We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet”
Review of Gold Rock Beach

Gold Rock Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.99*
and up
Bahamas East End and Lucayan National Park Tour
More Info
$158.00*
and up
Grand Bahama Island Jeep and Kayak Adventure from Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beach is as pretty as a postcard, with smooth white sands and clear blue waters.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

After getting off of a cruise ship we rented a car for $85 (keeping in mind it is $15 round trip to Taino Beach per person) and decided to drive on the left side of the road and visit what ended up being the highlight of our cruise to the Bahamas. Six od us piled into a small 1999 Honda and about 45 minutes later we arrived. If you make it to Freetown, you have went to far. Freetown consisted of 8 or so homes and a school. You will drive 12 or so miles only making one turn and you will begin to feel as if you have went the wrong way and are lost. The only warning you have that you are approaching the park is a speed limit that says 15 mph and some rumble strips on the road. The park is marked with a small green sign that says Lucayan National Park and is on your left. There is no mention of Gold Rock Beach on the signs. Pay the attendant $5 per person (12 and under are free) and he will explain the park trails to you. The north loop has a couple of caves with crystal clear water and signs on the trails explaining what you are looking at. We spent maybe 25 minutes walking the trails and checking out the caves. There are clean bathrooms by the parking area at the beginning of this trail. We then went to the south sir of the road and walked the longer trail leading in. Again there were signs explaining the vegetation to you. We had thw WOW factor as we crossed the dune and saw the beach. The tide was out and as we arrived at around 10am, there were only two others as far as we could see. There was a large beach and we put our towels and what food and drink we brought on a tree right by the trail head. Some of our group snorkeled and the came back with half a dozen sand dollars. They also saw live starfish. As we walked the beach we watched a sting ray maybe 10 feet from shore. We walked back the shorter trail on the way back and there were several fish under the trail bridge. At the roadway when we came back out was a vendor selling water and soda for $1.50. There were maybe 25 people on the beach when we left at 1pm. It was clear sky's and 92 degrees during our visit. There are no facilities except what is by the parking lot. The walk to the beach from the lot is maybe 5 minutes.

Watch driving the round a bouts because unlike the ones that I drive daily, sometimes the cars entering the traffic circle must yield and sometimes it is the car in the circle, oh and you go left in them!!!!

The rental car had to be returned to the pier by 3pm and gas was $6 per gallon and they only took cash at the station we stopped at.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    39
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PE
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“World Class Beach”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Gold Rock Beach, a part of Lucayan National Park is a world class natural beach with powder fine white sand, gentle surf and miles of beach to explore.

Beautiful place to spend a day relaxing by the ocean.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank RichA252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“So beautiful!!”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We visited Gold Rock Beach 2/28/12 during a cruise stop. We rented a car at the port and drove out to the beach. Look for the signs for Lucayan National Park. You will pay $5 for entry to the park (which includes the beach). Take some time to explore the park and see the caves filled with brilliant blue water. The park loop takes about 8-10 minutes depending on how long you take in the caves and reading the historical signs. There is no bathroom at the beach, so make sure you use the bathroom in the parking lot before you go over.

Cross the street and follow the boardwalk to the beach. You can see lots of fish and birds along the way through the mangroves. The beach is not that far of a walk. It's gorgeous! We arrived at the same time as a tour group which wasn't horrible but it would have been nice to have a little less people. You MUST go at low tide to make the visit worth it! The beach seems to extend forever and the water stays shallow quite a ways out. While we didn't see any sea creatures during our visit, it was definitely worth the trip.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank amyf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central KY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“stunning beach”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

nice surprise after a short and beautiful hike from the parking area. recommend walking each path to and from. would love to spend more time at this beach.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank BethTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Incredibly beautiful natural beach”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

For something different we rented a motor scooter from across the street from the Grand Lucayana for the day, giving us plenty of time to spend on the beach. We read on Tripadvisor that heading east on the scooters, away from the downtown area is a safe journey with little traffic (and even better on the weekends), but I was very careful and slowed down to let cars pass by when safe to do so. The scooters are easy to drive, just take it easy on the corners and keep check your mirrors. Driving on the left was easy to learn (just keep left !) and the roundabouts easy to maneavor. The drivers are very generous and watch out for you.

We got to Gold Rock Beach in the Luycayan National Park in about 45 relaxing minutes.
You can't miss the entrance which is right off the road. You can park in front of a small park building and pay the $5 to tour the area, which includes the caves and the amazing gold rock beach. Before you go, check the tidecharts online for Freeport and if you go at low tide you are treated with a soft white sandy beach that must be at least 100 yards or more in width. It is a natural area and at times we were the only ones on the beach. The park guide said the you are safer on this beach than you are in your own home, which was true. We sat and had a picnic and just wandered for hours, taking photo's and enjoying an incredibly beautiful beach.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank kita333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gold Rock Beach also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Grand Bahama Island, Bahamas
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Gold Rock Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing