We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Rock Beach

Gold Rock Beach
Lucayan National Park, Grand Bahama Island
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$158*
and up
Grand Bahama Island Jeep and Kayak Adventure from...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach is as pretty as a postcard, with smooth white sands and clear blue waters.
Otsego, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The beach is beautiful. Take the time to travel to this side of the island to explore this beach. The water is so clear and calm, it's easy to swim/wade in. The sand is very soft. There are many shells, if you like to collect shells. Make sure you go during low tide as the beach is bigger and the famous "welcome mat" can be seen. The beach is so long, we didn't even have time to see it all. Because there is so much beach to go around, you can stay pretty much to yourselves uninterrupted.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This was beautiful and fantastic. I would go there again in a heartbeat. We were there during high tide so we didn't get to see the famous "welcome mat" but enjoyed being able to swim in such clear and calm waters so far from shore. At high tide though, the beach is very, very small, so don't pin all your hopes on tanning on the shore.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We did a day trip to this beach. The beach is so long. You can walk so far in the softest sand for the longest way. Also, you can walk out into the water a long way. We went during the low tide. We swam, hung out and had a really quiet time. Only saw a few other people. It was wonderful experiencing this beautiful beach all to ourselves!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro
Level Contributor
142 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have been going to this beach for fifteen years. Unfortunately, for us, others have found this treasure and it is busier now than ever. It is still wonderful though and a must see.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank REDCAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is truly one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever visited in the world. It's secluded, and the setting is beautiful. The beach is lined by vegetation and trees, so make sure you bring mosquito spray when walking through this to get to the beach. When you first glimpse the beach through the forest life . . . . . oh my! It's surely a treat to see the big expanse of beautiful ocean and different shades of the blue water! You can easily walk up and down the shoreline for miles in either direction without encountering another soul!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank DivaNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Rock Beach also viewed

Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Gold Rock Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#