We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Hope Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2014

First confession: stayed here last year and didn't post a review. Didn't want the word to get out. Second confession: thought 'welcome to the family' was some kind of marketing slogan. Didn't realize right away that they actually mean it.

Our favourite place in the whole world. Steer clear if you're seeking posh/luxe.

Small Hope Bay offers a rustic, friendly, laid-back, glorious holiday. If you're a diver, you'll be in heaven. If you're not a diver (me), you'll be in heaven. Bring a stack of books and find your hammock. Stroll over to the hand-built ocean-front bar and try any one of the rum cocktails on offer.

It sort of pains me to be sharing this place ... but spreading the word is probably the right thing to do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marguerite052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you for the great review! It was wonderful seeing you again. You are definitely part of the family. I agree - a hammock, a book, and a rum drink = a great afternoon. I can't wait to see you both again. And thanks for getting the word out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 524 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

It's been several years since I stayed here. When I arrived it felt like coming home. Staff are all helpful and friendly. Dive operation is first class, bar none. Divemaster literally held the hand of my newbie diver friend as they navigated her first 2 dives. (She also told me that the resort course she took here was far superior to one she had taken at the Great Barrier Reef).

The shark observation dive is well-thought through (from both human and shark point of view) and is both fun and fascinating.

The non-diver friend with us loved this place as well. She was originally planning to snorkel, but she was just loving relaxing, taking tours and long walks.

Food is still spectacular.

If you must stay connected, there is free wi-fi in the lodge (not in the cabins - yay!), but they (rightfully, imo) turn it off from 6:00pm to 8:30pm.

You wonder sometimes if you can recapture a feeling you got during a previous vacation at the same location. Not to worry. It happens in spades here.

Room Tip: There are cabins with rooms that share a bath - good for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsisTheCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thanks for the lovely review! It was great to have you back again and you are right - you were coming home again! I am so happy you and your friends enjoyed the diving and the relaxing. Those are two of our favorite activities here. We hope to see you back again soon. Don't wait so long next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Bahamas is the tourist destination, which attracts thousands of tourists from the entire world. In Bahamas, you will see many small and economical hotels that offer comfortable and cozy stay. After trying and seeing several hotels in Bahamas, we take room in Small Hope Bay Lodge. This hotel is most conventional luxury hotel offering all the daily use amenities. My family and I visit Bahamas to spend some peaceful time together. So, we booked around 4 rooms that are spacious, airy and clean. Rooms are equipped with comfortable beds with clean bed linen. The interior of the room is traditional signifying the culture of Bahamas yet it looks classy and elegant. They offer quality services and take care of needs of every individual. Moreover, you can also several water activities there such as snorkeling, motor boat rides and many more. This place is worth your visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liam n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Thank you so much for the nice review! I am so happy you got to enjoy your time here. We love our location right on the beach and all the activities (or inactivity) you could ask for. We hope to see you and your family back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Even if you expect perfection, Small Hope still blows your mind. From the moment the staff greeted us we immediately started to feel relaxed and at home. If you're a tech junkie and can't live without internet, this place is not for you. However if you're looking to escape your life and experience a true laid back lifestyle, you won't find a better place than Small Hope. Not only is it the best place to relax it's also more affordable than you'd expect. The staff goes out of their way to make sure you're taken care of and as comfortable as possible. Food is amazing, always something new to try while still preparing food that isn't as adventurous but still delicious. If you don't want to just lay back in a hammock and relax there is so much to explore around the island as well. Take a quick (difficult but worth it) bike ride to the National Blue Hole Park and jump off into the warm water down below. You can also take a ride out to the Blue Hole with the staff if you're worried about not making the bike ride. The beaches are nice to walk up and down, with crystal clear water. You can always leave Small Hope and go SCUBA diving. Even if you've never done it before the dive masters will give you a FREE basic course and help you get comfortable before jumping out into the middle of the ocean. The dives are unbelievable and the dive masters do everything they can to keep you safe while showing you sites you never thought you'd see. They also offer lessons in snorkeling, if you're afraid of being underwater completely, and there are a ton of places to snorkel. Your last day is always bitter sweet, you're so happy with everything you've done but sad that you have to leave. Walking out the door you'll already be planning your next trip because there's no way you can stay away from Small Hope once you've stayed with them. My Fiancee and I got engaged there, as soon as she came back from floating in the clouds she was already begging me to come back and do our wedding there. So yes, we ourselves will be back to Small Hope. If you have any doubts, just fly out and stay with them, within the first couple minutes you'll realize you made the right choice. It's perfect for solo adventure trips, groups of friends/family, couple retreats and even families. Words truly can not explain how amazing Small Hope is, they make you feel like family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you so much for the lovely review! And congrats on the engagement again! I am glad you both were able to try so many things during your stay - snorkeling, diving, jumping into the blue hole! We would love to see you back for your wedding, or really anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

An eco-friendly lodge off the beaten track was just what we needed for a five-day Thanksgiving break. Small Hope Bay Lodge has something of a "summer camp" feel, is very much oriented toward scuba diving (so non-divers may feel left out), and requires a certain amount of socializing during the family-style meals. The food was plentiful and generally good, though not always so for vegetarians; the cabins are basic rather than luxurious, but comfortable enough; and the beach is one to walk along rather than lounge. The staff are very helpful, especially if one enters into the jolly spirit of things. There is not much to do on Andros Island: the batik factory tour was nothing to write home about, but we enjoyed cycling/walking to various blue holes.

The Lodge seems to get a high proportion of repeat customers, which can in fact be a bit intimidating for first-timers (the owner clearly has his favorites). One can see why it has its U.S. and European fans, both within the scuba-diving community and among what one might affectionately call middle-aged hippies (like us). But one probably has to be a diving aficionado and/or a little bit eccentric to get the most pleasure from any stay there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JacopoPeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review! Getting off the beaten track and to a haven away from it all is exactly what we hope to offer and I am glad you got to experience that. Small Hope definitely has a unique style all our own - like socializing at dinner and cocktail hour! I think that is one of the things that make it so special and why so many people come back. The diving is fantastic too! But then again so is the snorkeling, and the fishing, and the island tours, the batik factory, kayaking, paddleboarding, biking, hot tub, or just picking your favorite hammock and a good book!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Small Hope exceeded expectations we didn't even know we had. We started our wedding/honeymoon (I guess you could call it an elopement since it was just the two of us) with a night in Nassau, and it was like night and day. Andros is much, much less populated than Nassau, much poorer, but also much friendlier. It took a couple of days to get used to the fact that pretty much nothing at Small Hope is off limits. Want a beer or two or ten? Go for it. Want to create your own tropical drink? Sure. If something isn't right, all you have to do is let somebody know - anybody - including dive staff, the office, or the kitchen staff - and they will take care of it. The place is so calm and peaceful that I can't imagine all of the craziness that happens behind the scenes to make everything so perfect.

We stayed in a honeymoon cabin and it was great. The bed was pretty hard to sleep in for us (a box spring would have helped) but other than that, it was nice. The cottage was always exceptionally clean by the time we came back from breakfast, and whatever products they use to clean smell amazing and were non-toxic. Again, it took us a while to get used to how things are done there. We had our wedding two days after we arrived and were wondering how everything was going to get taken care of in such a short period of time. But, they exceeded our expectations. We wanted a smaller beach that was less windy than the main beach, and Jeff had a broken-down boat towed to get it out of the way, no problem. Greg spent the entire day picking rocks and stones off the beach and getting it spotless. Sonny (aka Abba) made the most beautiful archway I have ever seen - it was absolutely stunning. My only regret is that I didn't spend more time out there looking at it and I didn't thank him enough. By the time our wedding came around, we had already made friends with other visitors who came to our little reception. I thought I would feel lonely not having our friends/family there, but it was wonderful anyway (although I do want to bring everybody out there now!) One thing that needs saying is that the value of what you get for your money here, especially the Weddingmoon Package, is outstanding. For the price of a not-so-great wedding venue in the States that provides nothing, we got a beautiful beach wedding, pictures, a small reception, all food, all drinks, scuba and/or snorkeling, nature tours, and 8 DAYS in paradise. You cannot find this just anywhere!!

My husband decided to try scuba and went to the complimentary discover course. We were both very impressed by the way Tony explained things and made everybody feel at ease. We both snorkeled and saw beautiful fish and a stingray. We ate delicious food everyday, met new people from all over the world over drinks and conch fritters at night, and generally felt really relaxed the whole time. We can't really say enough positive things about this place. If you are expecting a giant all-inclusive like Atlantis, this is definitely not it (and that was a good thing for us), but if you want something more personal, warm and friendly and something far, far less crowded, then you should check out Small Hope!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thanks so much for the great review! I am so happy we were able to help make your wedding and honeymoon so special. You are right - Andros is a very friendly place! And we definitely have a different pace. We figure, it's your vacation so you get to go as fast or slow as you want. I am glad you two enjoyed it all! Hope to see you guys again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Don't expect glitz, but if your idea of heaven is a comfy cabin on a beach, charming staff, great cocktails, home cooked food and an atmosphere of having rocked up to a family house party, then this is the place for you. Despite questionable weather, we managed some good diving, lots of chilling out, great massages and conversations with lovely, interesting people. We were travelling as a childless couple to a family friendly resort, but with tidal pools, bikes, games room and kids' evening meal, there was plenty of room for everyone to hang out. Would recommend this place wholeheartedly as a "desert island" getaway.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin S, MarketingTeam at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thanks for the great review. We had so much fun with you guys and are so happy you enjoyed your stay. I am happy you were able to get in some great diving despite the weather. You described our idea of a perfect vacation exactly - comfy cabins, right on the beach, great diving, wonderful food, awesome people! Hope to see you both again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andros
34.9 mi away
Swain's Cay Lodge
Swain's Cay Lodge
#4 of 9 in Andros
110 reviews
0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0 mi away
Squires Estate
Squires Estate
#9 of 13 in Eleuthera
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.5 mi away
Tiamo Resort
Tiamo Resort
#3 of 9 in Andros
288 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kamalame Cay
Kamalame Cay
#2 of 9 in Andros
335 reviews
0 mi away
Andros Beach Club
Andros Beach Club
#1 of 23 in Andros
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Hope Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Hope Bay Lodge

Address: Fresh Creek, 00000, Andros
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Andros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Andros
Price Range: $543 - $897 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Small Hope Bay Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have been catering to scuba divers, snorkelers, fishermen, eco-tourists, and relaxers since 1960. Third largest barrier reef in the world and bonefish heaven. There are 21 all-inclusive rooms in cottages right on the beach. Come experience our unique ambience, friendly staff, and natural safe environment. Our dock and dive shop are right on property and fishing trips are easily arranged. Of course, if grabbing a drink, a book, and a hammock are more your style, go right ahead. We have 2 beaches and plenty of hammocks. Rest, Relaxation, and Rediscovery ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Small Hope Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small Hope Bay Hotel Andros
Small Hope Bay Resort
Small Hope Bay Lodge Andros, Bahamas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing