We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“C Mac”
Review of Swain's Cay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swain's Cay Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My wife and I just recently spent 10 days at Swain's Cay Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were wonderful, friendly and accommodating and took care of our every need, The food was consistently great thanks to Chef Marie, and the lodge setting was beautiful. As for our room, it was more than adequate, both clean and comfortable with plenty of room to store our clothes and other items. If you are looking for a spot to relax, enjoy local food, do some snorkeling and/or bonefishing, and enjoy Bahamian life, you can't ask for a much better location. You will be especially happy if you are a snorkeler or a bonefisherman. If, on the other hand, you are looking for a swim up bar, tons of shopping, lots of night life, and restaurants everywhere, this is not the place for you. One word of caution, don't forget to bring some bug repellent. On calm nights the sand flies are plentiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMac11_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 107 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We originally were looking at all-inclusives in the Caribbean but after a lot of searching we came across Swain's Cay Lodge. We chose it because it seemed like it would make a much more relaxing, budget-friendly experience away from the cookie-cutter resorts and as a plus we could try our hand at bonefishing, which we'd always wanted to try.

We made the right choice! We had a wonderful time and were well taken care of by Cheryl, Pamela, Pam, and the rest of the friendly staff. Once we booked the trip we got in contact with Cheryl and she arranged everything we needed (flights to Andros, fishing trips, etc.). Our fishing guide, Alvin Greene, was excellent and through his patience, coaching and perseverance I (a first-timer at fly fishing) was able to catch a bonefish! Pushing around through the flats was a beautiful experience and we saw sharks, barracudas, and lots of bonefish and though we were all new to bonefishing everyone landed their fair share including one when we waded out on the flats in front of the hotel.

The rest of our days were spent relaxing at the lodge with some cold Kalik's, exploring the beach & flats in front of the lodge, and enjoying the delicious food (our favorites were the pasta with lobster and seafood and the guava cheesecake) The rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious. Each has its own porch and fenced in entry with spa (will have to try that next time--we were so relaxed at the end of each day that we went straight to bed!). It was also nice to get away from the TV for a bit as there are no TVs in the room, but there is one in the dining hall and Wifi throughout the property if you need to stay connected.

Definitely a 5-star experience!

Room Tip: Beach front is about 40 feet closer but there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights at Swains Cay Lodge, this was our first Bahama's out island experience and were very pleased with our stay. We were in search of a location that was informal with a personal, less commercial feel, but provided all of the things expected in a vacation choice.... cleanliness, attentive staff, good food and drink...and most of all no stress. Swains Cay was the perfect choice!

From your first greeting when reaching the lodge you feel welcome and comfortable... the staff was warm and accommodating making sure your stay was enjoyable....

Our first view of the elegant dining room/bar proved that this was going to be much more than a fishing lodge, each of the rooms had a private entrance, the rooms were clean, with very nice furniture, very comfortable beds, a nice sized bathroom and beautiful wood walls and ceilings. Best of all...... quiet.

All arrangements were made by the lodge... commuter air transportation, local transportation and fishing guide.... The fishing guide we were connected with was Alvin, he was simply outstanding in his ability to put us onto our share of bonefish and coach us into doing all of the right things to get them in hand. Above all else, he was polite and caring....we could not have had a better fishing experience.

All said, the perfect choice for our vacation... we will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monte132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just recently returned from Mangrove Cay, Andros, Bahamas w/ a group of friends. Staying w/ Cheyrl and the gang at Swains Cay Lodge was the best decision we could of made. They catered to our every need, even when daylight savings time changed on us they got up extra early to get our breakfast ready so we could hit the flats early.

The guides ( Alvin, Randy, Patterson, and Ephraim) were great and knew just where to take us and when. As Mangrove Cay is located on the middle bight of Andros we had access to both North and South Andros as well as the Atlantic side.

I personally had @ 70 bones to hand and could not of been happier w/ my experience.

Oh, don't forget to hit Shines Conch Shack while there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMF_Flyfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed there 4 nights with family relaxing and bonefishing. We were kayaking, snorkeling and bike riding almost every day. This island will definitely provide the escape from your busy life and Swain's Cay Lodge is located right in the middle of this beautiful quite paradise.
I caught couple bonefish and barracudas right in from of the lodge.
After Andros we went to Nassau and spent there 2 nights - what a waste of time and money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank draku007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Swain's, (our very first Bahama's out island experience) and were very presently surprised. We were expecting a rustic "fishing camp", but our first view of the elegant dining room/bar proved that this was going to be much more. Each of the rooms had a private entrance with a small fenced in area around the door. The rooms were spotless, with very nice furniture, very comfortable beds, a nice sized bathroom and beautiful wood walls and ceilings. The floors were ceramic tile, which made a lot of sense for a beachfront lodge. The owner, Cheryl Bastian, treated us as if we were family from the moment we arrived. All of our meals were freshely prepared and we enjoyed our first real conch experiences with conch fritters, cracked conch and conch salad, all of which were delicious. The quality of the food and the portions were both excellent. Cheryl even packed us lunches for our days out chasing the bones. The resort property has a nice beach, and while the water near the beach was not really deep enough for swimming (about waist deep at high tide), it was crystal clear and warm. An outdoor spigot and shower was centrally located to wash the sand from your feet and to wash the salt from your fishing gear. Chery set up all of our guided fishing trips, the flight to/from Nassau, and all transporation to/from the airport and the dock. We had nothing to do except relax and enjoy. Randy was our fishing guide for one full day and a second half-day trip. He was not only personable, friendly and entertaining, but he also knew how to find and catch fish. His flats boat was well equipped, fast and roomy for two fishers. Randy and Cheryl also pointed us to a series of gorgeous flats just in front of the lodge, where we saw lots of bonefish. While these fish were a little spookier than those we encountered from the boat, we were able to hook up on several drag screaming bones while fishing on our own. There are kayaks, snorkel gear and bicycle's available for guests who want a change from fishing or just relaxing on the beach. All in all this was a very enjoyable vacation that we will certainly repeat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned from a WONDERFUL weekend of R&R at Swain’s Cay Lodge. A delightful lodge in a GORGEOUS setting. Every time I looked at the water (from my bed, on leaving my room, from the restaurant – you just can’t miss it) I felt grateful to be able to enjoy the breath-taking view. It is a small and intimate environment, a few steps away from the beach. We had an ocean view room with a great view of the beach. Swimming is better when the tide is high because the area is shallow – the area is really a fishing area. Nevertheless, I enjoyed a dip in the water before retreating with a book to what felt like my own private beach.
Swain’s Cay is a lodge catering mostly for anglers and sports fishermen but my husband and I had no fishing in mind – we just wanted a hideaway for one weekend. Swain’s Cay was perfect for this! There are no televisions or telephones in the rooms (you don’t need that if you are out on the water fishing or snorkeling or if you are there to enjoy quiet time) and the fixtures and furniture are elegant. Each room has its own enclosed hot tub just outside as well as a private patio. The restaurant and bar is closest to the beach and has a huge LCD TV if you must watch TV (my husband just had to watch golf). We had a good meal everytime. You can enjoy dining alfresco on the wrap-around porch or in the comfort of AC on the inside while still enjoying a panoramic view of the beach that is stunningly just right there…
The place is well-kept and our room was very clean (I am very picky). Kayaks and bicycles are complimentary! Cheryl Bastian is the proprietor and is a warm and wonderful hostess. Just say it and she’ll try to make it happen! (But folks do remember that this is a small island so keep it realistic!) Would we go back? Absolutely! And soon…

Room Tip: It's a small property so all rooms are good and are close to the beach. Ofcourse, ocean view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CarlaDCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andros hotels
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
5.7 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
285 reviews
34.9 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Fishing Lodging
0.0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swain's Cay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swain's Cay Lodge

Address: Mangrove Cay, AN 023802, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: $180 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swain's Cay Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swain's Cay Lodge is the perfect island retreat on Mangrove Cay, Andros Island, only a a 20 minute flight from Nassau. Newly built in 2009, Swain's Cay is located on the beach. Kayaks and bikes are available for guest use to explore the island, our bonefish flat, reefs and blue-holes. The ideal location for the world's best bonefishing or to escape from it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Swain's Cay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swain`s Cay Hotel Andros
Swain's Cay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing