We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$180
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunrise Resort & Marina(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$174
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Dundee Bay Villas(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Channel Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$115
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
J&K Suites(Freeport)
$235
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (3,080)
Filter reviews
3,080 results
Traveler rating
1,017
1,075
512
250
226
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,017
1,075
512
250
226
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsacross the streetbreakers cayocean viewinfinity poolall inclusive packagelighthouse pointcigar barcruise shipday passbeautiful resortgrand celebrationbanana boatper personstraw marketflying fishpool sidepizza
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 3,080 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017

I have traveled a great deal and I didn't want to let some of the reviews discourage me from booking. So we went.
Cons:
1.The staff was not as nice as I thought they would be. For instance, at breakfast why when asking for a coffee and a coffee cup the staff acts like you are bothering them? I didn't even bother to ask for hot tea after that.Then they forget about you and when you ask another person, they roll their eyes.
2. The rooms need to be COMPLETELY UPDATED!!
3. All the meals tasted the same !! No, seriously, ALL of them and no variety.
4. There weren't many choices on the resort for restaurants or food choices, so we ate in Port Lucaya.

Pros:
1.The beach was nice.
2. There was hot water to bathe.
3. The gym was nicely equipped for working out.

For the amount of money we paid for an All-Inclusive Resort the food should have been better. I understand it may be difficult to feed the masses, and they are doing their best but there should be more food options. Especially for people who have special dietary needs.

This hotel is average at best with HIGH rates.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank LOVEPRINCESSME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hello LOVEPRINCESSME,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback as it helps us improve with each and every stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the beach and our gym, and we hope to see you back at Grand Lucayan in the future as we continue to further develop.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017

We stayed on the island for 4 nights, which included 2 nights on the ship. I would have given this review 3.5 stars if that were an option. I feel 4 stars is a bit much but 3 stars is not enough. The cruise portion of the trip was average. The performers were average or below if I must be honest. Singing and dancing needs to improve quite a bit. But entertaining to say the least. We needed our cabin room made up into 2 separate beds, rather than 1 queen size. So we had to separate them ourselves then ask to have the beds re-made up accordingly. That took a good 2 or 3 hours. Keep in mind the hallways of the cabins are not sound proof at all and if you're looking for quite time in your room (even at night) you are not going to get it here because the guests have no respect for others staying or sleeping. Cussing and yelling down the halls at all hours of the night. However, getting on and off the ship and going through customs/border patrol was fast and easy. We got off the ship around 9/10am and got to our hotel in about 30 minutes. Keep in mind that because of the hurricane 2 yrs ago a large portion of the Grand Lucyan Resort is closed. So everyone stays at the Lighthouse Pointe (a part of the Lucayan resort). Not a bad room. Our trip included an Ocean View room and that is what we got. Keep in mind that our room was not ready until 2:30pm. They do tell everyone that you may not be able to check in until 3p, and that is because I guess the Ocean View rooms are made up last (not sure why this is). So we had to have our suitcases held at the hotel while we walked around for 4 hours not having access to a room to shower or change into any bathing suits. That is when we decided to do some shopping at the local markets, much like a swap meet. All I can say is don't pay the price they are asking, always offer something lower and walk away. You could get into your bags suitcases and get out the items you need and change in the near by restrooms if needed. Because we had the all-inclusive, we were able to get a drink or food anywhere on their property. There were plenty of options, really. They have a buffet (which offers a variety of food items and does change slightly each day) Not a HUGE selection but enough. It does take a bit for service to come to your table to get your drinks/water depending on how many guests are eating at the time. We felt that if you are wearing an all-inclusive band around your wrist then the service is mediocre because they assume you aren't going to leave a tip. Some of the wait staff are friendly and some are not. They have a bar inside the hotel which was not busy at all. Pretty fast service for drinks. There is a pizza place that also has sandwiches and desserts. The pizzas are unique and delicious. Not huge but big enough for 1 person. The desserts change daily and are very good. We did not try the sandwiches, but they looked to be ok. The pool bar was the best by far of all the places to eat and drink. Not a huge selection on their menu for food, but delicious. The quesadilla is more like snack size, that is served with salsa (very mild almost like tomato sauce... and guacamole which isn't very good, and sour cream). The cheese burger and chicken burger are pretty big and very good and filling. The fries are average... but the salad looked light and healthy. The fried conch was not very good at all. So I would stick with the burgers and chicken burgers. They had a fish sandwich also but I did not try it. If you go up and sit at the pool bar (Waves) then you do get much faster service than sitting in the lounge chairs along the beach and pool. But expect that. They had 1 or 2 servers out walking around taking orders every day we were there. We did not order any food while lounging in the chairs at the pool because there were birds all over who were watching your food. So we just ate up at the bar. Wednesday and Friday nights there is outside entertainment while eating at the buffet (weather permitting). Very cool entertainment. And they have a fish fry during the week as well (weather permitting) we did not get to try this because it was raining at that time. Their busiest time of year is Feb - April. Since we went during their off-season in July, there weren't many people there at the resort, which was nice. It also rained daily while we were there, to be expected I suppose. Sometimes it lasted a while (30 min or so), and other times it lasted 5 minutes. It is all-inclusive but the hotel does ask for $100 deposit for incidentals, credit card or cash, that is refunded upon check out. FYI. The rooms are not air conditioned very well. But they do put a dehumidifier along with the partial working AC unit. So if you know how to make them work, they keep the room pretty cool 24/7. We did have to empty out the dehumidifier once during our 4 night stay because it is very humid in the rooms. We did have to call housekeeping to have our room cleaned around 1 or 2pm as they did not come clean it when the Do Not Disturb sign was taken down the night before. And when we got to the room we discovered there were no towels in the room, so we had to call housekeeping for those as well. We were going to the attend the Brewery there, but you have to take a taxi there and back, which was $27 each way (non negotiable). So we ended up not going there. But we went to the Bonfire they had offered. They did provide transportation to and from that beach. That was ok as well. Probably not something I would do again, as that is extra $$. The food was very good (almost better than the buffet at the hotel) and drinks were included in the price. The entertainment was lacking however... that could have been because there were only 19 of us who went to the bonfire. Maybe they should only offer that excursion if they have more people sign up. The day we got back onto the ship it rained all day. So for those who just went for the day got a very big unlucky surprise... we were glad to be back on the ship but couldn't go out on any of the decks until it stopped raining which was about 6 hours. There were a lot of places to sit and chill on the ship and always something to eat somewhere. Buffet, pizza, ice cream etc. Quite a few people brought their kids, but this really wasn't a kid friendly vacation place. So I would discourage that for anyone looking for a family vacation. I probably wouldn't go back to this island and if I come back to the Bahamas it will be somewhere different.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Brandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hello Brandi L,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Your insight is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the pizza and entertainment. We hope to have you back as we continue to further develop.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2017

We stayed here for 5 nights which was far to long. They had a hurricane the previous year which had done considerable damage to the Island ( Which was sad) But this was not mentioned at booking time.

This was both all inclusive and pay as you go. If you were pay as you go ( which we were) you had substandard service. The bar staff were rude and also the staff at reception. We decided to eat at a local shopping centre with plenty of great restaurants and shopping in general.

Room Tip: Confirm what you will be for your booking and confirm the room location. Half the hotel is closed, manly the better ocean view rooms
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hello Greg H,

We are sorry to hear your experience did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, as it is crucial to our growth as a resort. On our website we have made an effort to be completely transparent with our guests and future guests regarding our progress across Grand Lucayan. We are glad you enjoyed the local Bahamian experience while shopping and dining and we hope to have you back as we continue to further develop.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017 via mobile

Very nice resort and beach, alot of shopping, could have had a better choices​of restaurant s, the subway did not take our debit card or any credit cards so we were kind of stuck for lunch. Also vendors only took cash, cruise line should have told us that

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Thank durp18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hi durp18,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We're glad that you spent the day with us while enjoying our beautiful beach and all the wonderful shopping at Port Lucaya Marketplace. We hope to have you come back soon!

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017 via mobile

OMG .do not stay here. First of all about 75%of the hotel is closed due to hurricane damage. You can only stay at the lighthouse wing. The service is HORRIBLE...these people are sooo rude and do not care about the guests. The waitress are inside the restaurant on their phones and so not come out side to see if the guests need anything.they are All lazy..did not find one single staff that was friendly or had any etiquette. FOOD is terrible and very little amount or options found in the buffet. This is an all inclusive and can't find much of anything. NO entertainment at all in the evening and there is nothing to do there. The onlyblittle market there and sgoos ose by like 5pm. It is a ghost town. For the amount of money you pay per night you can go somewhere else and get better food and service. The only positive thing I can say about this place is the beach area is very nice BUT is a tiny little beach.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
4  Thank Odalys0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2017

Hi Odalys0524,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback as your insights extremely valuable to us. We apologize your experience did not meet your expectations. On our website, we have made an effort to be completely transparent and open with our guests and future guests regarding our progress made across Grand Lucayan. Lighthouse Pointe is an all-inclusive portion of Grand Lucayan where guests are currently enjoying the Bahamian experience while staying with us.

Sincerely,
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews