We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort, great value for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Freeport
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, great value for a family”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We just returned from a week at the Radisson Our Lucaya Resort, traveling with our two teen boys. Contrary to some other reviews, the staff were exceptionally friendly and attentive and really made you feel comfortable and welcome. The resort pools are numerous and well maintained, with Lifeguards ready and waiting to position an umbrella to block the intense sun. We had originally booked in the Reef Village but it appears to be closed so were placed in the main building, Breakers Cay. Rooms are spacious, clean and bright. As this seems to be the slow season, the resort was pretty quiet and a ghost town at night, which was our one disappointment. I'm not sure I would bring teenage kids to this resort again for an extended stay, as in the evening there is nothing much for them to do. Other than the Prop Club for lunch and the drinks from the pool bar, we ate across the street at the Marketplace where there are many really good choices. For those who like to work out while on vacation, the fitness facility is really nice and has all the equipment one needs to work off those drinks by the pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FriendsandFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    1,048
    492
    243
    207
See reviews for
864
1,244
94
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,054)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2011

so yes, freeport is a little bit tacky. but once you embrace this tackiness and give in and enjoy yourself, its a great place to get away for a few days.

recommend going on a trip out to the dolphin reserve - can be booked through the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bocaraton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2011

I booked this hotel as part of a Cuise deal with Discovery Cruise line from Miami to Bahamas. It was only 2 nights and 3 days....but I was so blown away that I have t hout about it!

First of all, I have to say, that we only paid $129 for the whole trip ad so was no expecting too much, but just wanted to experience the Bahamas. The price included, the criuse to and from the Bahamas, Freeport, food on the criuse (all you can eat!!!) and 2 nights at Our Lucaya, Radisson.

Wow, the location, the resort, I miss it already! We were lucky to be bumped up to a oceaon view, so woke up to a beatiful view of the beach and the resort. The Bahamian people are very friendy, staff constantly asking how you are, the resort has such a great atmosphere, very family friendly, but great fo couples too. Nice spa (bit pricey though), great water sports on the beach, hotel right by the beach, it was just such a beautiful resort that you did not need to leave the resort and would still have a great time. The resort is very big, they had this secret nature garden, which was so peaceful and great for a walk......only downside is that I went with a friend, not my boyfriend :-(, its a great place for couples!!!

Across the road from the resort, there are some nice restaurants were we had breakfast and dinner......nice local shops as well

Freeport is a small island, and was only thre for 3 days so did not go around that much, but this resort was just amazing.

Only down side is that there were some rust in the room, door hinges, iron board....but there are refurblising the place at the moment. For the price we paid, I was extemelly suprised.....would 100% recommend

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bfab84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, LA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Great location is across the street from restaurants, marina, and shopping.It has a 25,000 sq ft. full service & wonderful spa with private whirlpool tubs where you relax in candlelight with soft music. the gym is right above the spa. The staff caters to your every need. The hotel is on the beach and has several swimming pools, even a lap pool. We loved it and want to go back. Make sure to stay there long enough totake the Bon Fire on the beach tour, we had a great time and drank lots of Bahama ma mas.

Room Tip: We got two queen size beds and it was really big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobalicia1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

On my April 2010 visit to the Radisson (Grand Bahama Island), the service was quite poor. Even so, in April 2011, I decided to stay at the Radisson again due to the lovely beach and convenient location.

I am happy to say that this stay at the Radisson was fantastic. All employees were attentive, polite and willing to help in any way possible. I was especially impressed by the assistance of a security guard when I locked myself out of my room.

Thank you, Radisson Employees!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMC025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
162 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Overall good experience! Safe location, good restaurants in the Lucaya Marketplace, recommend Cappuciano's, Luciano's, Zorba's, Pisces(great pizza)! The Jeep tour is fun, Bonfire dinner was okay, golf at The Reef was good, the course not in great shape. Had to pay to rent beach chairs at the hotel, what??? That's a first!

Room Tip: Upper floors offer the best views, 7+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GottaloveMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We were extremely pleased with the Our Lucaya Resort. After reading some reviews we we were not sure what to expect. The hotel staff was extemely pleasant and helpful, in fact we planned a last minute wedding and the staff did a wonderful job coordinating this for us. The hotel is a little dated, room doors do stick from age (make sure your door is securely closed) restaraunts are closed on certain days. We dined at China Beach, Prop Club and our favorite the Chophouse. Most of our meals were across the street at the Marketplace.

Room Tip: Must Have.... Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank over50traveler59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freeport hotels
0.4 mi away
Flamingo Bay Hotel & Marina
0.4 mi away
Bell Channel Inn
Bell Channel Inn
#2 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
3.4 mi away
Viva Wyndham Fortuna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
Pelican Bay at Lucaya
#1 of 14 in Freeport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.0 mi away
Island Seas Resort
Island Seas Resort
#9 of 14 in Freeport
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taino Beach Resort & Clubs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lucayan, Bahamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lucayan, Bahamas

Property: Grand Lucayan, Bahamas
Address: 1 Sea Horse Lane | Lucaya, Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Location: Caribbean > Bahamas > Grand Bahama Island > Freeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Freeport
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Freeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Lucayan, Bahamas 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Lucayan is an elegant, serene AAA four-diamond resort set on 7.5 tropical acres of sandy coastline and spectacular oceanfront. As part of Grand Lucayan Bahamas Beach & Golf Resort, this 542-room hotel delivers the ambiance of the islands with all of the style and amenities you expect in a resort destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Lucayan, Bahamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Hotel Freeport
Sheraton Grand Bahama Island Our Lucaya Resort
Radisson Freeport
Lucaya Sheraton
Sheraton Our Lucaya
Sheraton Bahamas
Grand Lucayan, Bahamas Freeport, Grand Bahama Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing