We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a GREAT stay!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Had a GREAT stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night/5 day stay of beautiful sun/no rain. We had been there before about 10 years ago, but we stayed in the "old" resort next door (Our Lucaya/Sheridan I think - which was sold/currently being renovated evidently). We weren't sure what to expect, but where VERY satisfied.

Some quick points...the location is fantastic, the beaches are beautiful, the pools were plentiful and refreshing, and the staff there was VERY friendly.

We had no probs getting there from the airport ($22 bucks gets you to the resort door), check-in didn't take long at all (at least for us). There is that thing they call "Island Time", so yeah, 'some' things do take a bit, but we only experienced that at restaurants across the street.

Our room was nice, and view was awesome (8th floor, ocean view). The room itself could use some upgrades here and there, but no deal breakers. We did end up having a noisy 'whine' with our A/C, which they couldn't fix, so they quickly moved us to another room on the top floor. Again, room was just fine, and A/C was kicking.

The on-site restaurants we ate at (China Beach, Willy Broadleafs) were very good. They are all a bit pricey, but to be expected. The food was great at both places. Our first night there, they had an outdoor buffet poolside, complete with 'Junkaroo' drummers! You can't 'beat' that (no pun intended!). We also enjoyed the on-site bars. Got to love a bar you can swim up to! We really enjoyed chatting with the bartenders as well, especially Solomon @ Hammerheads/Waves Bar. He was great!

We didn't use any of the other facilities on-site (gym, spa, etc) aside from the pools. Love them. The pool by Hammerheads was nice and cool, and the others were on the warm side. Very nice!

The beach was beautiful...what more can I say. We spent most of our time poolside, but took a few dips. The water was warm, and colorful...white soft sand...loved it!

The marketplace across the street was great. Lot's of bars, restaurants, shopping, etc. We saw a great band over there one night, and witnessed an amazing limbo contest where the "host" did the lowest limbo I've ever seen! The prices for restaurants are a bit pricey, but beers are cheap at the bars. Kalik, Sands and High Rock are some of the local beers...I like the High Rock quite a bit!

Overall, we loved our stay. Other the A/C issue, we had NO issues whatsover, and were treated nicely all around at the Grand Lucayan. Sure, there are some areas that need improvement/maybe some renovation, but we were able to look past it and enjoy our time there.

We will DEFINITELY go back, and recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: Top floor room we had seemed a bit warmer than a few floors down (makes sense I guess, due to sun).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi Van H,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and especially enjoyed our on-site restaurants, bars, and the gorgeous hotel room view! You can't beat that view :) We apologize for the incident with the A/C in your first room, but we're glad our management was able to switch you to a room on the top floor. Thanks again for recommending us and we hope you come see us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    1,044
    487
    236
    201
See reviews for
856
1,227
94
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leon Springs, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We recently returned from our first trip to Freeport. We loved it. The resort was beautiful and all services were top notch. The Port Lucaya location is a fantastic bonus; everything you want whether shopping, restaurants, or fun bars is directly across the street from the main lobby entrance.

With regard to some other reviews mentioning a long time to get checked in, I would say it took some time, but everyone there is 'on island time', so it is to be expected. Since we were paying with Radisson Points (Booked when it was a Radisson) I was a little concerned that we would not get much of a room, but as it turned out, we probably had the best room on the property, an ocean view junior suite on a high floor.

Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DiegoandDoraExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi DiegoandDoraExplorer,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Lucayan. We're glad you enjoyed the hotel's close proximity to the Port Lucaya Marketplace and your ocean view junior suite on one of the top floors - you can't beat that view. Thanks again for reviewing us and recommending us on Tripadvisor. We hope you come see us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I tend to dislike large hotels on the beach but the Grand Lucayan proved an exception to the rule, probably helped by the fact that the hotel was not full when we stayed there. It's a big, sprawling property with a good range of facilities including a well appointed fitness centre. There are a number of different restaurants and bars on site, which offer variety even if the food is not that great in some locations. We took a suite which had a small kitchenette (only a microwave for cooking though) which gave us the alternative of having some simple meals in the room - a tastier and probably healthier option. The supermarket, about a mile down the road, is very good. Otherwise, the Port Lucaya complex across the road from the hotel has various bars, restaurants and shops including what is laughably called a deli, which does sell a bit of fruit. The hotel has a sundry shop where you can buy oddments including oatmeal that can be microwaved, as well as a cafeteria which offers pastries and such like. As far as the suite is concerned, it was an acceptable size with a double balcony, and was in pretty good shape. Service, by and large, was quick and friendly. Wifi is free throughout the hotel. Overall, we were delighted with our stay and really appreciated the location and the proximity to the dive shop that we used. As noted earlier, if the hotel were full it might well have been another story and travellers should note that, when there's a cruise ship in town, some of the passengers may come to the Grand Lucayan on a day pass. That said, the ones we saw seemed to be quite well 'shepherded' away from the main area of the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank adrianloader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi adrianloader,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor! We're happy to hear the Grand Lucayan exceeded your expectations. We are sure that your kind, detailed review will be a good reference for future guests. We hope you come and visit us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We recently stayed at this resort for 4 nights, we have been there previously 5 years ago and we could tell that the hotel has been neglected since then. The bathrooms need a mayor update as well as the room carpets. The beds still very comfortable and clean,every room has a big flat screen tv and wifi service is free ( you will need to bring your own laptop)
. The service is not the best , but that is the way that the general customer service is on the island, so it is not a particular lack of service of the hotel staff. Unfortunately some of the restaurants that used to be at the hotel are now closed.
The resort is a beautiful place and has one of the best beaches on the island, the general feeling is relaxed and very safe. Across the street you will find the Lucayan Market Place, full of restaurants and shops.(very convenient) The prices are considerably high compare to US prices( exp. a medium Dominos Pizza that you could buy for $6.99 in US , will cost you $16.99 at the Dominos in the Market Place) . In general I would recommeded this hotel , for a short stay and enjoy the beautiful location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear yoandra b,
Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay as all comments are extremely important to us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the less than satisfactory stay. Grand Lucayan is always looking for ways to improve - be it the installation of new equipment or minor changes that improve the guest experience. We have started and are in the midst of renovations of our suites to better enhance the Guest experience. Recently, we have replaced the carpets, the lighting and other room amenities. Thank you for recommending us. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to better serve you on your next visit to Grand Bahama Island.

Sincerely,
Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Plenty of amenities, trip options clean room and helpful staff all located close to the cruise terminal and airports of Freeport. Access to the pools and beach is easy and not crowded. As this was an off season trip but the resulting dinning options in the hotel were limited. Good news is there are plenty of close by food and shopping options.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Hi Pete_travelin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Lucayan. We're glad you enjoyed your room, our helpful staff, our pools, and the beach. Thank you again for the great review and we hope you come see us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing place to stay, which is right on the beach, this is the place for you. It's about a 10 minute ride from the port (if arriving by ship), but worth it. The rooms are clean and decently sized. If you choose an ocean view room (above the 6th floor), you'll have a great view of the ocean, as each room has a balcony. There are several pools on the property as well as several places to eat. You can also go across the street to the marketplace to dine.

Ask for free breakfast when you check in. Most times they'll give you a free breakfast card.

Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for either the 9th or 10th floor, ocean facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrCartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello MrCartman,
Wow, thank you so much for this great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Lucayan. We are glad that you liked the rooms, all of our dining options, and the hotel's close proximity to the beach and the Lucaya Marketplace. That's our favorite, too :) Unfortunately, we do not give away breakfast vouchers. Breakfast vouchers are given out if the package includes breakfast. Thanks again for taking the time to write this great review and for recommending us. We hope to see you again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from June 6-10,2013 for a "second honeymoon" ( 17 years) and had an absolutely wonderful time! There were a lot of high school grads staying there while we were there that were kind of rowdy but we thought they were just doing what they were supposed to be doing ( having a good time) so they didn't bother us ( they were kind of funny actually). We had a very relaxing time at the pool and spent a good amount of money from the swim up bar ( Hammerheads). We had breakfast one morning at the resort which was good and reasonably priced. Everyone who worked at the hotel was kind and helpful. Our check in was pretty quick considering we came over on the Bahamas Celebration. We thought we wouldn't be able to check in until 3 and were pleasantly surprised when we got into our room about 10:30 a.m.! We had dinner every night at the Port Lucaya Marketplace which is directly across the street from the hotel. My favorite restaurant was Zorba's. The red snapper was wonderful and prices were very reasonable ($17.99 for red snapper filet, baked potato,veggies,bread and a greek salad. ) We ended up eating dinner there twice and breakfast once. Breakfast was great at Zorba's and La Med ( both were about $6 which included juice and coffee too). I had the conch fritters atThe Big Easy which were good and their "special sauce" was amazing although they were slow and not near as friendly as some of the other places we went. Olive at Molly's Irish Pub was so sweet and we actually exchained emails and are keeping in touch. Stefan at Rum Runners was awesome and makes a great pina colada! If you need suntan lotion, buy it at the hotel, it's actually cheaper there than at the Marketplace ( about the same price you'd pay at Walmart). As far as the Lucayan resort goes: hotel was beautiful and well kept. We LOVED the bed, probably the most comfortable we've ever slept in! The pools were great, there are several. We actually didn't even see the other pools at the end of the resort ( near the lobby buildings) until the last day. They were almost deserted and very private. We went to the beach by those pools and we were the only ones on that stretch of beach. Romantic and private. Our favorite place to eat and hang out was right on the beach right past the resort ( just a few minutes walk on the beach) was Billy Joe's where they catch fresh conch a few times a day and make fresh conch salad right in front of you. Conch salad is amazing and a must try! The locals were so friendly and took pictures with us. We loved our trip, the resort, the location, the food, the pools and the beach and ocean views were so beautiful. My pictures look like postcards! We will definitely come back and hopefully bring the kids next time.

Room Tip: We had an end unit but still had an amazing ocean view on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortcake1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Shortcake1972,
Wow, thank you so much for the kind review! We strive to ensure that each guest has as great of a stay at the Grand Lucayan as you and your husband have. We're glad that you were able to enjoy the Port Lucaya Marketplace, had a relaxing time at the pool, the beautiful ocean views, and our big comfy beds (they're a guest favorite!). Thank you again for the detailed review, we are sure it will serve as a great reference for future guests! We hope you come see us again!

Best,
Your friends at Grand Lucayan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
25.4 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing