We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best location for a charming B&B in grand bahama, freeport”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freeport
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seagrape Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Freeport B&B and Inns
suisse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the best location for a charming B&B in grand bahama, freeport”
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The bed and breakfast comfortable with a nice garden is ideally located, the beach is next door as well as port lucaya market place. Last but not least our host Kathy was highly supportive, she gave us all the tips and even booked activities for us.
For sure I will go back to this place.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heidifromschweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
39
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

This is definitely the best place to stay in Grand Bahama if you want to relax without having too many people around, like in a hotel. The place is amazing, with a wonderful garden and a peaceful patio where you can enjoy breakfast (which is really good!) every morning or just relax after a day at the beach or a tour. Rooms are comfortable and very clean, with a minifridge, microwave and an indipendent entrance. 3 minutes far from the beautiful beach and 5 from the port lucaya marketplace - with all the shops and restaurants - but still so peacefull. Katy is just the best, so sweet and kind, she has helped us with everything we could possibly need.
Definitely a place to see, both the island and the b&b ^^

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank d5v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

We had five really nice days staying in Katybel's and Barry's house and especially enjoyed the superb location with a lovely garden just a few minutes walk from the beach.
At night it was great to be spared from the noice in Port Lucaya - which on the other hand was only 5-10 minutes walk away with many good restaurants. Dont miss the fantastic Sabor - great cuisine, exellent service and good drinks.
The Seagrape B&B has two rooms, and we had a king sized bed, private bath and separate entrance. Also there was a mini fridge, AC, fan, cable tv and wireless internet.
Katybel picked us up at the airport and was extremely helpful during our entire stay. The breakfast was good with fresh fruits and bread.
We rented a car for a day which was great. We got to see some beautiful remote beaches and do some nice snorkeling. Katybel can help you with rentals, but try to avoid Millie's Car Rental Co.
The only hickup on the beach close to the Seagrape B&B was jetskis racing close by the shore at times.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoensenCopenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Just returned from Freeport where I spent some time at Seagrape B&B. Would thoroughy recommend this as a nice, quite, great value alternative to the anonamous chain hotel.

Katy was a great host, meeting us at the airport on a dark and wet evening! She drove us back to her house that is in a really nice quiet road just outside (5 minutes walk) of the main Lucaya Bay complex and 2 minutes walk to the beach at the end of the road.
The rooms are very comfortable, spacious, clean and private with their own front door.
Breakfast was ready for when we got up and was a very nice selection of fresh fruit, croissants, bagel, bread and jams.
Katy is a great host who can provide lots of information on the local area and even arranged car hire for us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonBernie_bolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

Seagrape B & B is in the home of Katybel and Barry Taylor, and a most inviting place it is. It is tastefully decorated.There are 2 rooms available with full bath, microwave and small 'fridge, and they have a separate entrance.There is ample room outside to sit and relax, and since the hosts are both gardeners there is plenty of flora to enjoy. The breakfast is, I'm happy to report, delicious and ample (sometimes at B&Bs it's a simple 'continental', which is not enough), always fruit, muffin and/or toast, and s biscuit or english muffin, as well as tea or coffee. I usually didn't finish it. Katybel is a gracious and most knowledgeable hostess, recommending places and happenings. She and her husband were very helpful.
Seagrape is also in a very good location, near the beach and within walking distance of the Lucaya Marketplace, home of shops and restaurants.

  • Liked — location, hosts, gardens
  • Disliked — really nothing-no pool, but knew that
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank kbcranegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ampthill
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

40 Sea Spray Lane is a typical delightful Islands house with great charm. Quiet and comfortable with just a short walk to the beach. While we were there we often had the beach virtually to ourselves. Equally the shops and hotels at Lucaya are just a short walk in the other direction. The guest bedrooms are very nice separated from the rest of the house allowing for individual privacy. Our bedroom had a King size bed was clean and comfortable with an ensuite bathroom and separate access from the outside.
Katy the owner is very friendly and helpful and was keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible giving us hints and tips about where to go and what to do.
Given its location and proximity to the beach the accomodation is well priced
All in all Sea Grape is lovely, we enjoyed ourselves immensely and will definitely go again.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach and quiet location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank acsaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

I found this Bed and Breakfast after being frustrated trying to find a reasonably priced hotel or condo. Seagrape proved to be an ideal place to spend our first 4 nights on Grand Bahama since we were new to the island. The friendly owner picked us up at the airport and helped us get oriented to the Island. Her location was ideal as we could easily walk to restaurants and shops in Port Lucaya Marketplace or to the beach at the end of her street. A light, healthy breakfast was provided each morning and wireless internet was available in our room. Our room had a king bed, TV and private bathroom, all isolated from the rest of the house to give us adequate privacy. The rate was more than reasonable at $95 per night. I would gladly stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Price and convenience
  • Disliked — No swimming pool or hot tub
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sampsonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.6 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
3.8 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seagrape Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seagrape Bed and Breakfast

Property: Seagrape Bed and Breakfast
Address: 40 Sea Spray Lane, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Freeport
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Seagrape b&b
Seagrape Hotel Freeport
Seagrape Bed And Breakfast Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing