We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome beach and wonderful people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome beach and wonderful people”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this great hotel across from the Port Lucaya Marketplace for 7 days during Hurricane Sandy and I cannot say enough good things about the resort itself as well as the staff. The beaches and pools are gorgeous and clean and so spacious. We never had to worry about finding the perfect spot to sun bath or have quiet time alone. The infinity pool at the far end of the resort has a platform so you can put your chair right in the water to stay cool. We walked the beach every morning for the sunrise and spent countless hours playing frisbee and swimming. The resort is very safe and secure and going to the marketplace across the street, even at night, is no big deal. The marketplace is very family friendly and has wonderful food. Top highlight is definitely Cafe Breeze. We ate at this restaurant 6 times and we each had something different everytime. Wow, the food and service at Cafe Breeze is fabulous. Do not miss the french dip sandwich, the Latino sandwich, the breakfast club, and last but not least the fried grouper. Not to mention the Nutella crepes!!! The prices are very reasonable and the wait staff is so warm and friendly. Zorba's is also another favorite. Loved their breakfast and the Gyros are to die for. When the hurricane came through the staff members at the Grand Lucayan went out of their way to make everyone safe and comfortable. They kept us with electricity and water and set out a buffet three times a day for three days on a very limited staff. Considering the conditions I don't know what else they could have done to make us comfortable. Michel the bartender was a real sweetheart and worked his butt off for three days!!! At one point they even drained part of one of the pools so we could have water for flushing!!! Our tenth floor ocean room was spacious and clean and the balcony was awesome for sunrise and evening cocktails. The bartenders at the Hammerhead poolside bar were fun and engaging and were a big part of the fun experience beach and poolside. My only complaint is that the music from the two different speaker systems were loud and kind of blended together to make for some awful noise. They should coordinate the music a little better. To save a little money we took a small cooler and bought beer across the street at the marketplace but the mornings were a perfect time for the Pina Colada and Mango daquiri's. We had poolside lunch one day which was good but you just can't beat the marketplace for the best meals and best prices. I would go back to this resort in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: It is a little extra but go for the ocean view. You don't want to be over the air conditioners w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hello Nicole R,

Wow. Let me just say. I am blushing. :0) Thank you so much for taking the time to write us this wonderful review. I look forward to sharing it with our staff. So glad we were able to make your stay with us pleasant and relaxing, despite the hurricane. Thanks again for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    1,053
    499
    244
    215
See reviews for
874
1,249
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cotter, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I spent 2 nights at three days at this hotel. Awesome experience. Located across the street from the market place and the Marina. Great staff, wonderful security, I plan to go back again. Only complaint I can report is that the last morning for some reason our hot water wasn't hot....;0( but it was fine the previous day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hi Cindy C,

So glad you chose to spend your birthday with us. I'm so glad it was a memorable experience. I sincerely apologize for he lack of hot water you experienced on your last day. Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor and for bringing this to our attention. Come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a nice time at this resort. The pool food and drinks were good. They seemed a little understaffed at the restaurant but we got our food pretty fast. The room was nice, we had a room overlooking the city of Freeport, the marketplace and the marina. It was gorgeous. The water was so beautiful and clear in different hues of blue but very salty. We went snorkeling in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean and had a fabulous time even though the waves were a little choppy.

This is simply a nice getaway for a couple to three days as they dot have much to offer except the locals sweating you to buy from their booth in the marketplace. I witnessed only 2 vendors sweating folks on the beach but I tried to ignore them. This was my first trip to the Bahamas and definitely not my last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zlpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello zlpalmer,

So glad you got to enjoy a couples getaway with us here at the Grand Lucayan. WE sincerely appreciate you taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. So glad that you chose to spend your first experience in the bahamas with us, and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent a few days at the Grand Lucayan in Freeport. A very large complex overlooking the ocean with a pristine well maintained beach. The Ocean view rooms are spacious with a magnificent view of the ocean and a great sunrise experience. A number of restaurants are available and their are numerous types of pools from lap to swim up bar areas.
The only draw back is the most frustrating disclosure of room cost ever seen in a hotel. The rate quoted is always exclusive of taxes and fees. In the Bahamas there are a lot of fees and your effective room rate can easily be 50% more than the quoted amount. On top of the taxes you will have a fuel surcharge and at least three different facility fees. it is extremely IMPORTANT that you ask for the real total room cost before you book this hotel, if not you will be in for a shock to your holiday budget when you arrive.

For your shopping need there is a large Straw market across the street which include a number of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean view in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PierreSeguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pompano beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

That's the most horrible bathroom I have ever seen in a hotel. Mildew in between the tiles (black, brown), old soap running on the tiles, could be scraped with my nails, the fawcet coming off the wall, old and brownish bathtub with crack all rusted. I could never imagine that. Bed was very clean, good quality sheets and towels though. When the AC turned on it was very noisy bu after a while it was OK. We woke up everytime it started. There is a catch: all the reservations are made for 1 person, when you arrive at the front desk you have to pay for the 2nd person. Churchill's Restaurant is very expensive, and the waitresses were all messed up with the silerware, missing forks, etc.. Emplyees very nice.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathtub age and tiles cleaness. Be sure the reservation is for 2 when it is a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mzaggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Good day mzaggo,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor, we take all feedback seriously. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations while you were a guest at our hotel. As a result of feedback back like yours, some of the changes we are implementing include frequent checks of Guest rooms to ensure that everything inside the guest room is operational. We are making improvements in our guest rooms as well as in our common areas and ensuring that our grounds as well as our guest rooms are well kept. The room rate and taxes per night are based on double occupancy, however the resort fees, service charge are per person. The Resort fees cover amenities such as: Wi-Fi, In room coffee/bottled water, Lounges/towels poolside, Access to Spa and Fitness Center, daily resort activities, the Junkanoo Band on weekend, Hotel Parking, Nightly turndown service, $10 Casino Match Play, In room safe, Local phone calls. The Service Charge per person/per day covers: Housekeeping, bellman and staff. Our pricing is in line with similar properties in the area, we offer good value for our location and extensive facilities. We truly apologize for not meeting your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Bahamas
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the grand lucayan. The resort is on the beach and next to the port lucaya shopping area.

You can have a view of the island, the marina or the ocean. In order to get to the rooms you need a keycard to pass through a security gate which is good. Additionally, you need a tag if you are a guests on the property, which is also good as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean and on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sun_sand_and_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand L, Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello sun_sand_and_sea,

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor. So glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you got to see the Lucayan Marketplace and the Marina. Come back and see us again soon.

Sincerely,

Grand Lucayan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We loved this place! The rooms were great! Food was wonderful. We loved the sushi the best! Be cautious wondering around off the resort property. During the day, the market area can get slightly uncomfortable with the locals "begging" for sales. They exploit the children in this fashion as well. Although, we have found this common in our travels. Be cautious at night too. Someone was "jumped" and robbed not far from the resort. Although he apparently had too much to drink. I would stay with a group if you do wonder around after dark.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
990 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,275 reviews
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing