We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
Review of Dundee Bay Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dundee Bay Villas
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just recently my wife and I went for the weekend as we wanted to escape all of the busyness of our daily city lives. After doing lots of research on the internet, we choose Dundee Bay Villas because it seemed to be the most tranquil resort in the Bahamas. We were not disappointed at all, as this area you get that same feeling of escape and romanticness only found in the movies. The beach we had all to ourselves, which made for some great romantic moments at sunset. The staff and locals around the town were so very friendly, they made us feel welcomed and apart of the island. On our last day we took a tour at the Garden of the Groves, which showcases a wide variety of wildlife and nature. The gardens also had a chapel, which we were told it is used for weddings, seems like the perfect spot for us in the near future to renew our vows at. Will be returning definitely for another romantic getaway, but making it for a week instead.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank plogan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
12
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Dundee Bay Villas isn't a large resort, and its not in very populated area, but that is the whole allure of this place. This is one of the most relaxing, tranquil resorts you can find anywhere in the Caribbean, and this is all at an affordable price. The staff was so friendly, they helped with all of our needs and was very informative on all the attractions around Freeport Bahamas. The family went and saw the dolphin show, where we got to swim with the dolphins, it was simply amazing to get up so close to them and the kids had a great time. We would highly recommend this resort and Freeport Bahamas.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamescab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I have just returned home from a very enjoyable relaxed and restful two weeks staying at the Dundee Bay Villas. We are not “party animals” and while we like kids we do not like crowds and so chose to visit the Grand Bahama out of season. The down side of this was that a couple of the restaurants in the Lucayan Market were closed as were a few of the shops/stalls. The upside was that we never had to fight crowds or make reservations and we had good success when it came to negotiating the price of our purchases.
Before going to the Bahamas we did a little research into what there was to see and do on the Grand Bahama Island; we also researched where to eat and what to eat that was characteristic of the Bahamas. Our few minutes on the internet before travelling really paid off. We are not divers so we missed out on one of the Bahamas’ most spectacular attractions. However, we thoroughly enjoyed the beaches, snorkelling, and the Lucayan National Park and other nature reserves. We love good food so we also enjoyed the restaurants throughout the island and we had fun shopping.
Slightly off the “beaten path” but easy to find, Dundee Bay Villas was an excellent choice as “a home away from home”. Prior to arriving in Grand Bahama we reserved a rental car and within 15 minutes of picking up the car we were at the Dundee Bay Villas. The roads in Freeport are well marked and everyone knew where Dundee Bay Villas was. As I said earlier Dundee Bay Villas is a bit off the “beaten path” in a quiet area but it is merely minutes from good grocery stores, the International Market and Downtown Freeport and only 15 minutes away from the International Airport. This last point was important when we had to dash to the airport at the end of our two week stay to catch our early flight home.
Our accommodation was clean, bright and quiet. Our unit was on the main floor so I was able to park our car right in front of our door, an added convenience. Stacey and her staff were friendly, cheerful and very accommodating. The Xanadu beach, visible from our front door, was a five minute stroll from our unit; beautiful white sand and crystal clear water. The only drawback to the beach was the seaweed, which had been washed up but this was true of most of the beaches we visited, a factor of the season and the weather.
Dundee Bay Villas is not for someone who wants to participate in the party scene. It is clean, comfortable, excellent value and within easy driving distance of almost everything. If you do decide to go to Freeport, I hope that your stay is as enjoyable as ours was.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VagabondWind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you don’t have strong men travelling with you, spare bark, extra sliding door locks, gallons of alcohol, red ant killing spray, and/or a gun I wouldn’t recommend staying here. My best friend and I stayed at this “resort” from 7/30 and left two days later. We were originally scheduled to stay on a first floor unit. The unit was fine, but us being two young females, we asked if we could move to the second floor. We ended up being upgraded to an amazingly beautiful three bedroom, two floor masterpiece. Needless to say, we were super excited.

Excited, that is, until we found out that only one of our five sliding doors locked (one of which led down directly into the pool where anyone could walk right up into our unit). There were also no additional sticks to put in the sliding door area to prevent them from opening. We ended up making our own stick from a broom and vacuum. We were informed that the stick man would come on Tuesday.

Dundee Bay Resorts is located in a remote area, far from anything resembling civilization, and next to a very secure community… (I wonder why that community had gates and security guards… hmmm). To make us feel even less safe, there was a constant flow of shady area residents that frequented the lobby and pool area. My friend and I went to sleep that night (in the same bed) with knives under our pillows.

The next day, we decided to make the best of our situation. We walked the beach and had a very quiet few hours (as the beach area felt like something out of a horror film… dirty and abandoned). We decided to leave the beach and check out the pool. We were in the water for about three minutes before we realized that there was mold growing on the sides. We showered soon thereafter.

Besides the security issue, we were super happy (sarcasm) to find hundreds of extra nonpaying visitors in our unit. Red ants were crawling on nearly every wall, on the sink, on the floors and some in our bed.

We went to sleep on Sunday night and woke up at 5am to about five men (some of them we briefly met earlier that day) banging on our door. There was a white van running outside of our door. We obviously didn’t answer the door and nothing terrible happened, because I truly believe God was watching out for us.

In regards to the staff, they were very friendly at first (except telling area residents that we were here alone). We never met Stacy. When confronted with the issues of their resort, management said that we simply wanted to be in the city and that someone saw us at a timeshare presentation. Funny that our security concerns were never mentioned by them. Even funnier is that neither I nor my friend is old enough to attend a timeshare presentation, as you have to be 25.

Point is… if you value your safety and health don’t stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Staci3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marilyn K, Public Relations Manager at Dundee Bay Villas, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
We would like to reply to this guest comments regarding their stay at our facility. We are sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay with us. We take great pride in all our properties we service and would like to address issues raised. Dundee Bay Villas is located between 2 hotels, Xanadu and St. Tropez in the upscale community of Bahamia/Princess Isle and less than 20 minutes from the international airport.. This community known as Millionaire's Row is surrounded by homes where price ranges from 3Million to 12Million US Dollars. It is a private and gated community with guards on duty 24 hours a day to ensure it stays private. As the writer stated "next to a very secure community" We totally disagree with the writer's comment that we are located in a remote area, far from anything resembling civilization. The guest did state the back sliding door lock was not working properly and she had no stick to secure the door. That same day the front desk staff provide a stick to the guest. Prior to this guest arrival, we had 8 single men staying with us, we do not see how you can classify them as "shady area residents" There was no mold growing on the sides of the swimming pool. Concerning the beach, to the right ( beach you can walk on) in the back of the homes in Princess Isles where the residents wish it to remain natural. The beach to the left is maintained by the Xanadu Hotel and the beach in front of us is maintained by the management of Bahamia. We have no control over the maintenance of the beach areas. The guest by stating "horror film" is exaggerating to the fullest. As with any tropical country, ants can sometimes be a nuisance, if this guest had taken the time to advise front desk staff, they would have happily taken care of the ants problem, which is mainly caused by exposed food, again overly exaggerating about ants problem. The door of Unit 15 - 3bed unit is near the door to Unit 12 where some of the men were staying. The was there to pick them up as they were working on the island. What this guest most like heard was the knocking on Unit 12 door, although, it is possible the person made a mistake and knocked on the wrong door. Mistakes do happen. The staff did not tell area residents that they were there alone. If the guests had any concerns we were willing to take care of it had they brought it to our attention. Dundee Bay is not in the center of all the bar and nightlife which we believe these guests were looking for. If you do not rent a car then you will need to take taxis. These guests tried to rent a car but because of their ages was refused and they did not want to pay taxi fares each time to go the bars/nightlife they were looking for so instead they chose to complain in the hopes of getting compensation. Perhaps if they had contacted the resort (we are on the internet) for more information and inquired about nightlife and bars, they may have found that this location was not suitable for them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

My spouse and I have been to the island many times. Knowing the island and wanting to be close to the beach but not in a crowded resort area, we were looking for a quiet friendly environment. Dundee Bay was the perfect fit. The rooms are updated and clean with full kitchens, Stacey and her staff are there to help you with recommendations and make your stay enjoyable. We laughed a lot. The beach is a football field away from the hotel. The hotel is on a canal which my husband had a great time feeding the fish. I also liked that the staff was respectful of quiet time at night. No loud party's lasting all night. Yes, if you want to see the island or be downtown Lucaya you should rent a car.

Room Tip: We had room 17 first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bahamakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elmont
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2010

I think this hotel was a very good choice for me and my friends. It was 8ppl and we all stayed in there 3 bedroom suite that they offered. The rooms were very clean and the hotel staff was very very helpful. The helped us to get a personal driver who took us sightseeing and to the local clubs, the square and the fish fry's. We only payed $50 per person for the whole week that we were there. The hotel was located by a gate community which made all of us feel a little safer since the hotel is kinda tucked away from civilization. That was my only problem. The hotel is like around nothing except for the gated community and Xandu hotel. Overall my stay here was very nice. We meet up with some local staff members at the Xanadu Hotel and we all had a blast. If you every stay in Freeport i would suggest you stay in something that is around more people if that is your type of hotel if you like to rest and have piece and quiet this is the perfect hotel for you.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigk189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Staci and staff are terrific. Very nice apartment style units a very short walk to the beach. If somewhat off the beaten path is OK, you'll love this place, its exactely what we were looking for and its very reasonable. Recommend you get a car. If staying close to home is for you this place is home. You will know everyone by name within hours and they will know you too. Big living area and bedroom with good sized kitchen and full sized stove and refrig. Spa tub in the bedroom along with the bathroom shower in our 1 bedroom unit was wonderful.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gredon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
4.2 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
4.7 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
4.2 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
7.6 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
0.8 mi away
Sunrise Resort & Marina
Sunrise Resort & Marina
#6 of 14 in Freeport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dundee Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundee Bay Villas

Property: Dundee Bay Villas
Address: 20 Dundee Bay Drive, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dundee Bay Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the "Feel like Family" atmosphere created especially for you at Dundee Bay Villas in tropical Freeport, located on Grand Bahama Island. Relax in the natural beauty of brilliant sunrises, golden sunsets, palm trees swaying in the gentle ocean breezes, miles of private pristine white sandy beaches and turquoise waters. Units features furnished terraces with an on-site swimming pool and villas with hot tubs.Dundee Bay Villas offers daily maid service as well as 24-hour front desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dundee Bay Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dundee Bay Villas Hotel Freeport
Dundee Bay Villas Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing