We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT GO ON THE CRUISE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Pgh
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“DONT GO ON THE CRUISE!”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I went on a cruise in August 2011 on the Bahamas Celebration with Caribbean Cruise Line. The ship was awful-very old, terrible food, and they did not even do the mandatory drill where you put your life vest on and report to your life boat so you would know where to go in the event of an emergency. If you have the choice and are simply traveling to this hotel, then I would definitely recommend going! It was beautiful our ocean view room was ready when we got there (we were first in line at the desk, I imagine the line would have been longer when more people from the ship arrived) and the beach was incredible. However, as it mentioned in other reviews, the restaurants were not all open. However, that ended up not being a problem as we were evacuated from the island after only being there for 7 hours. The hotel did not charge me anything and there was no cancellation fee.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean view room for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lkc137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    988
    1,053
    499
    244
    215
See reviews for
874
1,249
95
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Vista, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife and I picked up this hotel as part of a quicky cruise package from West Palm Beach to the Bahamas. I was not expecting the hotel to be a top level resort. I was surprised by the quality of the hotel rooms and lobby. The beach and pool areas are very well maintained and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was top notch with all new furniture a great view from the terrace and microwave and refrigerator in the room. There was nothing I want in a hotel that was not here and in good working order. We traveled in Oct- Nov and the resort was not very fully booked. The threat of a hurricane probably kept a lot of people away. Our weather was great and no big storm for us. Would definitely recommend friends to try to stay here.

Room Tip: be patient with the check-in staff. Access to the rooms is slower than you want, but it all works o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Beautiful day excursion from Bahamas Celebration Cruise. Bus takes you to resort to spend the day at the pools right on the beach, lots of extra activities at the beach, looks like pool and beach meet at the lighthouse pointe pool at resort. Just a 2 minute walk to Port Lucaya Marketplace with lots of restuarants, bars and stores! Next time would love to spend a couple of days at the resort!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

The property is beautiful with a clean lovely beach. Our oceanfront room was clean and large. The balcony provided spectacular views. Staff was wonderfully helpful. Walking distance to restaurants and many activities. Great family spot all day long. Unfortunately, nightly booze cruises anchored right off our beach kept us up well past midnight with loud DJ directed games, screaming guests, and loud music. Unfortunate and frustrating end to otherwise perfect days.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DNAOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Splendid service! The first thing I noticed when I arrived on the grounds was the strong staff presence. Upon exiting the taxicab I took from the airport ($28.00 split between 4 passengers), I was greeted by a porter who took my bag and directed me to the front desk. As part of the group who arrived on an inaugural flight of Vision Airlines from the US, I was welcomed with a cool juice drink and platter of appetizers.

Check in was easy. I was provided with a secured wrist band. First, I shuddered at the feeling of being 21 and in a nightclub but relaxed when I understood that it would help secure the hotel grounds by assuring that everyone there was authorized. There was a staff person at every point of entry onto the grounds and at the door to every building.

The porter guided me to my room and gave me a tour. Each staff person, throughout my visit, greeted me upon sight and asked, in a sincere tone, whether I was enjoying my stay. Anyone I asked was able to guide me on property or off. My housekeeper referred me to an efficient and modestly priced barber in town. I felt safe and that all of my needs were met.

This facility is a lovely one and designed perfectly for easy movement from the rooms to the pool and beach. Both are within very comfortable walking distance. There are multiple swimming pools and lounging areas. There is a hot tub and access to a limited (in diameter) but lovely stretch of beach.

I did not dine at the hotel because it was more expensive than other options. Instead, I walked across the street to the marketplace for modestly priced dining (many dinner entrees were available for less than $20). Lots of options for colorful cocktails and even free live music on the square at night.

To go into town, I took the vans labeled “public bus” that I could catch during the day in front of the nearby police station. The fee was $1.50. Bus drivers picked up near drop off points throughout the day.

My best dining and entertainment experiences were at Irie’s, a restaurant adjacent to the hotel grounds with a tastefully bright tropical décor. The classy setting, warm and friendly service and homestyle food were enhanced by the musical presence of Edwyn. With the help of expertly used electronics, he presented sweet, smooth jazz instrumentals with light vocals. The music referenced favorite 70s R&B tunes (think Stevie Wonder, Anita Baker). The added spice was an occasional Caribbean tune. It inspired relaxation and some dancing!

There were representatives available all day to help plan excursions like boat trips, parasailing and dolphin swims. I am a lounger and spent most of my time walking or relaxing on the beach or by the pool. Overall, this is a well-managed property designed to create wonderful vacation experience with no logistical concerns. It’s easy to have a wonderful time at the Grand Lucayan whatever your vacation style.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that overlook a building with noisy machinery. Avoid this if view matters to y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sheryltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

You must keep in mind this hotel is in the Bahamas and the ratings might reflect as such. I expect more out of a hotel in say, Washington DC than Freeport. However, check in was pretty easy, the lobby was very nice. First impression of the room was the musty, moist smell. The A/C was not very fundtional and we had to have it doen to 65 the whole time to keep it cool enough to sleep. The fixtures in the bathroom were wobbly and felt they might come loose at any time. There are many bars/restaurants on the grounds and it is very close to the Port Lucaya were all the bars and restaurants are-walking distance for sure. Also the casino is very close.
You must be made aware that they already tack on 15% tip on everything at the hotel!! This is a shame for the staff in my family's case because we are generally 20% tippers. When asked about this, staff would answer that it works out better for them having the 15% mandatory because of all the northern tourist or Canadians who tip porley. Unfortunatley, the staff don't have to impress for their 15% so some are surley or rude. The staff will get ill sometimes when you don't tack on any more to the 15% too! I find the staff at these facilties,(Freeport, Nassau) are generally more grumpy than the locals on the Out Islands anyway. I think they are just tired of rude tourist. There were some very friendly staff though.
We were lucky enough to have booked a good deal via Vision Airlines so we didn't pay much for air-fare.
The room wwas booked at $109.00 per night but beware- they tack on QUITE A BIT in taxes and resort fees!!! Be sure to ask about this when booking so you wont be suprised, it was close to $40 more a night!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CoralRives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Amboy, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

this hotel totally exceeded my expectations. we have been to freeport twice this year but only via cruises, and the last time we were there, we decided it would be nice to stay at this hotel....it was incredible this time around. the hotel is absolutely gorgeous and very well maintained. it is very clean, the views are insane and the staff is wonderful all around. the market across the street is soooo convienent and we ate there multiple times (although we actually got cheaper deals in the hotel gift shop and hotel restaurants). highly recommend Zorbas greek restaurant....incredible...we requested an ocean view, but actually got an island view, with a balcony that was about as large as the room itself! complete with lounge chairs and a table...if i could have moved the king bed onto the balcony (because it would have fit), i would have slept out there....the best part was that we had direct and easy access to the beach/pool from our room without having to walk all the way through the property (as in some resorts Ive been to), and there was a starbucks right in the building next to ours....i CANNOT wait to go back there!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Sinme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsGrand, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for your kind review Mdieguez. We are glad that you had a fantastic time. We look forward to having you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
991 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,277 reviews
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing