We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It all depends on where they assign you.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It all depends on where they assign you.”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I had a wonderful trip, but it almost didn't happen that way. Arrived at check-in and inquired about if I was getting a room in the remodeled section. I was assured that I was. I went to my loft room in Ocean and was so disappointed. Shabby, not what I expected, but resigned myself to this. Discovered I had no hangers, shower hooks but no shower curtain (and no other way to keep water in the shower), and no phone. Front desk personnel not customer friendly at all. Sent maintenance to my room to "confirm" that I was missing these items, like I would lie about hangers! My visit changed when I met McDonald from maintenance. He takes his role as an ambassador to the customers seriously. Warm and friendly, he was instrumental in getting us into a room in the Marlin that was quite satisfactory...You should be aware that mattresses on pull out beds are extremely thin and are difficult to sleep on. Beyond my check in problems, the rest of the visit was very nice. Beach is very pretty and well tended. Tip of the hat to McDonald for saving my vacation. If I had stayed in the Ocean room I got originally, I would have said "Never Again".

Room Tip: Make sure you get into a remodeled room. There is an elevator, but Loft rooms require some stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank monkeypuzzle0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear “It depends on where they assign you”,
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your candid post and while you describe some shortcomings, you did mention a star which is as important to recognize as the other issues which we will address in short order.
Hope to see you on the island again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    241
    149
    84
    75
See reviews for
158
280
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This resort has an amazing pool. There is a waterslide that is fun for all ages in the centre of the pool right above a swim up bar in a grotto. The bar is also acessable by foot if you go around the other side. The pool has a shallow end at one side that is great for kids, with easy entry. The pool also has tubes to relax and float through the lazy river. You can also warm up in the hot tub or just lay in the sun on the lounge chairs or hammocks around the pool area. The pool also has WIFI. The resort is on a gorgeous big sandy beach with lounge chairs and palapas provided. The water was crysal clear and great for swimming or snorkelling. We saw several rays in the water around the rocks. They clean the beach every moring to remove debris. The rooms felt nice and spacious, we stayed in the Marlin units. There is a ferry across the street that will take you to and from Port Lucaya which was very convinient. The resort offers many activies and we were never short on things to do. I hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: The Marlin is the newest unit and I highly recomend booking there. At the Marlin Section the larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 87Seashell87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Awesome resort with the friendliest staff! Had such an amazing time we have booked it again for next year. Cannot wait to go back. The Bahamas esp. Freeport is the safest and friendliest island. The people make the place for sure. Way to go Taino!!!

Room Tip: The Marlin top floor studio suited our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHCA_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear “Taino is the place to be”,
Thanks for the great posting on your (very) recent visit with us! It’s nice to read that you had a great time- and then took the time to post it on Tripadvisor!
We eagerly look forward for you and folks like you, to return! Come back SOON!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We travelled to the Tanio Beach resort this year with friends and had a fantastic time. The 2 bedroom unit we booked in the Marlin section had lots of room for 7 people. We could not check in until after 4 pm, but we were able to store our luggage at the welcome centre and still use all the facilities. Upon arrival they had complementary beverages with or without rum. The pool is gorgeous with a waterslide for all ages and lazy river with inner tubes to float around on. The pool also has a swim up bar inside a cave. The resort is right on a beautiful soft sandy beach. great for walks and shell collecting and swimming. There is a channel inlet at one end that is great for fishing off the rocks. You can snorkel around these rocks and see lots of fish. For the best snorkelling we took a trip out to Paradise cove. The cove had some of the best snorkelling we ever seen. I thought we had excellent service at the resort. Any time we needed an item from housekeeing, we were able to get it quickly. Our blender was broken and it was exchanged for a new one within the hour. We never ran out of things to do. They have a water ferry that runs every hour into Port Lucaya if you want to go in for a large selection of restuarants and stores, including duty free liquor and jewellery. We had a great time and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: The Marlin section is the newest part of the complex and I think it is the best section to book into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bahatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Cannot review the rooms or other than spending 1/2 day there at the beach/pool and having lunch. The resort was beautifully located and the beach was pretty. The pool was nice with a somewhat functional lazy river and a swim under/bar grotto (accessible from the outside or the pool.) It also had a large slide which we had to request be opened. The staff upon entry off the tour bus was nice but otherwise - in the restaurant and otherwise was barely accommodating. The property itself appears to have been nicely planned and landscaped at one time but really could use an overhaul. And the lunch, was somewhat abysmal - a buffet of fried fish, rice and beans, ribs and a pasta salad. (No service to speak of and we had to ask for water.) We had my girls' hair braided right on the beach (again small and jet skis, banana boats, etc. were available but very highly priced) and had a nice enough time but I'd not go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emcfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We trade through RCI alot, and are pretty low maintenance as far as rooms, but eew. this was a disappointment.

We traded in via RCI into a 1 BR in Oceans. 3 days before leaving we realized it was a "loft" unit instead of a lockoff which is an efficiency and studio. Very disappointed that it was not clearer when we booked. When we arrived they gave us the option of upgrading to the marlin, but were told that the second bed is a pull out in the living room, we asked which room faced the pool and were told both. We stayed in the loft since it had a "real" bedroom. Later we found out that the 1 BR marlin is ALSO a real bedroom, we should have taken that. The room we ended up in was also not pool view as we were told which was a disappointment.

Rooms in the ocean buildings. 1. You climb a ladder to the bedroom, hope you don't have height or mobility issues. The bathroom walls downstairs are glass block so you can see through them. The doors in both bathrooms have a frosted glass panel in the door. If lights are on in the bathroom you can see right in. Beds are terrible. I slept on the sofa the last night because it was better than the mattress on the concrete. Basically get in the Marlin if you can, beds are real beds and walls/doors are solid, you can do your business without an audience.

Resort overall. The pool makes up for the crappy rooms. The water was cold, but not too cold to keep us from going in after the winter we've had in NJ. Grotto bar was nice and the lazy river was great. Hot tub needs some fixing, the step has a piece missing and I tore my toenail off on it. The pool area is why they're getting 3 stars.

Restaurant - Slow service, but the food was excellent. Highly recommend the filet mignon with peppercorn gravy. just fantastic!

Beach - It was really windy when we were there so we only got one beach day at the resort. Tons of seeweed washed in, but the beach is wide and clean otherwise. They bring boat people in for the day but they were not a nuisance overall.

On island, alcohol is expensive, a case of beer was over $50.00 food at restaurants is on par with home (7.00 for a burger, 20 for a good steak) Soda ($5 for a 6-pack), chips, etc. are high. It wouldnt save us money by eating in the room so we ate out most of the time.

Final results....we'll definitely come to the resort again, but we'll make sure we book the marlin rooms, and if they offer you an upgrade TAKE IT. The pool, beach,restaurant more than make up for the rooms, but be ready for hard beds.

Room Tip: Book in the Marlin or take the upgrade. Don't second guess yourself, the other rooms are BAD.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rx7suzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tainobeach, Guest Relations Manager at Taino Beach Resort & Clubs, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear “Awesome pool…”ehh” rooms”,
Thanks for taking time to write down and post your experience with us. Your concise comments and information will help us to make sure we get on top of all our challenges and get them sorted out. Your experiences were also written with lots of positive tips to help make someone else have a great experience. We thank you for that.
Hopefully we’ll see you again and we can have another “go” at making each aspect of your stay – wonderful!
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We visited this resort as part of a cruise excursion so I cannot speak to the accommodations only the grounds. The beach is beautiful, very peaceful and quiet! There were 150 of us that day and it did not seem crowded at all. Plenty of shade, chairs, etc. The pool was well maintained and much of it was only 2 ft deep, so excellent for little ones. There was also a pretty good slide and all the grounds appeared well maintained. The buffet from the restaurant was excellent, even my picky eater loved the ribs. The only negative was that outside the restaurant I saw no staff anywhere. Also, if you are staying here having 150 cruisers show up may be a deal breaker for you (although it was definitely not a party atmosphere, more family friendly).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vlfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.0 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
#3 of 14 in Freeport
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
2.4 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#10 of 14 in Freeport
1,261 reviews
2.9 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taino Beach Resort & Clubs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taino Beach Resort & Clubs

Property: Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Address: Jolly Roger Drive | P.O. Box F-43819, Freeport 42452, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taino Beach Resort & Clubs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive Taino Beach Resort & Club offers owners all the comforts of home, but far, far away from any worries of home. With full kitchens, master bedrooms, and spacious patios, the whole family can enjoy their vacation. Views of the beach and pool. Ferry service to Port Lucaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taino Beach Resort & Clubs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs Hotel Freeport
Taino Beach Resort And Clubs
Ritz Beach Freeport
Ritz Beach Hotel Freeport
Ritz Freeport
Freeport Ritz
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs Bahamas/Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing