We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!”
Review of Flying Fish

Flying Fish
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Freeport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $75
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With unmatched service & attention to detail, Flying Fish offers a blend of traditional & modernist cuisine techniques not used anywhere else in the Bahamas. Focusing on local seafood & indigenous ingredients prepared with the utmost skill & creativity. Flying Fish boasts an in-house sommelier. Chef Tim Tibbitts is named in the Top 25 Chefs for 2014 in the Caribbean by Caribbean Journal. The restaurant has also been named one of the Top 5 in the Caribbean, is Fodor recommended for Grand Bahama Island and has been awarded 4 Diamond rating by AAA. Waterside dining at its finest.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Sunday night at the Flying Fish is casual night.... chef Tim sings, drinks are half price and even the casual food is fantastic. We'll be going on a regular night too....if casual night is any indication, we're going to love it!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    76
    25
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Perfect from beginning to end”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The Flying Fish has an outstanding, inventive menu; each dish is beautifully presented, in just the right quantities. We were a party of four for dinner; each of us enjoyed different appetizers: the crab 3 ways, swordfish ceviche, and Korean shrimp were outstanding; the grilled calamari was garlicky and a bit rubbery, but also tasty. We also enjoyed our mains--duck, lobster and snapper and dessert--chocolate&passion fruit and cherry&white chocolate. It's expensive, but it's the very best option for dinner on the Grand Bahama Island.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SusanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“The best darn Foie Gras - wished I hadn't been sharing..”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

First Class restaurant in Port Lucaya, a definite must when on Grand Bahama. A friend and I decided to share the Foie Gras to start and wished we had ordered one each, superb! I had the Mutton Snapper and it was just as flavorful. We had a party of 10 for a 50th Birthday and had a fabulous night!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura_mcla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious Wedding Dinner”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

My best friend had her destination wedding in the Bahamas. The reception was at the Flying Fish. The staff was awesome, and Rebecca made her presence known that she was there to accommodate everyone. The food was presented beautifully and was a bit on the deconstructed side. The cesar salad was unlike one I've ever had, and some of the lettuce was grilled, while some of it was fresh. It was very different and very good. The dinner was phenomenal, it was filet mignon and lobster tail. The lobster tail was out of the shell and presented very nicely. The dessert was a chocolate and raspberry mouse which was good also. The dancing took place outside on the floating deck and bar area. It was great, and definitely the best meal I ate while on vacation in the Bahamas.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerseylili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Amazing Amazing”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This is the place to be for an amazing atmosphere and amazing food. If your looking for a lunch time meal Flying Fish is the place to be. The Classic Burger is to die for I have never tasted anything so juice and tender in my life and the bacon/onion jam melts in your mouth like candy. Thank you Tim and Rebecca for the amazing food and the amazing service hope to see you both again soon.

Tina

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank athena_anton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Fish also viewed

Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
 

Been to Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing