We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best snorkeling in the world on the world's 3rd largest barrier reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fowl Cay

Fowl Cay
Book In Advance
More Info
$160.00*
and up
Great Exuma Eco-Adventure Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sea and land park reserve of particular interest to divers and snorkelers.
Great Abaco Island
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling in the world on the world's 3rd largest barrier reef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

I am lucky enough to live with in kayaking distance to Fowl Cay National Park. No need to dive the snorkeling is fabulous. There are mooring buoys to tie your small boat or dingy. There is also a small shelter on one of the rocks in front of the reef built by the Bahamas National Trust. Great place for a picnic before or after your snorkeling. The coral is beautiful, the fish are everywhere and vibrant in color. My favorite activity is swimming with the sea turtles. Every day is different and there are many reefs to snorkel. Do check the weather and winds. Abaco Cruisers net on VHF channel 68 at 8:15 every morning can help you with the weather and sea states. If you don't have your own boat, contact Troy at Dive Guana. He helps maintain the buoys (thank you to Troy) and provides dive/snorkel trips out to the Fowl Cays. He is even known to dive up conch and make conch salad on the way back. If you are in Marsh Harbour contact Keith at Dive Abaco.
Whatever you do, if you are in Abaco, do not miss it, it will be the highlight of your trip.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank SaylorMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“GREAT DIVING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We (my wife and I) have been diving for some time (I got certified in 1971) and though the diving is not deep you will see more fish and big fish than you can shake a stick at

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“the best snorkeling ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We were on a charter boat and anchored on the west side of Fowl Cay. The dinghy ride to the east side was a bit intimidating and you need to be careful of the waves. Take your life jackets. Once we got there we were overwhelmed by the beauty and accessibility of the coral and fish. Make sure you can get back into the dingy with a rope step.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank By_the_Sea_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great scuba and snorkelling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Tie up to the bouys and scuba or snorkel amongst the amazing reefs. An incredible array of different fish and corals can be seen without needing to dive to any depth.
DO NOT FISH HERE!!
It' s a little tricky to getbto some of the bouys, so buy the Abaco Cruising Guide and ask a local to point you in the right direction!
Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
165 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great for divers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

We went twice, once with an outfit and once on our own. My husband, the diver, loved it and can't wait to go back. I am a snorkler and thought it was good, but not as good as Pelican Cays as there is less close to the surface.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluebnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fowl Cay also viewed

Sandy Point, Great Abaco Island
Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands
 
Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
 

Been to Fowl Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing