We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOUTH SEAS TRAVEL LOVES THE GRAND LUCAYAN !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The Grand Lucayan is a GORGEOUS property !!!!!!!!!!!! The infinity pool is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen !! The grounds are meticulously maintained. Some of the finest staff in the Bahamas!!! If you want a warm welcome & beautiful accommodations , this is a great resort !! FANTASTIC location !! Beautiful pools , nice rooms , gorgeous grounds . Very peaceful & "safe" setting. Walking distance to shops , restaurants , bars & the casino.
Breathtaking sunsets. The restaurants have WONDERFUL food. Great location directly on the ocean , a perfect place for large groups , reunions or just a family getaway !! VERY quiet & relaxing !! Ready to go back with one of our groups next time !!! A+++++++++.

Room Tip: Request a room on the "end" you have a HUGE balcony w/ table & 4 chairs ; as well as s...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelRN1129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,017)
There are newer reviews for Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,521 - 2,527 of 3,017 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

Started out in West Palm Beach and took the Celeration Cruise ship over to Freeport(that will be a seperate review). Took taxi to resort, $5.00 per person and only a short van ride. Check in was a fiasco, long lines and noone overseeing the check in's vs. those trying to check out, took over an hour. We had ocean front room, clean, great comfortable beds, nice private balcony, coffee and maker in room with bottled water, small frig and twin shower heads, hair dryer etc. The grounds are well maintained, lots of chaise seating both around poolside and beach. Swim up bar, can order lunch poolside or walk on the property to a number of other choices. Our goal was to scuba dive and across the street is UNEXSO a dive operation with retail store , pool, lockers etc. Dive operation was good with decent diving. On the same street is a straw market, tons of shopping, nice restaurants many along the water of the marina. The hotel had a great location for our purposes, could walk everywhere we needed to go. Would go back to this resort in a heartbeat. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All ocean view rooms have a beautiful view with great sunrises
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hutch531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsGrand, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thank you for your review Hutch 531. It is great to hear that you had a fantastic time at the Grand Lucayan and on Grand Bahama. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

very clean, spacious rooms. wonderful pools and beach. checkin took for too long, but other than that, everything was fantastic. I would recommend the breakfast at Willy Broadleaf, one of the onsite restaurants. compare to what we had on the lucaya market, the breakfast here had better value, cleaner setting, and healthier choices.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank snowplower99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsGrand, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

Thank you for your review Snowplower 99. We are glad to hear that you had a great vacation with us and enjoyed the natural beauty that Grand Bahama has to offer. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 10th anniversary. It is a great location, right on the beach, and right across the street from the Marketplace where there are shops and restaurants. The rooms are nice and spacious, although I think they could use some updating. But they are very clean. The ocean view from the 9th floor is great! There are several pools and the infinity pool with the bar is the best! The staff are all very friendly and helpful. There were a few restaurants right on the hotel grounds, but I would not recommend the breakfast buffet. While it was not over priced, the food was not that good and we found a much better breakfast across the street at the Marketplace. On one evening we walked into Iries for dinner, but found no one there, except in the bar, so we did not know if they were serving dinner or not. We finally ate at the Marketplace. I would stay here again, but probably would forego the on site restaurants.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank simbaandsnickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here as part of our 'package'...aka, time share hard sell in Florida, cruise ship as a taxi, etc.

So, as always, I will begin with the good points.

Security is EXCELLENT. You have in room safes, they patrol the beaches attached to the resort to ensure that ONLY GUESTS are using them and at the first sign of rowdiness down on the beach our first night, you could watch all the lights of the security carts heading off to disperse it. BEAUTIFUL.

The rooms are clean and spacious and bright. They do not smell, they are not old or outdated and they are not dingy at all.

The beaches are extensive and clean.

The pools are numerous and the areas surrounding them are pristine with plenty of loungers, cabanas, etc.

Marketplace right across the street gives you a good selection for meals and souvenirs...just keep in mind that almost everything is imported so you can usually get the same thing at home for cheaper, but you can't say you brought it home for someone from the Bahamas if you do.

Restaurants, cafe and gift shops on resort for convenience.

Guest use coffeemaker in room along with internet access.

Giant chessboard kept my guys occupied for hours.

Friendly and funny guides, drivers and staff. I tip my hat to them all, as they were patient and diligent and had a great attitude even amidst all the chaos.

So, now, on to the cons...

Checking in is a zoo. Bring your patience and a good book that you can read while you are waiting in line, as it will take close to an hour if you are getting off the cruise to stay for a few nights. Also, if you are coming off the Bahamas Celebration, be prepared to find something to do for hours. You will not have a room until around 3pm.

The prices on the resort for EVERYTHING are astronomical. Coffee is provided in room for your morning cup, but if you want one half way through the day, it costs you $3 at the cafe. A can of pop runs you $2...and so on. Our dinner for the first night was at the Prop Club on the resort and ran us over $50 for two adults and a child. The breakfast buffet the next day was, again, over $50. My son had three mini waffles...they were apparently worth around five bucks a piece. Meals are MUCH cheaper across the street at the Marketplace and I would highly recommend visiting there instead of eating on the resort. We had to skip lunch our second day simply because our previous dinner and breakfast had chewed through so much of our meal budget. We ate dinner the second night across the street and breakfast our final morning there, as well. The combined total for two meals for three people ran us around $40. Huge difference.

The excursions are not much to speak of. There just isn't much to do or see in Freeport unless you enjoy beaches and pools. The beaches and pools are spectacular, but we had hours of them the day we arrived while waiting for our room. The next day, we went on the city excursion and found it to be somewhat lacking in entertainment, though the Garden of the Groves was beautiful.

All in all, besides being pricey, there wasn't anything WRONG with the resort. It was BEAUTIFUL. The Bahamas just wasn't really our cup of tea.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MakeTheBestOfIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

First, and foremost, I will not visit the Grand Bahama Island again. Nassau is much more beautiful, and there is so much more to do there.

Pros -
The hotel is beautiful.
The rooms are bright and clean.
The rooms are quiet. We slept wonderfully well. We were not disturbed by any neighboring rooms.
There are several hotels right on the property, but we did not eat at them because we were on a budget and the meals cost significantly more than those across the street.
The staff that helps to arrange excisions were kind and helpful.
Security staff makes you feel safe.

Cons -
The pools were not very clean.
The staff at the registration desk were not friendly.
The staff renting the jet ski's were not friendly or reasonable. One in our party was stuck in the ocean for 20-30 minutes with a broken jet ski. Finally, they were able to flag someone to help. Then the staff did not give them back the time they lost.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank passiflora_vining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsGrand, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2011

At the Grand Lucayan, we value your feedback and through your comments we can constantly grow and improve as a resort. We are glad that you enjoyed the property and the hospitality of our team members. On Grand Bahama, we take pride in the natural beauty of the island and our people, and it is the diversity of the many islands of the Bahamas that makes the country unique.

We also work closely with our third party water -sport vendors to ensure that you, our valued guests, receive the best service possible. We will communicate your comments to the appropriate parties, and ensure that your concerns are noted Passiflora.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I spent 3 days in Grand Lucayan and the Hotel was really great. The location of the resort is fantastic. The ocean view from the 9th floor is spectacular. Rooms are spacious, clean and bright. Very friendly people everywhere in the Hotel really made you feel comfortable and welcome. There are multiple restaurants with different meals options. The fitness facility is really nice and has all the necessary equipment. Great opportunities for playing golf and deep-sea fishing. The resort pools are numerous and well maintained also the beach area. I never had a problem getting a lawn chair at the beach or in a shady spot at the pool. I really recommend it to spend a relaxing time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PublicRelationsGrand, Public Relations Manager at Grand Lucayan, Bahamas, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

Thank you for allowing the Grand Lucayan to be a part of your vacation memories Carlos! It is great to hear that you had a wonderful time at the resort. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.5 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#1 of 14 in Freeport
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#2 of 14 in Freeport
1,001 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#12 of 14 in Freeport
1,305 reviews
25.3 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range: $124 - $507 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan Bahamas is an elegant resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. This 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing