We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for better”
Review of Tiamo Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tiamo Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Just returned from a trip to Tiamo with my wife. Booked many months in advance after it was recommended by my fishing travel agency. I am an avid fly angler, and have always wanted to go bonefishing. Trouble is, my wife has not taken to angling as I have, and when I finally had the chance to book a trip - I wanted to make sure it would be to a place she would find enjoyable as a non-angler. I was worried about the trade-offs between the quality of the fishing, and the quality of the experience for the non-angler.

I am pleased to report that Tiamo surpassed our expectations on all fronts.

First, the fishing was fantastic! Location on the South Bight has bonefish, barracuda, jacks, and snapper, right at your doorstep. With the help of the wonderful fishing guide staff, my wife and I were on the fish from day one. Had bonefish on the fly from the water in front of the lodge, all the way out to the West Side of Andros. I caught bonefish from the flats boat and wading. A great experience sight casting to lots of singles, doubles and even a few large schools. Saw some large tarpon near the West Side porposing, but we didn't have time to cast to them. The guides were excellent at teaching, and our guide was able to instruct my wife how to sight, cast, hook and land 3 bonefish (this was only her 3rd time fishing). She enjoyed it so much that she is now looking forward to our next fishing trip together. A highlight of the vacation was a casual evening trip that the lodge owner got together at the last minute (after I had already been out for a full day of guided bonefishing). I joined him, along with the lodge's naturalist, on the lodge's flats boat, out into the bight towards the ocean, trolling for barracuda. After hooking and jumping 2-3 barracudas, one quite large, we finally managed to get one to the boat. What a way to end the day! My only fishing regret was not having another day to try out the deep sea fishing experience the lodge offers.

The accomodations were lovely, and our cottage was private, beautifuly furnished and luxurious. The nights there were quiet, the sunsets gorgeous and the night sky star-filled. The meals, prepared by chef Keith, were spectacular. The lodge staff had arranged a trip to a local homecoming festival on neighboring Mangrove Cay, and while there, we ate fresh conch salad and fritters. However, I missed the opportunity to try the 'cracked conch.' When I related the story to one of the lodge staff, she notified chef Keith, who proceeded to prepare an exquisite rendition of cracked conch, from the freshest conch pulled right from the waters at the end of the dock! For our last meal at the lodge, the staff put together a private dining table next to the fully lit infinity pool. A great thing for us, was the ability to fish the morning, be back at the lodge for a gourmet lunch, drop my wife off at the lodge, and I could be back out with the guide for the afternoon bonefish bite.

The staff were solicitious, and very friendly and welcoming. The owners made us feel right at home. Couldn't have asked for a better combination of a bonefishing experience and superb food, accomodations and service. Would certainly go back in an instant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NJAngler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 285 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2011

Food was out outstanding.
Special mention to Keith, Tito and Emerald for there fantastically polite and skilled service!
Rooms are well air-conditioned (a feature that many hotels struggle with) and simple but very nice.
Good wi-fi services and good t.v. (although it lacks some sports channels - strange considering sport is the only real demand for television at such a place).
Great bone-fishing and deep sea fishing.
Quiet but very friendly place.
Beautiful.
Great stay

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stewartwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Very friendly and helpfull staff. Loads to do, including wonderful fishing over miles of flats. Great rooms and unbelievable food. Excellent bug system giving hassle free envirnoment. Love every moment and long to return.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186233William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

This dreamy place is the most picturesque beach location imaginable. It reopened at christmas 2009 having been beautifully refurbished and now the project has been realised into the vision. The design and the comfort, the sublime food and the service and most especially the ambiance are all exceptional. We spent a week there with our 2 mid- twenties children with the most fabulous weather, swimming, snorkling, sailing, fishing, diving and chilling. We also enjoyed meeting the other guests and the sociable atmosphere created by our hosts in the evenings and on the excursions. What a treat.!

Room Tip: Exceptional relaxing, luxurious and beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Just returned from a lovely 8 night stay at Tiamo, and how that idiot in a previous review can compare the food to a pizza menu is beyond me, he must be deranged!

It is set on a gorgeous beach with a little jetty the boats come in and out from and is fringed with palm trees.

The cottages are right on the beach and beautifully done with a large comfy bed sitting area and shower room.

The food was exquisite and some of the best we have had, not overly large portions but when sitting on the beach for most of the day that was all we wanted.

Staff were very friendly nothing seemed too much trouble! If you like bone fishing then get DJ to take you wading!

Just one little note of caution, the resort is pretty isolated and although I understand there will be some changes shortly, there are no phones in the room, so once the staff have left which is around 10:30 pm you are pretty much 'on your own'. That was fine for us but could be quite un nerving if you were not prepared.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon07Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2011

This resort is on a remote section of Andros, Bahamas. Accessible only by boat or seaplane, it's a perfect private getaway. With only 10 bungalows, it's very quiet and that's a good thing. No other resorts are in the area. Boat traffic is limited to only those that come to the resort and your personal fishing guides. No jet skiis and speed boats mean that time on the beach is for peace and quiet and listening to nature and the small waves lapping on the shore. The minute we arrived we were met by a friendly face. Staff remembered all our preferences. The manager and Ellie, the owner, met us at the end of each day and were attentive to our needs and loved to hear about our day's adventures. They made it our home away from home. The food was wonderful. Being that it's your only option considering you would have to take a boat back to town for something else, we were nervous about what we would encounter. The chef did a fantastic job and coming from New York with our many 4 star restaurants, we are a tough crowd to please. We were there for an after Christmas vacation with our teenage kids. The hotel arranged many private excursions for us and at our leisure. Scuba, fishing and island exploration. The water is crystal clear and the beach sand very white. We were there for New Years and the hotel brought in a live band. Considering that at most they have 20 guests in house, that was a wonderful and quite unexpected treat!. I would recommend this resort highly for anyone wanting a private getaway with wonderful food, staff and accommodations.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Tiamo was always going to be a bit different. It sought to combine the fantastic fly-fishing for Bonefish on South Andros with a boutique resort with appeal for non-fishers....Not an easy combination to achieve. Tiamo I was delighted to find out pulled it off admirably.

The rooms were exquisite and both I and the other members of our well travelled team all agreed that the food was probably some of the best we had experienced ...anywhere ...swanky London restaurants included.

The owner Bill was brim full of enthusiasm for every aspect of the fishing and the toys on offer at the lodge, and we put them all to test including successfully catching Barracuda off the back of the small catermaran. The Bonefishing guides were great fun to be with and very experienced who would happily turn there hand to anything to please the tastes of our team.

A delightful lodge and a superb place to combine a boys fishing holiday with a real touch of luxury for the wife.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JustinMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andros hotels
5.7 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
107 reviews
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
40.5 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
197 reviews
23.8 mi away
Mount Pleasant Fishing Lodging
0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiamo Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiamo Resort

Address: Tiamo Beach, 33309, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: $840 - $1,826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tiamo Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No so long ago, the Bahamas were a destination for privateers, pirates and freebooters. The name Bahamas come from the Spanish expression, Baja Mar, which means low sea and if you have ever flown in a plane over Andros, where our lovely resort is located, you will understand why the name was given. Apart from the beautiful beaches, the ocean and the nature Bahamas still surprise each visitor, did you know that Alexander Selkirki, the real Robinson Crusoe, actually was in the Bahamas and survived on of our 700 islands till he was rescued 5 years later? Came On the island of South Andros Island, a small corner of paradise in the middle of the Caribbean, in the heart of lush tropical vegetation Imagine you are Robinson Crusoe...............a Luxury Adventure at Tiamo Resort Tiamo resort consists of ten exclusives houses. Staying at Tiamo means being close to the nature and adopting to the easy way of living in uncompromised exclusive house. . The hotel blends into the décor of white sand and turquoise crystal clear water and the desire to respect the environment and ecotourism is felt. These villas are built in a style Bahamian, they retain all the spirit of the Bahamas and environmentally friendly, you can even contemplate many animals who take refuge in the heart of the property. The villas are hidden in the Mangroves which stretches along our natural beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tiamo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiamo Hotel Andros
Tiamo Resort Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing