We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lodge in Andros” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swain's Cay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swain's Cay Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Lodge in Andros”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you're looking for a friendly and comfortable base for flats fishing. The rooms were nice and clean, staff was very friendly and the guided fishing was well organized and coordinated by the lodge. Guides were skilled and personable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    17
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
32
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had the best bone fishing trip ever. Just being picked up at the airport was different. The van was clean and the roads were in good repair. The lodge grounds and beach were well manicured and the staff was delightful.They could not do enough for you. Our rooms faced the ocean and were spacious and appointed nicely. The air conditioning was good. We had a small patio to have coffee on in the morning. The food had a local flair and was very nice. However, the four of us came for the bone fishing...it was fabulous! We were on the water by 8 am and off at 4pm. My husband and I both caught double digit fish and our friends did as well. We also had the best numbers ever. The guides got you to fish. our guide worked very hard.He did not get you to a creek and sit there waiting for the schools to come to them. There are two different locations to fish. There is also a flat right in front of lodge which some guests fished before dinner. We have already booked to come back next year.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Stayed with Swain's Cay on a short trip to Andros for some bonefishing. The lodge was great! Friendly, helpful staff, clean and nice rooms with great air conditioning and comfortable beds. The food was very good and plenty of it. They really cater to the angler/traveler with timely rides to the flats boats, great guides, and a nice lunch to take along as well. I didn't fish from the flats in front of the lodge, but spoke to others who did well there in some challenging conditions. The guided fishing was incredible over endless flats! Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EvanB-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

If you are planning on going to the out islands in the Bahamas this is a great place to stay. The rooms are very nice and the staff all go out of their way to be sure you are happy. Not to mention you can sit on the porch in the morning drinking your coffee and watch the schools of bonefish swim by. The bonefishing is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: The oceanview room is well worth booking the view is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captdonna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at Swain's Cay Lodge in Feb of 2013 and had a GREAT time. The beach is beautiful and the cabin stayed in had a view of it and you could walk out our sliding glass doors directly to the beach. (The sliding doors had a tendency to fall off the runners however). The room was great - comfortable beds very roomy, air conditioning, fans perfect. The bathroom was fine no problems. We ate at the dining hall mostly, great breakfasts pancakes, eggs, grits, French toast, etc. you order what you want, always had fresh fruit, coffee, but no cream or half and half, I bought a can from one of the "groceries" and they kept if for me in the frig in the kitchen. VERY FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL STAFF.
We tried out the bikes one day and one was great other one fell apart a few times, first pedal fell off, but locals on the road immediately helped me out, later handle bars got wobbley, but as you could walk, ride, it was ok - just be sure to check out the bikes carefully before you head out. The groceries very limited.
The dinners were great - hint ask in the am what they are planning on and you can sometimes get other options, always had fish, chicken, and a beef or pork dish. Grouper was GREAT, one of the other couples caught a Wahoo and it was incredible. *if you go out fishing and bring back conch, wahoo, crayfish (spiny lobster) they will cook it for you in the dining hall.

The highlight was definitely our day out with a guide fishing and snorkeling. The resort can make the arragements for you and we had a great guide. We caught a number of Barracuda (recommended that tourists do not eat as you can get very sick). And we brought back 2 of the biggest spiny lobsters we had every seen very tasty too.
We planned on going out to swim the turtles but were unable too however if you get the chance DO IT. Blue holes really neat.

Besides Fishing, (a lot of the others were there to bonefish) snorkeling, taking the resort supplied kayaks out, relaxing on the chaise lounges on the beach, walking out at low tide to the island off the beach, walking around the island at low tide towards a blue hole near it
* another helpful hint TAKE WATER SHOES FOR THIS towards the island lots of bits of coral, stones, etc in water can cut up your feet, there isn't a lot else on Mangrove Cay. But since we were looking for the previous we had a great time.

Veges come in off the boat only once or twice a week so salads are not high on your options but the fresh fish more than makes up for it.

The dining hall has a full bar, we did run them out of red wine as we had a bottle with dinner each night. (There is a liquor store on the island but we didn't go.)

Overall it was wonderful and I would love to go again, I think Swain's Cay was incredible and the staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

You don't have to fish to enjoy this idyllic setting. Right on the waters edge, powdery sand, palm trees. Good clean spacious accommodation. Fantastic real Bahamian food. Nothing too much trouble for this great hostess.

Definite one on the list of returns.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra and get one right on the front for fantastic sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggybreadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I am a chronic bone fisherman on the fly. I have fished many locations Honduras, Belize, Cuba and Cayman Islands (where i live). South Andros is hands down the rolls royce destination for bone fishing. My guide Marvin Miller of Big Bite Charters is a Superb guide with high standards so it was not surprising that he recommended SC for my 2nd trip to S Andros this past April. I caught three bones in the 10+ category, one fish 13lbs. From my first interaction with Miss Cheryl (owner) and her staff, they were courteous, friendly and efficient. They will take care of all aspects of your trip. Local transfer flights, ground transfers / taxis and fishing guides. The Lodge itself is located on a beachfront with stunning vistas. I caught a 8 lb bone right in front in the Lodge. So there is definitely a do it yourself option which is nice.
One word of advice. Take the time to hone your casting and fishing skills before you go to S Andros. The guides can put you on fish but they cannot help you if you cannot deliver the fly. Practice your casting in to the wind. Also come with the right gear. For bigger fish you need a dependable reel with smooth drag. This is 15-20 lb leader territory, leave the 10/12 lb leaders at home. I am a Loomis & Hatch guy, and ended fishing my 9 wt mostly simply because of the wind and the size of fish. Enjoy. I will be heading back.

Room Tip: If you want beachfront just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andros hotels
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
4.3 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
36.6 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#2 of 9 in Andros
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Kamalame Cay
Kamalame Cay
#3 of 9 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nathan's Lodge
Nathan's Lodge
#6 of 23 in Andros
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
15.6 mi away
Tranquility Hill Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain's Cay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain's Cay Lodge

Property: Swain's Cay Lodge
Address: Mangrove Cay, AN 023802, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swain's Cay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain's Cay Lodge is the perfect island retreat on Mangrove Cay, Andros Island, only a a 20 minute flight from Nassau. Newly built in 2009, Swain's Cay is located on the beach. Kayaks and bikes are available for guest use to explore the island, our bonefish flat, reefs and blue-holes. The ideal location for the world's best bonefishing or to escape from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Swain's Cay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain`s Cay Hotel Andros
Swain's Cay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing