We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd Go Again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I'd Go Again.”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Being in Freeport for business presents a bit of a conundrum. Most hotels cater to sun-sand-sea tourists, and the ones that don't are located in a part of town that has died a decade or more ago, and thus provide nothing more than a place to park your car, and a bed to park your body.

The Grand Lucayan, as one of the island's nicer hotels, seems to struggle to fill its rooms, and thus offers fantastic rates at the moment. You get a four-star experience, for a two- to three-star price. It is located across the street from the Port Lucaya Marketplace, which offers a great variety of dining options - and party options for later in the night.

As such, you are in a sun-sand-sea resort, in an area that also caters to a party crowd, but the rooms are far enough away from the noise to guarantee a good night's sleep. They could be a tad more contemporary. They do not quite match the lobby's theme colonial understatement, and rather give the impression of early 1990s American package travellers. They could also be a tad larger, but then again, who wants to stay in their hotel room when in the Bahamas?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceans242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Oceans242,

Thank you so much for choosing Grand Lucayan for your business trip and taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we were able to accommodate you in a room type you were comfortable in. We definitely look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,007 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    1,056
    501
    244
    215
See reviews for
877
1,252
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,059)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I've been to Nassau before for vacation, so Grand Bahama island is a bit less populated and less "touristy" than Nassau, it has more industry, etc. The airport is about a $20 cab ride away from the resort, but I stayed for five days/four nights and never got bored with all the stuff around the resort. Port Lucaya is a must visit for shopping, etc. and nightlife. I would recommend the glass bottom boat ride- you get to see some cool stuff. Other than that, expect to pay at least $8.00 for some low-quality rum/fruit mix, but hey you're drinking it poolside so what can you expect. The food at the resort wasn't bad, but four the five days I was there we probably spent at least $100-$150 a day on food- but I'm sure you could do it cheaper if you just ate fast food, etc. Overall it was a great trip - the beaches were well maintained, the staff was friendly and I liked how close the hotel was to the casino and port lucaya.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Ocean View- Only $10 more per day but totally worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dsanchez16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi dsanchez16,

Thanks for your comments and for acknowledging our friendly team! I am happy to hear that you had a great time on Grand Bahama Island. Please keep us in mind the next time you need a break from Ohio. Hope to see you again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed a week at Grand Lucaya and didn't want to leave! We stayed in a Marina view room, which was very spacious and had lovely sunset views, might splurge next time for an ocean view room for $15-$20 more per night.
There are many options for dining, with the hotel having 3-4 restaurants where you can conveniently charge to your room, and the Lucayan Marketplace and Marina right across the street with tons of dining options. We even took the bus down the street ($1.50 each way per person) to the grocery store and got fruit , muffins and sandwich stuff to keep in the fridge in our room and save some cash, which was awesome because it costed about $40-$50 per night for our dinners.
There's also a place across the street where you can book excursions; we did a tour of the Lacayan National Park, the caves were pretty overrated, but they took us to a couple beaches that really made it worthwhile, Paradise Cove and Gold Rock Beach.
Overall we had a wonderful time, there's nothing like walking out of your hotel straight onto the beach, or ordering a pina colada poolside!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasetravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi chasetravelbug,

We so much appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We strive for 100% guest satisfaction and we are so delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Marina view rooms have wonderful sunset views like you mentioned, and we would also be very happy to accommodate you in an Ocean view room next time you visit us! We hope you made it home safely and look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed at the grand lucayan breakers cay for 3 nights. It was beautiful. The check in process was very slow......it rained most of the time but it was still a beautiful view. We were on the 7th floor. The roms weren't 5 star but they were nice and comfy. I enjoyed myself. Would Like to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trishking0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Trishking0317,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our resort. We're sorry you experienced some rain during your stay with us, but we're happy to hear you had a great experience with us despite it. We hope you come visit us again soon!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I just came back from the hotel and we (3 kids incl, 12/4/7) all had a blast. We arrived Friday at 1pm and had no problem getting a room assigned right away - no delay at all. We stayed in a Marine Front room, 9th floor. The room was very clean, no humidity usually associated to beach resorts. The staff was efficient, fast and accommodating from start to finish. The pool was clean and, although one of the pool was warmer than the rest - presumably on purpose - they were all in excellent state. Didn't partake in any of the extra activities but I thought they were fairly priced.

I would absolutely recommend the hotel to families and will return for sure!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Edgardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Edgardo,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We're so glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at our resort and especially enjoyed your room, the pools, and our friendly staff. We strive not only to meet each guest's expectations but to exceed them, as well. We hope you come visit us again soon!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great time at Grand Lucayan Hotel. We were there two days and two nights. It rained the first day, but the second was beautiful. The hotel was a nice surprise because it was so nice inside! The outside looks a little older, but the rooms were updated and new looking. We had a view of the ocean which was a great thing to wake up to, and sit out on the deck at night and watch the sun go down. The people were extremely helpful and nice. We unloaded from a boat, so lots of people all at once, bt they processed us through very quickly so we could get to the beach. One nice feature is the marketplace across the street. It had 14 restaurants and many shops to buy whatever you might want. I would recommend the Zorba greek restaurant and the Dive-In, both were reasonable and very good. I would defintiely visit this hotel again.
If there was a drawback, it would be the pool was only 4 feet deep.

Room Tip: Ocean View was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet69R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Janet69R,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We're so happy to hear you had a great time at the Grand Lucayan and enjoyed your ocean view, our attentive staff, and the resort ground. Glad the weather was able to turn around during your stay :) We hope you come see us again soon!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just got back with the family, (wife and 12 yr. old son and 10 yr. old daughter), from a 3 night stay at the Grand Lucayan Resort in Freeport, Grand Bahamas.

The Grand Lucayan Resort, (GLR), is a gorgeous hotel. The buildings and surrounding landscaping are extremely well maintained. The front of the hotel is at the end of a cul-de-sac, which means almost no traffic and virtually no noise! Of course, the back of the hotel has a white sandy beach that appears to be 50 yards wide from the steps of the pool to the shoreline. The ocean is as beautiful as you've seen in the pictures in magazines. From time to time, local vendors will pass by on the beach selling conch shells, locally made bracelets and necklaces or will offer to braid your hair in thin tight braids with colorful beads. These vendors are not aggressive and move on if you are not interested, but check out the bracelets and necklaces, they make great souvenirs!

The resort is up-scale so it does not have water slides for kids or "beer bong" parties for 20 somethings, but the resort does go out of its way to host pool-side bingo, hoola-hoop and limbo contests for the kids (and for those adults that are young at heart). The pool is very large and snakes it way around the outdoor area. The hotel also has access to vendors offering "banana boat" rides and other activities and excursions, so check with the front desk. A tiki bar and an outdoor restaurant are right next to the pool.

We stayed in a "Marina view" room with two double beds. You can pay more for an "Ocean view", but we had no intention of staying in the room but just to sleep, so the view didn't matter. The beds were very comfortable and the room has a coffee maker, safe, refrigerator, iron and board, large flat screen T.V.and free WiFi. The room was large so there was no problem with the four of us moving around.

From breakfast through dinner, expect high quality food from the GLR! (Also, expect slighlty higher prices, but to be fair, I feel as if I got what I paid for...how refreshing!!!). There is a large outdoor shopping area, (almost a "mall"), a very short walk across the street that has clothing, jewelry, restaurants (including Domino's, Pizza Hut and Subway), bars, convenience and souvenir stores. The food at these restaurants is very good as well!! The shops are all painted in traditional bright island colors and offer fair prices for products and services. We spent alot of time there when we were not in the GLR's fabulous pool, hot tub or beach. My family and I felt very safe and secure walking throughout this area, even during the late night hours. There is a casino within walking distance from the GLR. (I didn't go into it myself, but some of our friends did, so when they came out broke, I figured it was a casino! Ha!)

Observations: 1) Food at the GLR, or at the restaurants across the street, is not served as quickly as your favorite fast food restaurant.. because, I believe, it's made to order, (you will appreciate that!!). So allow an extra 10-15 minutes for your meal to arrive at your table; 2) American dollars and the Bahamian currency are equal at "face value". You will want to spend the Bahamian currency that you receive as change as 'tip" money or for small purchases so you don't bring it home and pay conversion charges to convert that money back to American dollars; 3) Taxis can be expensive, be a strong negotiator or use the public bus system ($1.25 one-way) or ask the concierge about any pre-arrangements they have with local transportation companies. To be honest, on a 3 night / 4 day trip you probably will not want to leave the area so transportation will not be an issue.

Please remember, we went during the summer months which is not the Bahamas' tourist season, so rates were very favorable. But for a summer vacation, we had a great time!

(P.S. I am 54 years old and I was born and raised in Miami, Florida. This was my first trip to the Bahamas which is only about 100 miles offshore from Miami. Please don't ask why I waited so long!!).

I apologize for the long review! I hope it helps!

Room Tip: In most cases, you sleep in your room only. So go cheap, get on the beach, or in the pool, or at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rumrunner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Hi Rumrunner58,
Wow thank you so much for taking the time to write this kind review! We're so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and especially enjoyed your spacious room, the white sandy beach, and our many dining options. We strive not only to meet each guest's expectations but to exceed them, as well. Thank you for the detailed review - we're sure it'll serve as a great reference for future guests! We hope you and your family come back again soon :)

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
998 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,293 reviews
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing