We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Birthday Surprise!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andros
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seascape Inn, Andros
Ranked #1 of 5 Andros B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My husband surprised me with this trip for my 40th birthday. I had no idea where we were going until I got to the airport. Needless to say, I was very excited to find out we were going to the Bahamas! Seascape Inn was a really great place and allowed us to have the peaceful and relaxing vacation that we really needed. We were the only people staying at the resort, so it was like we had our own private island. The snorkeling in the blue holes was probably the best we have seen, and we've done a lot of snorkeling throughout the Caribbean. We filled our days up quickly with breakfast at Seascape eating Joan's wonderful baked goods, kayaking and snorkeling in the morning, lunch at Seascape eating Mickey's fantastic hamburgers, then bike riding and relaxing in the afternoons before dinner at Seascape again. There are not very many restaurant options on the island, but Joan and Mickey were great cooks. Joan's bread and baked goods were so good, we wish we could have taken a bagful to go! They also had a full bar and made great drinks, so we had all we needed. Mickey and Joan were great hosts, extremely accommodating and full of information. They were available if you needed them but weren't on top of you when you wanted to kick back and relax alone. There are no TV's or phones in the room, so it's definitely a place to get away from it all. We went to Atlantis in Nassau just for the day on our way out and while we had fun on the water slides and seeing the aquarium, my husband and I both said that we were glad we spent our time at Seascape instead of Atlantis (which is like a Vegas hotel with water slides). Atlantis was certainly fancy, but not typically what you are looking for when you think of the Bahamas. We would definitely recommend Seascape Inn and would definitely go back again. The trip went way too fast! Thank you Mickey and Joan for making our vacation so great! - Melissa B.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 114 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was our first trip to the Bahamas and we decided to stay at the Seascape Inn on Andros Island. The owners, Mickey and Joan, were exceptional hosts to us. The food was scrumptous and the atmosphere was amazing. We basically had the entire resort to ourselves for the week. If you want a place to get away from everything and just relax, this is the place to go. The accomendations were excellant. They were 5 private cabanas at the resort, each with a bedroom and bathroom, and that's it. It's a great place to escape the world for a few days. The beach is clean and beautiful with hammocks provided for just lounging around, or you had the option of taking the kayaks or bikes out and go exploring. If snorkeling is your thing, then this is the place to visit. This was our first time snorkeling and there were 3 blue holes just right off the shore. You could walk to them in low tide or take a kayak out in high tide. Every website always ask the question, would you recommend this place to a friend. My answer is "most definitely"!! I would even go back with them!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Seascape Inn, and Mangrove Cay in general, is pretty much the opposite of Nassau and very different from what my wife and I expected of the Bahamas. It contains all of the beauty, but none of the hassle and high costs.

This is our second time in 2 years traveling to see Mickey and Joan at the Seascape Inn. We were married there last year having never been to the Bahamas...they posted some of the pictures from our wedding on their website. The experience was beyond unique, special and exciting. To anyone who wants to get married without all the drama and concerns that often accompany a traditional wedding...this is the place!

This year we decided last minute to come back as my wife had decided this was the most relaxing place she had ever been. In retrospect, I am forced to admit she was right. I can't say enough good things about the Seascape Inn. Having traveled much of the world, we plan to keep coming back as its truly unique.

Things you can expect at the Seascape Inn...

Bone fishing - apparently people come here to fish...who knew...I thought it was to get married...

Beaches - What I always equate the beach out front to is a large northern Minnesota or Wisconsin lake (only saltwater). There are few people on the beach. Never more than 6-8 total people in my experience. The water is usually calm so even someone who is not a strong swimmer can enjoy it. My wife and I spent countless hours wading, snorkeling and floating on rafts, talking and exploring the sea quietly together. It’s pretty easy to take a raft out and float over a blue hole with a snorkel and see amazing sites.

Peace and Quiet - Don't expect a wild nightlife as things shut down pretty early. On the flip side, I was well rested after a vacation, which is unheard of for me and saw many beautiful sunrises and sunsets. Don't expect televisions as there are none...but you certainly can bring laptops etc and use them with the free wireless internet. (Outside the main bar though)

Plenty of cold drinks - If you have never tried a Kalik, you must...the travelers met at the bar come from all over the world so the conversation is often very interesting. We still have the unique gifts given to us by some German guests of one of the homeowners we met after our wedding. This year we met several couples from England and Scandinavia.

Island Life - One of the best parts of the experience is the ability to explore Mangrove Cay on bicycle. It’s safe and interesting and not too strenuous. It’s sometimes hard to tell where all the stores are, but if you are willing to talk to people, they will show you the sites. In our experience, everyone is friendly and helpful. I can't tell you how many people stopped on the road and offered my wife a ride back to the Seascape as she was visibly pregnant this year. One of the most interesting people we met was a local wildlife photographer and his wife. Also interesting was meeting the local fishing guide "Shine" and his family who also run one of the conch stands. We also met some wonderful people from Denmark building a house on the island and many others. Harry the cab driver is also a wealth of island lore.

Food - for my wife the food is a huge draw. Breakfast consists of fresh fruit and wonderful homemade baked goods made fresh daily and is included. The remaining meals can be had either at the Seascape or other places on the island. We usually chose to have dinner at the Seascape as we were quite tired after the long days. Fresh fish, local lobster, steaks, chicken, shrimp, salads were all well prepared, well priced and well portioned.

Joan and Mickey are wonderful hosts; if there is any kind of a problem they do their best to make it right as soon as possible. If you want advice, they give it...if you need something, they provide it if they can...if you want to be left alone...you are on your own. The cabins are well sized for the amount of time you will be in them. They were always clean and comfortable and the views are amazing. We literally paid almost 3 times as much for less of a view in Nassau. Mercedes put fresh flowers in our room every day and her thoughtfulness made this trip again very special for us.

The Seascape Inn is a place where you get what you put into it. We came as strangers and left feeling we had gained many new friends.

I would highly recommend a stay to anyone looking for a relaxing, unique experience. I would also put this as one of the best places in the world for a unique, stress free, wedding.

Room Tip: Do not be afraid if they only have the twin bed room open...we pushed them together and it was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JDEKAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My husband and I were delighted to be able to visit Mickey and Joan (and those great dogs!) at Seascape Inn a second time--just a year after our first trip! We found the food to be just as delicious, the cabana to be just as comfortable and clean, the company to be just as fun as our first visit. Boston still made us some great conch fritters. The scenery was, once again, simply gorgeous. We are looking forward to our next visit with only one change--we will stay 5 or 6 nights rather than only 4! (If you are interested, please take the time to read their website because they have provided a lot of beneficial information there!)

Room Tip: All rooms have the same beautiful view. Joan can answer any questions you might have regarding room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frugal-Teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet and peaceful place where you can forget about the rest of the world, this is it. Turquoise blue sea with it's fantastic blue holes (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Blue_hole) full of corals and various fish of all shapes and colors, sandy beaches and you have them literally for yourself. Snorkeling equipment is a must (you don't have to be experienced)! Joan and Mickey are wonderful hosts, food was great, we especially enjoyed their salads. Bahamian beer Kalik tastes good too! Cabanas are cozy and clean, take 15 steps and you're on the beach. Perfect relax, we loved it

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbora787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Plenty of activities possible, from snorkeling in the blue holes, to bird watching, kayaking, biking, fishing or reading a book on the beach. The island is small and not at all touristy, perfect for a quiet get-away. The accommodations were clean and well maintained. Joan is a fabulous baker and Mickey is a wonderful cook. Both are very personable and made the mealtimes (and drink times) enjoyable. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Every cabana is directly on the beach with perfect views of the ocean! Can't miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquelynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Mickey and Joan run the Seascape Inn as perfect hosts, friendly and helpful but unobtrusive and very laidback. Their cabins offer all the conveniences you need for a beach vacation, but the setting on the beach is the biggest draw. Within wading distance (at low tide) or swimming/kayaking (at high tide) of several blue holes teeming with sealife, the Seascape porvides amazing snorkeling opportunities as well as beachcombing, kayaking and swimming. But we are avid birdwatchers, and the Seascape is one of the nicest places we have been in the Caribbean for seeing lots of great birds, including rare endemics. The small off shore island turns out to be an evening rookery for hundreds of herons, egrets, spoonbills, stilts and other wading birds that are found in abundance around the Seascape Inn. You can spend you evening on the beach (with cold beer in hand) watching all the birds flock to the island while the resident osprey family flies up and down the beach on their evening hunt. Morning strolls to the mangrove at the entrance to Seascape provide up close views of all these birds plus the resident kestrels and migratory warblers, Bahamaian orioles and other rare birds. Walks up and down the neighboring roads are also birdwatching turf, with only the rare cars driving by, all with friendly residents waving to you. We also enjoyed riding the bikes Joan and Mickey provide to explore farther afield, with various types of habitats available on the cay for more avian variety. We saw the somewhat rare and elusive Great Lizard cuckoo on a morning stroll up the electric line road, about a mile inshore from the coast.

And then there is the food. Joan makes fresh baked everything, with 3 different types of pasties/breads just for breakfast to accompany all the fresh fruit. Lunches and dinners are always varied and can cover the gamuts from lobster, to crabcakes, to BBQ ribs to to steaks to chicken marinated in mango sauce. Mickey's many culinary specialties include a fabulous white wine sauce. If you can find the room, the desserts are also not to be missed! We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl2012_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Andros hotels
0.1 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
110 reviews
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
35 mi away
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Small Hope Bay Lodge
#1 of 9 in Andros
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
289 reviews
0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
43.1 mi away
Kamalame Cay
Kamalame Cay
#2 of 9 in Andros
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seascape Inn, Andros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seascape Inn, Andros

Address: Mangrove Cay, Andros
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Andros
Price Range: $159 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five beachfront cabanas with decks and private bath. Full service restaurant and bar. Activities include snorkeling, biking and kayaking. Owner managed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seascape Inn, Andros Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing