We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Paradise!”
Review of Tiamo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tiamo Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Private Paradise!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My family and I just returned from a week stay at Tiamo Resort. I booked this through luxury link which I was a little nervous about as this was the first time I had done that, but everything from the booking to the vacation was seamless. We have traveled extensively esp in the Caribbean, vacationing at between 18-20 different islands, and Tiamo is the most beautiful resort we have visited. We stayed in the Exclusive Pool Villa for some extra privacy. Service was exceptional! Delta lost my luggage on the way down, and when we arrived Julian the manager took the baggage claim information contacted Delta and the bag was on the front porch of our villa before I woke up the next morning. He even opened the gift shop for me upon arrival so I could raid it to get me by. So a big thanks to him! We traveled with our son who is 13, and the staff was very accommodating to him, offering to make him any meal he wanted. Although it wasn't necessary because the food was amazing! They served lobster one night which made our son very happy as that is his favorite food. We were a little nervous since it was all inclusive. We typically don't frequent all inclusive resorts as we are all about luxury and good food, which you do not find at most all inclusives, but Tiamo was five stars all the way from food to service to accommodations. I read the reviews prior to going and packed sunscreen with bug spray so the bugs were not an issue. I know other reviews commented on the cost of alcoholic drinks, and I did not think price was out of line for a resort, not to mention the drinks were amazing. Their mixologists have to be well trained bc we always received a perfectly mixed drink. There were tons of marine activities although we did not take advantage of them it appeared many guests did, and there was always staff on the dock to assist you. We wanted a week break from work, school, sports schedules, etc to relax and spend time as a family and we certainly got to do that. A huge thanks to the entire staff for a great spring break! I hope someday they expand and add two bedroom villas for families.

Room Tip: For extra privacy book the exclusive pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tincup305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear tincup305..,
A huge Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to discover your feedback of your family vacations concerning the food and the customer service from our team, specialy our bartender. We would be happy to welcome you again in a future in our paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    28
    2
    7
    4
See reviews for
36
184
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I had to escape the brutal Minnesota winter and decided to try our hand at bone fishing. Our travel agent recommended Tiamo after we asked for a place with great fishing plus luxury.

The highlight of our trip was the hospitality of the Bahaman people, with special emphasis on the three terrific days we spent fishing with our fishing guide,Kiki. We are novices at fly fishing and bone fishing and he was a terrific and patient teacher, and a delightful host. I am not sure how the fishing experience could have been improved, unless of course, my wife and I could have magically improved our ability to cast into the wind. On the third day, I asked Kiki to change plans and take us snapper fishing. He quickly reacted, borrowed an extra spinning rod, and when he couldn't locate the bait that I requested, we went conch hunting, used the conch as bait, and caught some really nice snapper, the largest of which ended up on our dinner plates after Tiamo's incredible chef prepared it just the way we asked. More about the chef to follow. The rest of the Bahaman staff were also terrific.. Brianna and Carolyn were two of the friendliest wait persons we have encountered, Pinky could serve her martinis in the finest New York bars, and Audrey and Brenda served some terrific breakfasts. Our reaction to the chef and his cuisine is hard to put into words. We dine out often, not only here in the Twin Cities, but places like New York, Chicago, London, etc. Tiamo's chef could open a restaurant and be successful in any of those cities. Every course of every meal was terrific.

The comfort of the bungalows was exceptional and there were lots of activities for people who don't want to fish. While we did not visit the spa, there was one. The island can only be reached by boat so there were obviously no crowds and no noise and no anxiety regarding crime. All in all, Tiamo is an amazing and relaxing oasis.

The only negative? The sand fleas. Take the resort's advice and use their insect repellant before walking down the beach for dinner.

Room Tip: The basic choice is air conditioning versus cool breeze. Depending upon the weather, I would choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Jim B,
We are honoured that, for your stay, you have taken the time to leave your review of our hotel.
We are delighted to hear that you were satisfied with your stay, especially with our service quality, the team, location and fishing experience. Our team strives to provide the best service and we promise to maintain and continuously improve high standards level of the hotel.
We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Tiamo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We just returned from Tiamo for our honeymoon. We loved every minute of it! It was the most beautiful and relaxing place we have ever been. The Tiamo Team works enthusiastically to ensure that you enjoy your stay and feel right at home. This is a resort staff that truly understands the definition of customer service! We enjoyed snorkeling, fishing, sailing, swimming, looking for starfish and stingrays, and sunbathing. The food was excellent - some of the best meals we have ever had. At night, we could choose whether we wanted to mingle with the other guests (who were quite friendly!) or spend time with just each other. We did not go to the spa but we were so relaxed -- we didn't need to! We recommend Tiamo without hesitation - a great trip and we will return in the future!

Room Tip: We stayed in Cottage 6 and were quite happy. All of the cottages seemed similar and were just a shor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear HappyTrav..,
Thank you again for choosing Tiamo resort for your honeymoon destination. We’re very happy to hear that your journey was “worth it” and that you found the service incredible, food delicious and our activities great! We appreciate you sharing your experience here and we hope to welcome you back to our little paradise again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I spent a week at Tiamo for our ten year anniversary. We left three small children at home and we were SO excited to have some quiet relaxation. We stayed in one of the pool villas right on the beach- it was very clean, we loved the open air shower and private pool. There were several things to do off the beach like paddle boarding, canoeing, snorkeling. Or they have a scuba guide there if you are a diver. There were several people there for bonefishing too. I am more of a read by the pool kind of person when I am away from the kids so I liked that there were things to do, but nothing we had to do. The food was AMAZING. We looked forward to and loved every meal! The staff was very friendly. My only recommendation is to use the OFF spray and oil they provide because those sand flies and mosquitos will get you at night!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 10_year2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Hello and thanks so much for the lovely review! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here! We're so happy to hear that you loved your stay and particularly the food, activities and our Tiamo service provide by our team . Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back one day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just returned from Tiamo in South Andros. This is a special place where you can paddle board next to a sea turtle or giant stingray one minute and dine on the freshest and most beautifully presented Island food the next (while sipping a glass of chilled French rosé, no less.)

Tiamo is a small property with impeccable, personal and personable service. Co-managers Julian and Wilfred ensure that standards remain high, yet the staff have a warm and relaxed attitude that makes you feel like you are part of the family.

Rooms are comfortable. They come equipped with a small fridge, as well as a kettle and various stemware. The fridge is kept well-stocked with complementary beverages. There is a separate dressing area and a spacious open-air bathroom with shower.

Highlights of our trip included snorkeling at a nearby "blue hole". For those, like myself, who are unadventurous in open water, this is the perfect spot where under the watchful eye of water sports manager Lee, who also happens to be a marine biologist, guests can view hundreds of different species in one area. My husband went diving several times and loved the experience as well. The equipment is top-notch and kept in excellent condition. Guests can help themselves to paddle boards, sailboats, and sea kayaks anytime. There is always someone around to help set you up--or rescue you--if needed.

The big pluses, including the great staff (hosts Julian and Wilfred, Lee, Audrey, Caroline, Pinky, Debra...and Chef Keith) is the abundance of wildlife, the beautiful, natural setting, the chilled, unpretentious vibe, the great food and well-curated wine list, and the peace-and-quiet. (No booming soundtrack, definitely NO floorshow!) Also, I loved the gym which was small but impeccably maintained with a good range of equipment.

Some minuses include the vibrant insect life. If you go, absolutely bring insect repellent (the resort provides it free-of-charge as well), in addition to anti-itch, anti-inflammatory potions. Do bring long pants and long-sleeved tops for the evening unless you want to slather yourself in citronella oil. The bugs are worse early in the morning and in the evening so avoid over-exposing yourself at those times if you're susceptible to bites. Pretty much everyone was covered in red spots during my stay so the bugs are pretty democratic in their tastes.

Another possible negative for some is the area is a hotspot for bone-fishing. This means the resort attracts a portion of guests who are nuts about fishing and it will be hard not to overhear endless tales about "the one who got away" at the bar. In addition, Lee's services are in great demand. If you want to book an excursion with him, best do so earlier than later before a large fishing party steals him away.

This is definitely not the place for singles or kids. Guests tend to be in their 30s and up. Some, like the group of Europeans who flew over on their own jet, are obviously moneyed, while others are of more modest means. Yet, everyone is treated similarly. This is not the place for poseurs.

Also, if you can spring for it, choose one of the air-conditioned rooms to deal with humidity. If your clothes refuse to dry, ask one of the maids to put them in the dryer and return them the same day, if required.

All-in-all, a great vacation experience and the true definition of Bahamian hospitality. For discerning, low-key travelers Tiamo is the ticket. (It's the anti-Harbour Island.)

Room Tip: Cottage # 10 (at the end) has amazing sunsets and a larger private pool and deck area but it is a fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whitesapphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear whitesapp,
Hello and thank you for sharing your experience. We’re thrilled you enjoyed your time in Tiamo resort and that you particularly enjoyed the activities, our “top notch” food, and the personalized service. Thanks again - and we certainly hope to welcome you back again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Tiamo was an amazing, relaxing experience. The private cottages make you feel like you live on a dessert island and the friendly staff make you feel like a local. We don't bonefish, so we spent our time relaxing, reading and snorkeling. We highly recommend this luxurious and intimate resort.

Room Tip: We went for the Island Breeze room, which does not have a personal pool. We wouldn't have needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Caty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, General manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Caty T,
Hello and thank you for the lovely review and thank you for choosing Tiamo resort. We’re very happy to hear and read your comments and that you really enjoyed your vacations. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

There are no words to adequately describe Tiamo Resort! It was the most beautiful, relaxing, and accommodating place that I have ever visited. The staff were absolutely wonderful. Each one greets you and makes you feel like you are part of a family. Since there are only 10 villas and the Eagle's Nest (a 3-bedroom house in which we had the opportunity to stay) with no kids allowed, it is very quiet and relaxing. However, there are water sports available if you wish to take advantage of those. The food was fabulous! We highly recommend this luxury resort for a quiet, relaxing, incredibly beautiful vacation! We were only able to stay for 3 days this time, but look forward to going back....in fact, we never wanted to leave. :o)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent W, Manager at Tiamo Resort, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear LayneB,

Hello and thank you for the awesome review, even more important thank you for choosing to stay for your holidays with us! We’re happy you were delighted with your villa, the food, and also our Tiamo Team. Welcome to the Tiamo family, and thank you so much again- we hope to welcome you back one day soon more longuer!
Best Sunny Regards from the secret Island in the heart of the Bahamas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andros
5.7 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#8 of 13 in Eleuthera
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.5 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiamo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiamo Resort

Property: Tiamo Resort
Address: Tiamo Beach | South Andros Islan, 33309, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiamo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No so long ago, the Bahamas were a destination for privateers, pirates and freebooters. The name Bahamas come from the Spanish expression, Baja Mar, which means low sea and if you have ever flown in a plane over Andros, where our lovely resort is located, you will understand why the name was given. Apart from the beautiful beaches, the ocean and the nature Bahamas still surprise each visitor, did you know that Alexander Selkirki, the real Robinson Crusoe, actually was in the Bahamas and survived on of our 700 islands till he was rescued 5 years later? Came On the island of South Andros Island, a small corner of paradise in the middle of the Caribbean, in the heart of lush tropical vegetation Imagine you are Robinson Crusoe...............a Luxury Adventure at Tiamo Resort Tiamo resort consists of ten exclusives houses. Staying at Tiamo means being close to the nature and adopting to the easy way of living in uncompromised exclusive house. . The hotel blends into the décor of white sand and turquoise crystal clear water and the desire to respect the environment and ecotourism is felt. These villas are built in a style Bahamian, they retain all the spirit of the Bahamas and environmentally friendly, you can even contemplate many animals who take refuge in the heart of the property. The villas are hidden in the Mangroves which stretches along our natural beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tiamo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiamo Hotel Andros
Tiamo Resort Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing