn’t put them back on until it came to pick us up.

It is so perfectly formed; you feel as if you are the only two there and the privacy and luxury cocoons you into a totally relaxed state. The food was sublime with fresh fish, salads and fusion cooking on the menu everyday. We have stayed in many luxury locations around the globe and Tiamo is up there amongst the best.

I love to snorkel and the swimming and snorkelling were superb with its clear crystal azure blue waters. My husband enjoyed some boating and of course fishing all in one of their beautiful new boats. I enjoyed the spa and had some excellent massages with their resident therapist.

The resort has been recently upgraded and has been beautifully designed with so much attention to detail. No corporate furniture and fabrics here. It is wonderfully styled and has the feeling of a large relaxed country house but with all the luxuries you need from Frette towels and linens to the latest NYT gold medal wining wine.

The staff were amazing with nothing too much trouble. This is rare in the Bahamas and quite unique to Tiamo - having stayed in different resorts there and in the Turks & Cacaos we know this!

We felt a wonderful sense of freedom on the island which is so safe and private. There can be few places in the world you can go where you can leave your door wide open and know the only thing that will have been disturbed is the ice cooler which is filled up daily and the mini bar replenished with your favorite tipple.

We will be back Tiamo.!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebury090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

we stayed on tiamo for just over a week this easter and had the most idyllic holiday, never in my life have i been looked after so well by staff at a hotel. Tiamo is incredibly secluded and a perfect place to go on holiday with a loved one, it provides something for everyone and the choice of activities each day are fantastic.
I have to say that the food was particularly spectacular and so well presented and again the choice on the menu was very good!
all in all i had a perfect holiday and would reccommend it to all my friends, im very much looking forward to going back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andros
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
36.6 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1050.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
40.5 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
48.7 mi away
Kamalame Cay
Kamalame Cay
#3 of 9 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiamo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiamo Resort

Property: Tiamo Resort
Address: Tiamo Beach | South Andros Islan, 33309, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiamo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No so long ago, the Bahamas were a destination for privateers, pirates and freebooters. The name Bahamas come from the Spanish expression, Baja Mar, which means low sea and if you have ever flown in a plane over Andros, where our lovely resort is located, you will understand why the name was given. Apart from the beautiful beaches, the ocean and the nature Bahamas still surprise each visitor, did you know that Alexander Selkirki, the real Robinson Crusoe, actually was in the Bahamas and survived on of our 700 islands till he was rescued 5 years later? Came On the island of South Andros Island, a small corner of paradise in the middle of the Caribbean, in the heart of lush tropical vegetation Imagine you are Robinson Crusoe...............a Luxury Adventure at Tiamo Resort Tiamo resort consists of ten exclusives houses. Staying at Tiamo means being close to the nature and adopting to the easy way of living in uncompromised exclusive house. . The hotel blends into the décor of white sand and turquoise crystal clear water and the desire to respect the environment and ecotourism is felt. These villas are built in a style Bahamian, they retain all the spirit of the Bahamas and environmentally friendly, you can even contemplate many animals who take refuge in the heart of the property. The villas are hidden in the Mangroves which stretches along our natural beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Tiamo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiamo Hotel Andros
Tiamo Resort Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing