We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Small Hope Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Nathan's Lodge(Andros)(Great Value!)
$114
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pointe Resort(Andros)(Great Value!)
$175
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Dream Villas(Andros)
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kamalame Cay(Andros)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveler rating
458
60
8
9
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
60
8
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdive staffshark divebatik factoryconch frittersandros islandblue holejeff birchall inclusive resortother guestshot tubdive resortsummer campgreat divingnew friendslaid backfishnon divers
Filter
Updating list...
270 - 275 of 543 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Small Hope was exactly what we were looking for...a private, all inclusive oasis with fantastic diving, food to die for (thanks to Chef Cindy and her fabulous staff) , a large rustic room so close to the beach with amazing views.
I had the pleasure of dealing with Nicky since July and he is an asset to the office staff as is Linda , Stephano, Bruna and Renauldo... Nothing was a problem for them regarding scheduling , pricing etc. They will give you the best package that suits your needs.
All of the dive masters were top notch and the dives offered were wonderful and diversified. Erin, a dive master and marketing person was a pleasure as was the owner, Jeff and his buddy Mike who makes a mean, delicious "Monkey" drink. We cannot wait to return to Small Hope. Thank you to each and every one of you for an exceptional vacation.

Room Tip: My husband and I actually had two rooms since we made a reservation for 4 nights and stayed for 7. Our first was room 14 which we loved, a bit far down but private. Bring a flash light...the first night after dinner, we couldn't find our room...however, that was a fun typical Small Hope experience. If you want a fancy hotel, this is not for you...but if you love simplicity and serenity,you will find it here. We moved uptown to rooms 7 A and B...a two room suite thanks to Bruna since a party of 13 people from France were coming and we had to vacate our room. Again, perfect for us...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMcgConneticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you for your lovely review! We really enjoyed having the two of you stay with us and I am so happy you had a great time. I agree with you about our office staff - they are wonderful and will help you in any way they can. I am glad you both got to enjoy some of our great diving while you stayed here (and escape some of that winter up north too!). We look forward to seeing you again and hope you guys come back soon! Next round of Black Monkeys is on me . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our annual trip to Small Hope Bay Lodge in the Bahamas was better than ever this year because we were able to link up with friends Linda and Dallas from Buffalo, NY and their group. The four of us were on site a couple of days early and left them in charge for a few days after we left.

Our travel plans (and theirs) were incomplete due to the ravages of Hurricane Sandy. It turned out that our AirTran connection through Atlanta was still in place, although theirs through LaGuardia had to be rerouted to Atlanta as well. That made the last leg of the trip from Nassau a breeze because Glen of Glen Air was able to accommodate the various arrival times and we didn't have to miss any connections to Andros on a regularly scheduled airline. That last leg was free as well, thanks to Small Hope Bay Lodge's special arrangement for groups arriving via Nassau.

We were able to make our favorite early morning wall dive every morning at 7 AM. Did I mention yet that the dive staff are willing to make any/all of your diving wishes happen? How about a night dive that starts at 5:30 because it was dark by then? "Sure, mon."

The food was great because of the talent of Chef Cindy - the newest addition to owner Jeff Birch's kitchen staff. She even came out and sat with us for her own dinner. Plus, she prepared separate spaghetti dinners for Peter and The Captain every night because that was their request.

The weather was perfect with little or no wind, calm seas, warm days and cool nights that needed a blanket.

All-in-all it was perfection.

Go there.

Room Tip: You don't need air conditioning because the room's ceiling fans do the trick.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EasyDiverChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. We enjoy having you and your group every year. I know Jeff loves taking the four of you Over the Wall at dawn every morning too. It is such a great way to start the day! I am very happy you all had a great time again. Cindy is a fantastic addition to the staff, isn't she? We very much look forward to your next visit and I look forward to seeing you four even sooner when I go to the dive show in March! Take care . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Lets start with the Bad News - we were suppose to stay for 8 days until we go a unwanted visitor by the Name of Sandy so we had to get our vacation short but that is the only Bad news - As for Good - We had a great time while we were there and have already made plans to return next Nov and do not want anymore unexpected visitors.
The staff was really great, the food excellent and our room was comfortable - not the Ritz but just fine.
One of the highlights for us was Bonefishing with a great guide by the Name of Glister. We made two 1/2 trips and caught and released over 40 Bonefish in the two days. Released all but one. As my wife was bringing the fish in - A Cuda in the 30lb plus range decided lunch - Now we had 1/2 a Bonefish - Decided to give the Cuda a try with what was left - Bottom line Cuda 1 Fisherman 0 - You do not stop a 30lb Cuda with 12lb test line and Light Saltwater gear - fun while it lasted ie less than a minute
Another hightlight was my wife's first ever Scuba Dive at a blue hole inland (seas really rough)
She is hooked and will get certified this winter.
Our Thanks to the entire Small Hope Gang - See you next year -

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bencher319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Sandy was an unexpected and unwelcome visitor indeed. We are very thankful that we did not suffer any damages and making the best of a bad situation our beach has actually doubled in size since the storm! I am so glad to hear the two of you will be coming back next November. We really enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again soon. Glister is a great fishing guide and I am glad your wife will be a certified diver soon so she can come explore our beautiful reef when you come back. See you in November!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Think back to summer camp... add a beautiful beach, scuba diving, and tropical drinks, and you have Small Hope!

Let me start by saying the staff at this resort is incredible! They are very friendly and will really make you feel welcome. The all-inclusive meals and drinks are delicious, and the dive shop is very accommodating. You will always find a staff member around to answer questions or just to chat. This is some of the best service I have encountered in all me travels around the world!

Although the service is out of the world, I would have to concur with others' comments that the hotel is very rustic. The rooms are dark and "cabin-like." Our room (#10) smelled a little of sewage and the limited light in the bathroom made night showers a real chore. If you book expecting a charming beach-side villa with full amenities, you might be disappointed. Book knowing it is an "eco-lodge"-- not the typical all-inclusive "resort." Remember: Andros is very remote and upscale accommodations are limited.

Room Tip: Request a room close to the lodge and dive shop so you don't have to walk as far.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snsmith27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review (and about your praise of our staff!). I am so happy you enjoyed some of the things we take so much pride in - our dive shop, our great food, and our effort to make all our guests feel happy and at home. While our cabins do have a rustic feel to them, we think part of the lure and beauty of Small Hope is really getting away from it all and enjoying all this beautiful island has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We are so glad we chose Small Hope Bay Lodge for our honeymoon get away. We loved the casual feel and "do what you want" attitude. We hope to go back often and soon. My wife received her scuba certification a few months before getting to Andros and we could not get over the beautiful water and reefs around the resort. The meals were great and the accommodations were quaint and rustic. SHB is a great place to go and get away from the daily grind of emails and traffic. Relax in the breeze with an ocean view and sip on a rum drink until you have to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shbmkt, Marketing Team at Small Hope Bay Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thanks for the great review, Derek. We really enjoyed having the two of you here. Small Hope is a perfect honeymoon spot when you want to get away from it all. I am so happy we could make your honeymoon a happy one and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews