We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Our Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to try something FUN and we got it here. Great staff; they haven't forgotten about customer service. Lots to do in immediate area and beach is amazing! Would highly recommend! Definitely going back!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi Cindy,

Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor! I'm so happy you enjoyed your getaway. Keep a look out for special deal on website, we'd love to have you back too!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    979
    1,047
    488
    238
    207
See reviews for
860
1,234
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,049)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Spent last week at the Grand Lucayan in Freeport. The beach was outstanding. Better than those in Nassau and considerably less crowded. Hotel rooms were very good with larger than usual bathrooms, a large flat screen TV and a balcony facing the ocean. Highly recommended for a quick getaway from the winter cold.

Room Tip: Check out the Flying Fish restaurant across the street from the hotel. Pricey, but worth every penn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HHDiamondVIPmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi HHDiamondVIPmember,

Thanks for rating us on TripAdvisor! I'm so happy you enjoyed your little escape from the cold. We'd love to have you back anytime!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a wonderful time at this resort. The room was nice and clean and our view from the 8th floor was fantastic. Couldn’t be better.

We did not take the all-inclusive pkg, but you can go across the street to the market which is awesome for food, drinks, live entertainment from Thurs to sun evening in the square area. We didn't buy drinks on the resort because we didn't have the inclusive pkg so we went to the House of Rum by the marina and bought a bottle of Coconut rum for $16.00. Then go to the drug store and get juices and make your own drinks in a thermos cup to keep cool and your good to go all day. Also at the House of Rum you can buy the local beer (Eclipse) for $1.00 and ask them to open it and place it in a brown bag and you can walk around the market with it. AWESOME.

Good food at Molly Malone's (fish & chips) is best. Also for breakfast we ate at La Med, Zorba's, The after Deck, but we preferred La Med and Zorba's.

The market is fun and the people are just trying to make a living by selling you their stuff but they are so sweat with their comments, like Hey Baby put on the breaks and come on in. Wonderful atmosphere and not a threatening pushy type, like we had in Puerto Plata in Mexico.

Excursions we went on where the Steak & Lobster dinner on the Ocean, cost was $170.00 for 2 people, terrible food, cold and cheap, the drinks I believe there was no rum in them until you went downstairs after dinner on the lower deck and the show was a guy doing limbo and the music and speakers where terrible. The only good thing was sitting on the ocean watching the sun go down, that was very beautiful.

We did the tour of the Island for about $80.00 for 2 and that was interesting learning the culture and seeing the millionaire’s homes down to the cheapest. Same tour takes you to the Groves garden which is nice and a real cute little restaurant in there too. Learning about who the Groves are was interesting and how he started to bring life to this wonderful island.

Go to Franks Ice Cream in the market great and cools you off. The Rum/Raisin ice-cream was fantastic.

The beach is raked every morning and the ocean is awesome too. The weather was hot during day and dropped a little in the evening and was great for sleeping. PERFECT.

One thing this resort could use is about 30 more straw umbrellas on the beach, they only have 6 but we did OK in the sun anyways.

Everyone is wonderful on the island so go and rome around. Even rent a car or Jeep and tour the island yourself. It's beautiful. The island is about 17miles wide by 96 miles long.

Remember that this culture is a lot more laid back than Canadians and Americans so don't get frustrated with things being slower. I really think we all could do with some less stress and just plain slowing down. It's so relaxing and nice.

So to sum this up the trip was great, the hotel was great, the island was beautiful and relaxing, and the weather in Feb was hot. Well especially for us coming from Winnipeg at -50 below lol.
People were wonderful and friendly.
We would recommend this place to anyone and we will be going back again.

Can't wait.
Many Thanks to staff and hotel and the people in the Market.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ocean side and get from the 5th to the 10th floor, the views are so beautiful you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello Dan,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us on TripAdvisor! I'm thrilled to hear you took full advantage of the island and really embraced yourself into the culture, venturing to different restaurants and going on excursions. Also, I'm glad you were able to escape -50 temperatures back home. Burrrr! Thank you so much for your kind words and I really appreciate your feedback. Come back and visit us anytime! :-)

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

First stay at this hotel, whilst on business in Freeport. Overall, a good option as there are many dining options on property (Caribbean, Asian, Med, grill, etc) the China Beach pu pu platter and Willy Broadleaf breakfast buffet were both memorable!! There were many typical resort activities for the lucky one (my wife) actually on vacation to enjoy (pools, tennis, bars, beach, spa, etc.) Port Lucaya market place (open air mall with several dining and entertainment options) and the casino are next door so lots to occupy oneself during the day. We'd night Fish Fry, Junkanoo band and Sat night comedy concert, weddings meant there was always something going on. Very spacious and clean rooms however it was quite obvious that the hotel interior recently had a lot of work done and still has some outstanding issues (corridor carpet, hot water and wifi were not the best)
Staff encountered were all very friendly, courteous and easy to speak with.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are furthest from the elevator, however the room size and the view from the large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillandNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi WillandNic,

Thank you so much for rating us on TripAdvisor! I'm so glad to hear you and your wife enjoyed the resort and the many restaurant options. Next time you'll have to not come on business and enjoy all the amenities like your wife. It's only fair. ;-) I also really appreciate your feedback as we continue to modify and update the resort. Keep a look out on our website for special offers!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Well a long story short, we were the second plane that went to Freeport that was to stay at Memories and of coarse that didn't happen.
AS you see I posted the sign we looked at for 6 days but the day we were leaving they opened it up for us to go through the grounds, eat and drink until we were leaving at 7 pm.
Only got to eat at the Prop club and it was pretty good.
Pictures I posted of the rooms with a pool in front, well they are the swim out rooms they originally had posted.
If you are sleeping at the Grand Lucyan and you have a bit of time to walk around go to the far end of the property, this part of the hotel is not even open but a nice pool area, right down to the ocean. Wish I had found this at the first of the vacation.. no food or drinks down there but a great place to hang out.
I have to admit we were not happy right from the beginning of our trip on how Sun Wing handled this whole thing. Would I fly with them again.. thats debatable. Right now they hold 100.00 dollars of mine that they offered us because Memories didn't open. At the time of booking my next vacation I am not sure if that 100.00 will mean much to me.
Very disorganized the agents were in the Lobby of the hotel, one didn't answer without another saying it was right, Thats how i seen it anyways. One of the agents Ramon he really had no clue in which made it bad for us as we had to tell him everything our travel agency had told us because they were not going to honour or bracelet on the last day.
Could you imagine being told once the bracelet comes off you are going to pay for everything and they took it off us 6 hours before getting to leave the property.. How would you deal with that? Well we got right to the email business to get this corrected and that is when we found out that Memories would open the day for us people to hang out at the beach, pool bars and food.
That was a relief and telling Ramon about that he said he didn't know anything about that.. well we had just told him...
Rooms were ok but no 4 star in my eyes , the hotel is not set up for all inclusive as we signed for everything.. paper trail...
The servers were not use to being busy you could tell that as well and the last but the most important thing for me is the hotel (grand Lucyan) ran out of my alcohol (baileys) on day two and never got any more in until the 7 th day in which it was time to go home.
That was rather boring, although we had one guy from the bar make us something close to a mudslide to have a few drinks a day ... but when he wasn't around no one else would even try to make them.
NO duty free at the airport, we were late leaving as the airplane was behind about 90 minutes, at this point we looked for the duty free and was told im sorry but its in the other building and its closed now. That was boring so make sure you buy the booze at the duty free shops across from the resort.
So all in all I have alot more to say but it could take me hours to type it all, I will leave this as it is and hope everyone gets the drift on my vacation..... Sun, was the most important in this trip.
I am a very disappointed traveller this year, I was so excited to go to the Bahamas and now I have to admit to you that my feelings about ever going back are not good.

Room Tip: Above the 5th floor on the ocean front side, but if you can't afford that try to stay as high as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barb Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello Barb,

Thank you for reaching out to us on TripAdvisor. First off, I'd like to apologize on behalf of Memories for their delayed opening. I completely understand your frustration. As you may already know we are not an all-inclusive resort but we are trying our best to accommodate everyone who originally planned to stay next door. Normally our guest pay for each meal or drink separately and that is why we print the receipt. Most guest appreciate a copy for their own records. Also, I am so sorry we ran out of your favorite liquor, I really wish that didn't happen but I'm glad one of the bartenders tried their best to imitate the Mudslide. Thank you again for your feedback, we honestly appreciate it.

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, Michigan
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Lucayan as part of a cruise package with the Bahamas Celebration. The location is great and the grounds are beautiful. Our room was large and immaculate. We followed a recommendation and upgraded to a room on a high floor, facing the ocean. It was worth every penny. The balcony view was spectacular at every time of day.

The check in process had to handle a large crowd coming from the ship. It took a while to check in but it was efficient. The downside was that we arrived at the hotel at 10:00 am and the room was not available until nearly 3:00 pm. The pager system worked well enough. We took advantage of the time to tour the market area across the street and grab a good lunch.

The hotel staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. Troy, at the front desk, provided us with several restaurant recommendations in the market area. One, the Cappacino, provided us with some of the best pasta this side of Tuscany.

We loved our stay at the Grand Lucayan.

Room Tip: Spend the money on an upgrade to a high room on the ocean side. High gets you above the palm trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoopyM69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hi LoopyM69,

Thanks so much for writing us a review on TripAdvisor! I'm so happy to hear you had a wonderful vacation and really liked your ocean view room. Also, thank you for your kind words about Troy, I'm glad his recommendation was so helpful. I hope you can visit us again sometime!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

I spent the day at Gran Lucayan Resort. I had the opportunity to enjoy beautiful beaches, great swimming pool, great people around, good affordable food and snacks and some water adventrue.
The place is well located, very near to the Market Place, where you will find lots of nice souvenirs and restaurants.

If spending the day in Bahamas without a tour, it is worth going to Grand Lucayan by a VAN, which will bring you along with others to the resort (round trip).

Enjoy this beautiful place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brazeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello brazeagle,

Thanks for rating us on TripAdvisor! It's great to hear you had great company around you while you enjoyed our beaches and pools. Hopefully next time you can stay longer! Keep an eye out for special offers on our website. Thanks again!

- Pedro Miller, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing