We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4.5 Star hotel by any means” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not a 4.5 Star hotel by any means”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

Although the premises were beautiful. This hotel had horrible customer service. The staff was truly on "Island time." There was no sense of urgency when a line full of guests await the staff in the lobby, and there were not even helpful once you did get to the front of the line. We booked our stay through priceline, upon check-in I asked if there would be any additional fees, I was told there would not be. However, upon checkout there was a $15/ person per room fee, plus other taxes costing everyone an extra about $100. What really upset me though was their unwillingness to resolve anything we brought to their attention:

1. There was a toilet leakage that came into the hallway on the 3rd floor, that came into the hallway and made everything smell like feces for our entire stay. The floor remained soaked and smelly throughout our 3 day stay.

2. Upon booking the room with priceline, it didn't ask us for the number of people in the room, it automatically assumed it would be 2 people per room. So even though we had a room with only 1 guest in it, they refused to take off the extra person resort fee because of how it was booked. The front desk told us that house-keeping said there were 2 people staying in the room. So we went to house keeping to ask them to change that, since there was truly only 1 person in the room. They then told us that they receive the list from the front desk of how many people are in the room. So we went back to the front desk, and they still would not remove the fees. They told us we should've told them earlier, which we already did. It was very frustrating, the staff was not the least bit eager to assist with anyone in our party.

3. We were staying at a resort, where we are being charge about $40/ day for usage of their resort, and there were not even any towels available. Also, there were no grills on the premises, and nobody in the staff was able to tell us where we could either find another grill or a restaurant we could go to, to cook the fish we caught during our stay.

4. We tried going to the lobby to check out, and the line was literally out the door! The lady's at the front desk moved at snail speed and didn't even greet the next people in line to let them know they were ready to be seen.


I felt that this hotel was not upto Radisson standards. Yes, the beach is lovely, and the swim up bar was divine, but truly their customer service needs some severe work!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank knmille7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    1,044
    487
    236
    201
See reviews for
856
1,227
94
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,044)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocala, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

The people at the resort were very friendly! The rooms were beautiful! The view was amazing! Everything is so close to the resort you can walk just about anywhere you need to be. They make sure you have transportation to all the excursions you want to do along with their own recomendations. This resort was just so beautiful and relaxing to be at! I wish I could just call it home!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mtrocki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had a great time and really enjoyed our stay at the Radisson Our Lucaya Resort. The resort was very clean, the staff was very friendly and the views were breath-taking. My husband and I went to celebrate our anniversary and are so happy we did. It was a very relaxing, beautiful time that we are sure to remember!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheuer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

The Lucaya Resort surpassed my expectations. I went there expecting to have a good time, and I left having had a GREAT time! The staff was friendly and helpful and the resort was safe (didn't have to worry about unattended bags at the pool or beach, or look over my shoulder when walking around at night.) Memories include --- swim-up bar at the infinity pool (awesome frozen drinks and ice-cold coronas ... plus, the prices aren't too bad either!), water activities (you have to take the shark boat tour!), music coming from the steel drums in the lobby, short walk to the market (actually, right across the street!), conversations and a few too many drinks at Rum Runners (really cool bar in the market ... MUST GO!), breakfast at Cafe Breeze (you have to get the banana walnut pancakes), pizza at Neptunes (place was jamming ... get there early!), blackjack at the casino (i only wish that they had a swim-up table in the pool), and the nightly Bahama drum dance along the beach (I forgot the name of this, but it was a lot of fun to watch.)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Getting0ut0fDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Our Lucaya for 2 nights with 2 other couples for a quick getaway. We did it in conjunction with a 2 night cruise on Bahamas Celebration. We all agreed that if we do this next year we will skip the cruise and come directly to GBI! We were at the resort mid-week and it was very quiet. We walked across the street to the marketplace for meals and to have drinks after dinner. We never had a problem getting a lawn chair at the beach or in a shady spot at the pool. We enjoyed drinks at Billy Joe's, a shack on the beach at the far end of the hotel grounds and we had a nice dinner at Giovanni's in the Marketplace. If you want a more lively atmosphere I would recommend visiting on the weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FOV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

We spent a week in the Radisson and the Hotel was great. Very well located just crossing the strert from locaya market, the best place for dining in the island. Great pools, beaches and very friendly people every where in the Hotel. There are only a few areas to improve: Food served at the pool is not very good...for that prices. I would be nice if they introduce happy hour!! and may be they need to increase the number of umbrellas to get sape with the burning Bahamas sun.
The rest of the Hotel is great, calm, and very relaxing.
Defenetly to recomend anybody

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emroig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

This was our 5th time to this resort and our first time since it changed to a Radisson - We did a MAP (breakfast and dinner) which only cost us an additional $150 per day for the two of us. There were only 2 of 6 restaurants open for dinner but the choices in each were great. The food was expensive so the MAP worked good for us but did not include drinks. Just buffet breakfast alone was about $20 per person, but omlet station was good, nice variety of food. We did eat steak and lobster most nights so we feel we did well for our money. Awesome beach and pool - staff was pretty good especially housekeeping (a tip each day to the maid got us well stocked). The resort was pretty empty until the cruise ships arrived but still not as busy as other years we were there. The only negative we found was that the bed wasn't all that comfortable and I hate not having fitted sheets but we would definitely return (tomorrow if I could!).

Room Tip: Rm 1001-Excellent View but long walk down hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank off2bingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freeport
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.3 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#3 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
25.4 mi away
Old Bahama Bay
Old Bahama Bay
#1 of 1 in West End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing