We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hope Bay Lodge satisfies all ages with lots to do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2011

My husband and I traveled to Small Hope Bay Lodge with our two adults sons and met up with his sister's family who have three pre-teens. We all agreed that we were each able to do things that were fun or relaxing for us while still having plenty of quality time to all spend together. Some of us snorkeled, some went scuba diving, some fished, lots of us had quality sun time reading and a few of us took the bikes down the road to the National Park to swim in a blue hole. All of us agreed it was a great place for a family vacation. Though we usually like to try new places, Small Hope Bay Lodge is one we could definitely go back to. The staff deserves special mention for being incredibly welcoming and friendly. A great place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank readitseeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (513)
There are newer reviews for Small Hope Bay Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 513 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2011

My family of 4 experienced another great week at Small Hope Bay lodge on Andros Island. Gorgeous beaches, perfect water and the friendliest staff ever! So easy to find babysitters that my children were so happy to go off with -- not always easy for my 3 yr daughter. My 6 yr old son was never tired of fishing, swimming or just looking for lizards on this beautiful property. Can't wait 'til next year!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethesdabeaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Small Hope on Andros had it all. If you want no stress, relaxation this is the place. There was a great mix of culture, natural unspoiled beauty and fun. The staff at Small Hope Bay was wonderfully attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. The snorkeling was great, we saw a eagle ray up close, the dolphins came for a visit, the shark dive and night were great from what our new friends told us and the fishing-well all I can say is dinner was wonderful with the fresh catches. The was home made and you never needed more but sometimes needed seconds! I can't wait to get back and see Dennis, Mel, Joey and the rest. The group we were there with has decided we need to have a Small Hope Bay reunion. See you there.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcfuntime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

We have had the good fortune of getting to travel around the world, and there are not many beach places left that deliver as superb an experience as Small Hope Bay Lodge on Andros Island. This tiny, laid-back, all-inclusive resort consists of about twenty simple carribean-style cabins with the beach practically at your doorstep. If you were any closer to the water you'd have to let the tide into your room twice a day! Meals are taken in a communal setting, and dinner is preceded by a wonderful cocktail hour which makes you feel as if the owner of the hotel (Jeff Birch) has invited you to his place for a friendly get-together with his buddies And guess what: that's exactly what he's done! Great food, great diving and great company: what else could you ask for?

The style of SHBL is "rustic". Rooms are tasteful, comfortable and very simple: there is no television, telephone or minibar. But do you really need those on vacation?? Wifi can be accessed in the common areas of the lodge only. But do you really need to check email on vacation?? Bathrooms consist of a shower with reasonnable but not skin-piercingly high pressure. If you are "high-maintenance", you will not be happy here. If you need jet-skiing, a hopping night-life, and someone to boast to about your SUV, you will not be happy here. If you are looking for a place to go to to escape the world, its noise and its distractions, Small Hope Bay Lodge is the place for you!!

Finally, we found the price we paid for our stay at Small Hope Bay Lodge to be perfectly fair. At $260 per person per day, considering that all meals are included and beverages are all self-serve at any time (non-alcoholic, wine, beer, liquor and cocktails), I estimate this means a room for two is priced at about $300 per night. The comparables in the region indicate this is a fair price. And ultimately this is a small price to pay for breaking away from the crowds and finding peace and quiet in a gorgeous setting.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trs9898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

From trolling in 6,000 ft of deep blue to wandering the flats that lay not more than 100 paces from my cabin, Small Hope Bay Lodge proved to be the most satisfying vacation I have taken in the past 10 years. While no fault of the lodge, trying to hook up the right air connections was a little tricky, but once I landed in Andros it was like entering another world.
The people of the island were so friendly, this was no doubt an indication of how my vacation was going to turn out.
The lodge itself is situated ideally for a relaxing and tranquil stay and the accommodations were extremely comfortable. The openness of the property was refreshing to return to after 4 full days of reef and inland fishing. There was quite a large crowd of guests at the lodge during my week’s stay, but the diversity in age, nationality and vacationing interests really made for a fun social atmosphere.
The staff bent over backwards to accommodate me in all aspects – from the kitchen staff who prepared my “real-early-morning” breakfasts, to my guide Jeff who made it his business to not only find the fish, but to escape the rough seas we encountered on the first two days and find some awesome fishing in calmer waters and everyone in between.
It seems that the staff is truly multi-talented based on the fact it took me a couple of days to figure out who “did” what – it appeared that everyone was adept at filling all lodge roles from bartending to dive instruction to social planning to tour guide.
While my trip’s intent was solely fishing, each night at cocktail hour I would hear wonderful stories from the other guests about the myriad of activities that they took part in during the day.
I do intend to return before this year is out (schedules allowing) and would highly recommend a week’s stay as a break from the real world as we know it today.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

When Luann and I were trying to decide how to escape the cold New England and Pacific NW winters, and we were having a hard time. We wanted to go someplace that was warm, relaxing but fun. We wanted a place that was very calm, clean, uncrouded but exciting when we wanted it to be. When our good freind Dana suggested Small Hope Bay and we looked it up on the internet we were concerned it may be too quiet. His excited description and our concern about going someplace that would be too touristy and being treated like cattle at one of the other popular resorts we decided to give it a try. We are so glad we decided on Small Hope Bay... It was better than we thought possible ! It is definitely out of the way but a non stop from Boston to Nassau and ten minute flight to Andros made it easy to get there. Driving to the resort we started to think we may have made a mistake by the remote look of the country side but when we arrived to such a warm welcome we became very comfortable. The resort has been welcoming guests since the early 70's and they must have been taking notes because they really know how. The genuine, freindly staff made us feel like they were welcoming family home. It was amazing... usually it takes us 3 or 4 days to really shake off the concerns of life and get into vacation mode. Not here, after just a few hours we were into relazation mode full swing. The emphasis of the resort is that when you're here you can be as independent and free to read your book on your own or as engaged with the other guests and staff as you want to be. There were beautiful white sandy beaches as remote as any, or there were people ready to visit near the outdoor eating area. Hammocks rocking in the breeze or lounge chairs. Hobie Cat sail boat, Kayaks, bicycles or other things to do on your own or organized dives, snorkling, island tour all without waiting and arranged around when and how you wanted. Only 20 rooms but facility for many, many more. I think Jeff, owner and key personality on site from the beginning has managed to find an unspoiled location, devolope it only to the point of perfection and resist the temptation to continue to grow it past that point. We feel part of the family of Small Hope Bay and the bay and it's people have a special place in our hearts... we will be back !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bear5347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Has everything we wanted. Rooms were clean, comfortable and right at the beach. Food and hospitality were superb. Met many guests who had been coming for years. Great diving and instruction for beginners (us). Friendly knowledgeable staff. Feels like you're part of the island. A beautiful, timeless place.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emeraldny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andros
34.9 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.0 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#8 of 13 in Eleuthera
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.5 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pointe Resort
The Pointe Resort
#2 of 5 in Andros
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Hope Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Hope Bay Lodge

Address: Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: $580 - $891 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Small Hope Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been catering to scuba divers, snorkelers, fishermen, eco-tourists, and relaxers since 1960. Third largest barrier reef in the world and bonefish heaven. There are 21 all-inclusive rooms in cottages right on the beach. Come experience our unique ambience, friendly staff, and natural safe environment. Our dock and dive shop are right on property and fishing trips are easily arranged. Of course, if grabbing a drink, a book, and a hammock are more your style, go right ahead. We have 2 beaches and plenty of hammocks. Rest, Relaxation, and Rediscovery ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Small Hope Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small Hope Bay Hotel Andros
Small Hope Bay Resort
Small Hope Bay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing