We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Freeport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Celebration, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Freeport”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited after recommendations. Far from downtown, on a good area and beach. Have a mini shopping in front that have restaurants, stores and tour stores. Visit Zorbas The Great in front market for the best breakfast lunch or diner very reasonable prices and good food. Take the kayak tour a very good and fun. Peolpe is nice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Hector D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi TTraveler_9,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. I am very happy to read you chose to stay with us after our resort was recommended to you and you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to having you come back and visit us again in the near future.

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    1,051
    495
    243
    209
See reviews for
866
1,248
95
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,055)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I can't say enough good things about Grand Lucayan in the Bahamas. Even the bad is minimized in the beauty of this magnificent resort. Located in an area fairly isolated from the rest of the Island, yet the Lucaya Market Place directly across the street provides everything one could want from shopping, exquisite dining ($6 breakfast to $30 dinners with everything in between.)

Get a room above 4th floor, beach view, and the view is breath taking. Balconies are designed in a way to provide such privacy. No smoking allowed on the balconies so they are truly enjoyable.

Multiple, beautiful pools, gorgeous gounds, a swim up bar, (service is a bit slow), dining on property, entertainment on property, and the staff provide friendly welcome with service oriented attitude.

At first we were disappointed to find several restaurants closed (Churchills had been recommended to us, yet it remained closed the entire time we were visiting). BUT when we discovered the Market Place across the street with its harbor, outdoor dining, entertainment, fireworks, and more, we were thankful we were forced to leave the resort, to walk across the street. When we weren't on the beach, we were in the market place. Nothing was over priced, all reasonble, and never lacked quality. Our highlight was Luciano's restaurant featruing Chef Andrew. It is located on the top floor, overlooking the docks and entertainment areas. Outdoor dining provides wonderful views during the day and romantic setting at night.

With the amenities across the street,this resort deserves five stars. Definitely will be a repeat on our vacation list, especially as a couple's get away.

Airport is a short distance away, rooms are clean, view is perfect, staff is sincerely friendly, and the food is wonderful.

CON: The restaurants spend more time closed than open. If there are storms, the China Beach Grill closes due to weather when the seemingly right choice would be to remain open and let beach lovers ride out the storm. To the grills credit, the supervisor remained open for us, let us order and finish our meal while riding the storm out. Then we were back on the beach at lunch's end! Truly wonderful flexiblity made our beach day perfect.

CON: No beach service. No one bringing you that cool drink while you bask in the sun. If you ensivion sprawling out under an umbrella, basking in the sun, while a server provides drinks at your leisure, get out on the beach at 8:oo am to reserve one of the six umbrellas. Otherwise you will be baking in the sun, without relief. There is absolutely on explanation as to why such a beautiful resort would not have adequate umbrellas to keep us fair skinned folks from frying in the beautiful tropical sun, even with the sunscreen on. Also a mystery why profits made from serving drinks on the beach isn't a consideration of any resort.

Yet with the cons, we would make this a repeat visit several times a year. It is truly a wonderful resort with marvelous old gazebo's, sprawling lawns, mostly private pools, and endless beaches to peruse at your leisure. Resing yourself to self-serve your piña colada and your vacation is near perfection at The Grand Lucayan.

Room Tip: TIP- Beachfront- 6th floor and above. TIP-The Lucaya Market is one of the reasons we would both r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cashmeredays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi cashmeredays,

Thank you so much for writing your review here on TripAdvisor. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your breathtaking beach view room, our beautiful pools, the swim up bar and the friendliness and service of our staff. I appreciate all of your feedback and will take it all into consideration. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future. The beach will be waiting for you!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

We went for long weekend based on a deal. Got a ocean front suite for $215 - though that's really more like $280 with fees, etc. overall a great spot. On property restaurants were good and prices weren't stupid. Nice pools and swim up bar. Beach is great. The marketplace across the road is useful for cheaper food (subway, Pizza Hut plus many more). Bars over there are a nice option too. For nicer dinner go to cappuccinos

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ShaunD926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello ShaunD926,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. I am very pleased to read that you you enjoyed our pools, the swim up bar and our amazing beach. Thank you for all of your feedback and I hope you chose to come back and stay with us soon.

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was an amazing resort, clean and beautiful!!! Plenty of things to do, close to shopping and restaurants..We will go back, this is a small piece of heaven. The staff was so helpful and friendly, we totally recommend this to everyone!!! Truly amazing!!! Our teenage boys had a blast as well, very family friendly!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nascargirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi nascargirl18,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. I am very happy to read that you consider our resort clean, beautiful and amazing. I am also very pleased to read that you found our staff both helpful and friendly. Thank you for all of your feedback and we hope that you come back to visit us very soon.

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hospitality and service at this hotel was, by far, the worst I have ever seen in my entire life. We had just walked into the hotel from a 5 hour boat ride, and we were exhausted. Not one person greeted us, held the door for us, or helped us with our bags.

We then sat down in the lobby as my sister was checking us in. As we were sitting, one of the employees came to us and began shouting at us that we needed wrists bands. He was shouting and making wild hand gestures and treating us like mules.

We were in total and utter shock! We then were going up to our rooms, finally! Once we stepped in the elevator, another employee began shouting at us to hold the door. She stuck her foot in the door and made us all show her our wrist bands and hotel room keys. She was also shouting at us and treating us like animals!

I felt as if I was I'm a prison staying in this hotel! We couldn't do anything without getting harnessed! We DEFINITELY did NOT get what we paid for.

Before we left we took a good look at the hotel because we were NEVER going back there again!

I do NOT recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Javirod123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hello Javidrod123,

Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry you felt harassed about wearing the wristband. We ask our guests to wear the wristband for their safety. The wristband allows our staff to know who’s who on property. It was never our intention to make you feel uncomfortable. I wish we could have made your experience more memorable, if you’d like to speak more about your stay with me, contact me at guestservices@grandlucayan.com.

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at GL June 30-July 4. Tropical storm Arthur hit during first couple days but we were watching World Cup anyway. Clouds parted, place is beautiful! At time we were there,only one pool bar open which was great because the whole other side of resort, pools, beach were totally empty so it was like having a private resort & beach for ourselves.

Pros: beautiful location, lovely beach, turquoise blue waters, nice pools, 33 meter lap pool was excellent for serious swimmer, tennis pro good, excellent gym, nice grounds, cute market & restaurants across street, rooms clean and fine, food pretty good. Overall great value with groupon rate. Will definitely return.

Cons: we were there as all inclusive but many guests were there a la carte. For all inclusive, they still give you bill to sign and hotel later settles with restaurant. That's all fine except that (a) it was confusing; (b) at some restaurants even All Inclusive guests have to pay huge surcharge per person; (c) at other restaurants there is a huge surcharge for some menu items (watch * and fine print on menus; (d) at time we were there,not a lot if selection among restaurants and food if you want to avoid surcharges - especially for dinner as many places close at 5. This was just more of a hassle - and the food we did have was good just not a lot of variety options. Also it's annoying for someone who doesn't drink alcohol (which is "all inclusive" and free) to have to pay for water (bottled water not all included and free). Not fair. Also, service can be slow. But overall the pros far outweigh the cons and we will definitely return again. Lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketchie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi Kathy L,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review. I am very happy to read that after the storm passed you were able to enjoy our beautiful property, the beach and the turquoise water. I appreciate all of your feed back and will take it all into consideration. I am very happy to know that you will definitely be returning.

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this resort during our two day trip to Bahamas. It was very elegant, well decorated and kept immaculately. They organized the check in process so that we could enjoy the resort before room was even ready. I would thoroughly recommend staying at this property. It is located right next to the Port Lucayan marketplace, which was wonderful to go shopping and get great deals. Just be leery of vacation sales, they frequent this area.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kmerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi kmerton,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your TripAdvisor review. I am very pleased to read that you found our resort both elegant and immaculately kept. It also makes me very happy to know that you would recommend staying at our property. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
238 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
985 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#10 of 14 in Freeport
1,261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing